Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 290 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group CEO Takeshi Kunibe
Takeshi Kunibe
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "prudence, Japanese culture, not easy to change(in 17 reviews)

  • "low pay rate for employees from operation(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reccomended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The company cares about its people and tries to work it through to develop the talents. For example, the management listens to staffs and is supportive of internal mobility.

    Cons

    Local operation should not solely listen to the head office. Certain views held by the management are not in line with the market.

    Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-02-20
  2. "Work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    work-life balance strong promotion trajectory relaxed / friendly peers and management

    Cons

    below average pay Japanese bureaucracy can be stifling lots of long, cumbersome internal processes

    Advice to Management

    fix the cons

    Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-05-17
  3. "Terrible Terrible Terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Decent pay Pension plan

    Cons

    Too much politics! Lack of critical thinking! Do things that dont make sense

    Advice to Management

    adopt better culture!

    Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-05-06
  4. "Front Desk Receptionist and entry level accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The salary was acceptable for my first Receptionist/Secretarial job. I was hired in 1990 and worked for the location that used to be in Houston, TX. Our hours were from 9am to 5pm and that included a 1-hour lunch break. All of the Japanese managers that were in charge of the different departments were very kind but they did expect exceptional work from their employees.

    Cons

    I can’t remember any true cons but sometimes there would be a language barrier. Since I was the first person anyone spoke to I had to listen very closely because I didn’t just deal with the Japanese. I also dealt with people from all around the world. I did not want to leave The Sumitomo Bank but I got married while working there and my husband was transferred out of state. Otherwise, I would have continued to work there.

    Advice to Management

    Try to learn the English language better. It was sometimes difficult to understand certain things expected of me because of the language barrier.

    Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-03-17
  5. "Terrible culture and limited growth opptys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Health insurance, paycheck, some talented people....who then leave after 12-18 months

    Cons

    Below mrkt comp, Culture, Useless HR, Japanese Mgmt looking out for their own

    Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-04-10
  6. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good Healthcare Good Work and Life Balance

      Cons

      Commute can be far, if you are relocated to over two hours from your home.

      Advice to Management

      Hire more Bi-Lingual (English-Japanese) foreigners who can interact more effectively with Tokyo and local Ex-Pat Japanese staff.

      Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-03-08
    • "Good employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY

        I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group

        Pros

        Good work/life balance. Good training/development opportunities.

        Cons

        Salary is lower than market

        Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-02-16
      • "Regulatory Reporting"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Accountant II in Jersey City, NJ
        Doesn't Recommend

        I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        good benefit and work/life balance.

        Cons

        slow promotion old school management reluctant to fire non-performing employees and those employees get promoted at same speed as hard working fellows.

        Advice to Management

        be more American

        Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-02-25
      • "Assistant Vice President"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Great benefits, friendly colleagues, good work/life balance depending on department you work in. Bonuses are well above market average.

        Cons

        Promotions are arbitrary; some in management believe promotions should be based on tenure at firm rather than ability. Very slow promotional growth opportunities.

        Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-01-09
      • "Treasury Department"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Growing institution, takes time patience

        Cons

        Poor management training and growth which domino effects to employee Lack of communication (mostly Japanese)

        Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group2019-01-25
      Found 290 reviews