Sullivan's Steakhouse Reviews | Glassdoor

Sullivan's Steakhouse Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 94 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Mark Mednansky
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good money for the work you do--though it can be hit or miss(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There was a very high turnover rate, especially in management(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sullivan's Steakhouse full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and fair salary.

    Cons

    Long hours and millennials.

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-06-26
  2. "An avg job. Not the best but far from the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sullivan's Steakhouse part-time

    Pros

    Tips are good but obviously a gamble. Worked hard but fair. Family meal always good except sundays

    Cons

    Working on tips is always a risky venture. Overstaffed at times which can lead to lower tips and less covers

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-08-21
  3. ".."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sullivan's Steakhouse part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good clientele, employee discount, good training program

    Cons

    Too many servers scheduled at one time Lunch shifts are not worth it at all

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-08-18
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hostess 

    I worked at Sullivan's Steakhouse part-time

    Pros

    Good communication between team members, fun work environment

    Cons

    sketchy management had obvious favorites when it came to staff members

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-06-19
  5. "Great Place to Work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sullivan's Steakhouse full-time

    Pros

    - flexible hours you are able to work -friendly staff, great team, all work together

    Cons

    - management could be organized and structured better

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-04-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good food bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sullivan's Steakhouse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Potentially make great money Food is good

    Cons

    Sexual harassment occurs regularly from male management Females have skimpy uniforms that include 3" heels and preferred fish net stockings Management takes part of your tips!

    Advice to Management

    Change the female servers uniform if you haven't already- I was approached multiple times as a prostitute while off shift- really degrading Stop tipping managers out of servers pockets!

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-03-07
  7. "A complete mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sullivan's Steakhouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay pretty well and I got a decent amount of hours

    Cons

    Everything else. I did t have a way to look at my schedule, they blamed that on the buyout by the Macaroni Grill company. The guy training me is a has been who didn’t want to teach me anything, he actually sabotaged me once to try and make me look bad by having me turn off one broiler on a Friday night cause he said we wouldn’t need it-we shouldn’t have done that. My first day the Sous Chef didn’t even have a plan on...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be some sort of overhaul in standards and systems and leadership because it’s just chaos in that kitchen.

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-03-27
  8. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sullivan's Steakhouse full-time

    Pros

    Positive working environment and flexible schedule

    Cons

    none, worked here for 10 years through school.

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-01-03
  9. "Friendly, but overall mess of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sullivan's Steakhouse part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nice People - Free meals from Chefs - Flexible Scheduling

    Cons

    - Not very clean/ sanitary - Enormous operation for size of restaurant - Management is all over the place

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2019-01-17
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sullivan's Steakhouse part-time

    Pros

    Staff is very friendly, welcoming, and caring

    Cons

    Busy schedule, high turnover rate among new hires

    Advice to Management

    Lower turnover rate among entry level employees

    Sullivan's Steakhouse2018-12-20
Found 94 reviews