SumTotal Reviews | Glassdoor

SumTotal Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
SumTotal Executive Chairman Bill Donoghue (no image)
Bill Donoghue
99 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No job security and no work-life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "Sometimes, it feels like the Skillsoft sales rep have more 'marketing' budget based on their sales activity(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "The most supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SumTotal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at SumTotal are absolutely amazing. I work remotely but talk to my teammates more than I did working in an office. I found the team is very supportive. SumTotal is also customer-driven. They want to make their customers happy and will go the extra mile. SumTotal is also great for work/life balance. They understand the importance of having a life outside of work. Many organizations are starting to overlook this and its great to see SumTotal is maintaining this outlook. Finally, GREAT PRODUCT! SumTotal has an amazing product to offer its customers. There are many competitors who say they can outperform SumTotal but they overpromise and fail to deliver.

    Cons

    SumTotal doesn't practice what you expect from Talent Management software provider. They aren't really innovative in their learning and development initiatives and the onboarding was a little tedious. In addition, the Customer Success Manager role is evolving and changing. This is not a bad thing, but necessary to be agile in business. As a result, there is ambiguity as to what a Customer Success Manager does and what a Sales Director does.

    Continue reading
    SumTotal2019-05-02
  2. "Need to improve product training for sales reps."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager 

    I have been working at SumTotal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Marketing and pre sales materials.

    Cons

    Did not provide adequate product and sales training.

    SumTotal2020-02-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great people, high turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SumTotal full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Generous benefits and amazing co-workers

    Cons

    Very little diversity or any apparent attempts to develop a diverse group of employees within the organization. Be prepared to do the work of several employees.

    SumTotal2020-02-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Where careers go to die"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SumTotal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great co-workers who try to help when they can

    Cons

    Toxic management No opportunity for advancement Sweatshop-like work environment No bonuses No raises The motto is "blame employees first, solve the problem later" Professional Services is neither professional, nor service-oriented

    SumTotal2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (4)

    "SumTotal could be so much more with some change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SumTotal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the single best aspects of SumTotal is team collaboration. I worked remotely and felt closer to my team than if I worked in an office. Our team could ask questions in a safe environment with management constantly watching our every word. Everyone is super helpful and willing to jump in if you just ask.

    Cons

    Sales professionals beware: In the 4+ years owned by Skillsoft, we’ve never received a COMP in Q1. The last three years it has been Q3 or later with metrics being tied back to Q1/Q2 that you can’t change. No leadership development: For an organization that consultants our customers to develop and promote from within to retain employees, we rarely provide opportunities for individuals to advance. Top level management is very disconnected from the realities of the field: C-suite executives are making sweeping changes to the business that are NOT for the betterment of employees or our customers. Enable your front line and mid level managers to actually provide support, guidance, and development rather than controlling everything and everyone at the top.

    Continue reading
    SumTotal2019-08-09
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Free at Last"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SumTotal full-time

    Pros

    The recent removal of the head of Services has lifted a dark cloud.

    Cons

    Consulting at SumTotal has been a nightmare, led by aggressive and condescending management. Recent changes have led to a minor improvement, but the new Services leader retains much of the negative attitude without any sense of leadership or humanity towards employees. A full purge of leadership is needed to make any real difference in this dying company. Customers, employees and partners are treated without any respect or potential for success. Expect to work long hours, without raises, bonuses or career opportunities.

    SumTotal2019-08-07
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Cleaning House"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SumTotal full-time

    Pros

    After years of tyrannical management, it appears they are finally cleaning house and removing senior leaders in Sales and Services that have "violated the code of ethics". It had long been rumored that there were improprieties going on, but it is a step in the right direction to see some house cleaning at the top.

    Cons

    Despite the recent purge, there are still pockets of mismanagement that need to be removed and replaced. Long hours are expected for little compensation and no recognition. Not a place for a career - it's simply a job.

    SumTotal2019-07-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SumTotal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of my coworkers are great to work with. The option to work from home is nice but that’s circumstantial.

    Cons

    The job is just a typical customer support job, answering phones, receiving backlash from unappreciative customers, strict metrics, tiptoeing with your responses to customers and the list goes on. When I started I wanted to eventually work my way up and we supposedly work in HQ so I thought that’d be easy to do, right? Wrong. There’s literally no jobs available here and if so, it’s the same tech support role. The majority of the jobs are located in India. There have been many people that has left the company and their job is never posted, there’s not even a ceo, I guess when he left Sumtotal thought they were good without...? So honestly there’s no moving up unless I move out of the country or to a different state or better yet just leave completely. And also the 5% bonus that I was told we get if we did good, we didn’t get it despite how “good” they said we did which just adds on to the negatives I already had for the company. There doesn’t seem to be much of a direction for the company, it’s like a ship without a captain, we’re just floating.

    Continue reading
    SumTotal2019-06-12
  10. Helpful (9)

    "It's all about the Talk Track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SumTotal full-time

    Pros

    Smart employees that are willing to work hard

    Cons

    Probably the most dishonest organization I have ever encountered. Everything is about the "talk track". We need to talk to a customer about the product gaps - what is the "talk track"? We need to tell a customer why we cannot deliver on time - what is the "talk track"? We need to tell employees their peers have been laid off - what is the "talk track"? No bonuses this year - what is the "talk track"? No CEO - what is the "talk track"? The company spends more time crafting fictional stories to cover their deficiencies than spending time to actually FIX the problems. It is all about C-Y-A and trying to deceive customers and employees as long as possible. It's a total sham.

    SumTotal2019-06-20
  11. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Operations Manager in Gainesville, FL

    I worked at SumTotal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, ability to build cross-team functionality and networking

    Cons

    Poor operations planning and growth among Support, Network Hosting and Software Development teams.

    SumTotal2019-05-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 373 reviews