Summit Funding Reviews | Glassdoor

Summit Funding Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
81%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Summit Funding CEO Todd Scrima
Todd Scrima
105 Ratings
  1. "Enjoy being the least important person in a company? Work in IT here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Funding full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a Stockholm Syndrome-like camaraderie among the people that work here. It's almost like a team, but not really. There are some good people that work there still, but the company is actively working on pushing them out. Sometimes there are snacks. The coffee is free, but check the expiration date on anything else. You'll get a free lunch here once a month or so, which will make you wonder why they can brag about closing 500 million dollars in loans in their best quarter ever, only to deny you and all of your team any additional salary, training, or even the slightest perk. Pretty good work-life balance, but only because they have been sued so many times for the previous times they overworked people and didn't pay overtime.

    Cons

    It's a wonder this company stays in business. The President is a really good salesman that thinks he's a good president... He's not. At all. Do a search on recent lawsuits the company lost, or ask them about the office they rented next door at overwhelming expense only to renovate and abandon. Summit can't decided if it's growing or shrinking, and you'll never know either. It's all based on the bumbling President and his management training classes and nonsense. The loan officers run everything here. There's no business needs pushing the organization, it's the other way around. LO's do whatever they want. Do a search for the President on YouTube or elsewhere, and watch him bumble and try to be a "Mentor". It's hilarious. This is a sales culture. There isn't a wall in the building that doesn't have some sales mantra on there or other nonsense about what we can do to make the company better... Like I could make 25 phone calls a day to customers that want a mortgage! Well, no, I really can't because that's not my job. No one at the main office does that. But it's really important that you understand that if you aren't selling things that benefit the company, they 100% do not care about you. (Until they were all torn down and thrown away, even the restrooms had these sales nonsense mission statements and graphs all over them. In the stalls. You cannot escape it.) They will pay you the minimum you will accept. Promises will stack up from there, and if you are a truly stellar employee, you may get a 3% raise if they really pull strings. The end result is that anyone with even the slightest amount of ambition is gone. Those that stay are mostly incompetent just doing the bare minimum to get a paycheck and leave. If you're good at what you do and enjoy accomplishment, you will suffer for it here. Everything is done as cheaply as possible. After talking to some of the upper management, I learned this is all pretty much by design. I can't stress this enough: Every penny will be pinched here. If you need something to do while you find a better job, this will do. And you'll fit in well, since anyone smart that is still here is just searching for a way out. Meanwhile, the President and management will search out other companies that are "comparable" to Summit that operate on less people and use that as an excuse to hire less people when things are falling apart.

    Continue reading
    Summit Funding2020-01-07
  2. "Absolutely love my career. It not a job here it's a career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Cornelius, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Funding full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Operations is top notch and some of the hardest working people I know. I get excited just to go to work. A refreshing break from anyone who has worked for Corporate America. Culture is like family but with a family that all have the same goals and strive to be the absolute best that they can be.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any Cons On boarding to be faster.

    Summit Funding2019-09-14

    Summit Funding Response

    December 11, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  3. "Company on the Rise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Funding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    growing company built to help make your job easier

    Cons

    small company issues. Need more underwriters on staff

    Continue reading
    Summit Funding2019-09-10

    Summit Funding Response

    December 11, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We have had an increased priority on hiring Underwriters this year and hope that helps. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  4. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great people that care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Partner II in Sparks, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Summit Funding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in a great office where the branch manager really cared about your well being. The branch manager was easy to talk to and really made you feel heard if you had questions or concerns. I worked for a great team and felt extremely valued and appreciated with my time at this company.

    Cons

    Our office went through a lot of changes and had to work in a very small space, with a lot of people while I was there. The eventually were able to expand into a beautiful space with so much room but it was a lengthier process than anyone really liked. But the management team did try their best to make everyone as comfortable as possible with the limited space we had.

    Summit Funding2019-08-08

    Summit Funding Response

    December 11, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  5. "Summit funding excels in support for their sales force"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager/Senior Loan Officer in Moreno Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Funding full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of knowledge that is shared among the whole company, tons of resources and even the operations team is extremely focus on finding ways to make loans work and get loans closed ON TIME

    Cons

    Rates/compensation doesn’t compete with brokers today which sways some loan officers that don’t understand the costs of doing business or the value of control

    Summit Funding2019-07-20

    Summit Funding Response

    July 22, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  6. "My Summit Funding Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Insurance Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Funding full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the family environment. I have the greatest boss. I really enjoy my job. I feel I have job security since I have been here for 11 years.

    Cons

    I would love to make more money. I still don't make as much money as I did in my last company. I did not like having my bonus taken away. I live over 25 miles away. i also would like an office, since I am a Lead and have to do employee reviews

    Continue reading
    Summit Funding2019-07-17

    Summit Funding Response

    July 22, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Manager in Manteca, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Funding full-time

    Pros

    Summit really cares not just for the customers ( borrowers ) but also for the employee's as well. A lot of great benefits and great staff.

    Cons

    If you don't like dressing up in business professional clothes Monday-Thursday , then business causal on other days, this job is not for you

    Continue reading
    Summit Funding2019-07-17

    Summit Funding Response

    July 22, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great, growth oriented environment! Transparent and authentic leadership that really cares."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Summit Funding full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very clear career path growth

    Cons

    Not really a con but be prepared to work hard and efficiently

    Continue reading
    Summit Funding2019-07-10

    Summit Funding Response

    July 15, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your review! We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  9. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Bend, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Summit Funding full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people with a team approach.

    Cons

    Pay is so/so. Benefits good.

    Summit Funding2019-07-01

    Summit Funding Response

    July 15, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Sacramento, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Summit Funding full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None - the CEO only cares about his pocket. Lays people off doesn’t take care of them. I have never worked for such a scum bag.

    Cons

    It’s a cult but my advice is to run the other way. They sensor these reviews to make the ratings higher. They survey their employees. It you give them a positive review then they push it to Glassdoor. Their rating was 2 stars until they started the fake reviews

    Continue reading
    Summit Funding2019-05-13

    Summit Funding Response

    July 15, 2019HR Department

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's is very unfortunate that your experience working with our company was not favorable. Please know your feedback is shared with the Executive Management team in an effort to make improvements as needed. You are also welcome to contact our HR department at HR@summitfunding.net to discuss your concerns in detail.

    Continue reading
Found 136 reviews