Sullivan & Cromwell Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Sullivan & Cromwell Chairman Joseph C. Shenker
Joseph C. Shenker
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant/Paralegal in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great peer support. Work atmosphere is great.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth and promotions

    Continue reading
    Sullivan & Cromwell2019-11-20
  2. "Tough"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great salary, interesting cases, never boring

    Cons

    Long hours, issues with management

    Continue reading
    Sullivan & Cromwell2020-05-24
  3. "They do not care about you at all"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Legal Assistant 

    I have been working at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time

    Pros

    Decent work environment, nice fellow employees

    Cons

    Too many to list here and there is poor treatment of support staff. You know where you stand.

    Sullivan & Cromwell2020-05-21
  4. "Smart colleagues, interesting work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, interesting work, good benefits

    Cons

    Work life balance does not exist

    Sullivan & Cromwell2020-04-25
  5. "It's big law. It's what you'd expect."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support departments do a really great job. Direct superiors within Legal Assistant department generally good people. Cafeteria is pretty good. Perks like Seamless allowance for dinner and car service home when working late. If you want to continue into law, it's a prestigious name to put on the resume. I'm told exit opportunities within the legal industry are very good. Some rewarding pro-bono opportunities do exist.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is not a priority. Not a supportive or happy culture. Cutthroat environment. Morale generally quite low. I've been to funerals where the general mood was more positive than it was on my floor most days. Level of respect in treatment by attorneys can vary wildly. Staff without a JD are definitely looked upon as less-than by many, especially (though not exclusively) among the partners. On the bright side, this does engender a certain solidarity with some of the more overworked and poorly-treated junior associates. Hours highly unpredictable, subject to change on short notice. Work given to legal assistants tends to be tedious, menial. Exit opportunities outside the legal industry are limited. Opportunities for advancement within the firm basically nonexistent without a JD.

    Continue reading
    Sullivan & Cromwell2020-05-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Legal field not very fun"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in New York, NY

    I have been working at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay was nice and the treatment by management was excellent.

    Cons

    I never understood lawyer jokes / stereotypes until I worked at this large law firm. It seems the law field does not attract the most pleasant people.

    Continue reading
    Sullivan & Cromwell2019-12-23
  7. "Biglaw"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great exit options; great training

    Cons

    Hours, intensity and some personalities

    Sullivan & Cromwell2019-11-09
  8. "Best law firm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and compensation Excellent training Opportunity for travel

    Cons

    Hours are long which is to be expected

    Sullivan & Cromwell2019-10-03
  9. "Intense, excellence-oriented firm"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time

    Pros

    Associates get very substantive experience. The work going out the door is top-notch, and you learn a lot as a result. The firm is a well-run ship thanks to excellent non-legal staff. Most colleagues are friendly.

    Cons

    Work is present 24/7. Some teams are overly hierarchical, with attorneys who’ve never been trained - and lack the knack - for managing.

    Sullivan & Cromwell2019-08-14
  10. "Great experience before law school"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Litigation Legal Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sullivan & Cromwell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Professional development opportunities - Helped pay for LSAT course - Lots (LOTS) of overtime opportunity - Great networking opportunities - Support with applying to law school

    Cons

    - Face time expected, little to no working from home - Can be crazy hours

    Continue reading
    Sullivan & Cromwell2019-08-11
Found 115 reviews