KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Summit Funding

Engaged Employer

Summit Funding

Add a Review

Summit Funding Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 31, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 205 reviews

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Summit Funding CEO Todd Scrima
Todd Scrima
141 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Would not recommend

    Oct 7, 2021 - Mortgage Closing Doc Drawer in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They give a lot of free lunches and gift cards. The office culture is fun but I think it’s just their way to trick people into staying with the company.

    Cons

    Bad management, bad training, expected to work over time every single day, no work life balance. I was expected to work 10-12 hour days every single day. In the middle of a pandemic, I was expected to work in an office full of people even though my entire team and my manager were all remote. The pay was really bad for how difficult the job was.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Summit Funding Response

    HR Department

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your employment at Summit. Work life balance and supporting our Team Members in their growth and development are two key points of emphasis for our organizational culture. I am sorry to hear that you did not experience this in your time with us. I am pleased to see that you did enjoy the culture in the office. Our Team Members rate our culture as the main reason for their satisfaction with Summit, and we constantly work to maintain and improve in this area. During the last 18 months, as a safety measure during the pandemic, we have had most of our corporate team change to working from home. Like many organizations during this time, we have experienced how communication and training can be more challenging when working remotely. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to hear more about your experience in these areas, as this feedback is critical for continual improvement. Additionally, since the mortgage industry has experienced a historical increase in demand over the last 2 years, we have seen an increase in workload. I haven’t seen an increase in overtime to the extent you describe, or layoffs (since we’ve needed increased help to keep up with the demand), so your insight would be greatly appreciated to better understand your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly at jack.satterlee@summitfunding.net, and thank you again for your time and feedback. Sincerely, Jack D. Satterlee Vice President of Human Resources Summit Funding, Inc.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun Environment, Great Pay for the area

    Feb 28, 2019 - Administrative Assistant in Chico, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance. Engaging co-workers and supportive company culture. The Chico Branch is one of the top branches in the company, so you're already coming in on a business that's excited, motivated and on top of their game. Corporate offers a lot of professional development and training - especially for loan officers. Office is located in downtown Chico, so you're right where all the action is. They have a lot of social events throughout the year, so if you're an extrovert you will almost never lack for company or something to do. Perfect company for self-starters who enjoy an active, busy work environment.

    Cons

    If you aren't a self-starter you'll have a rough time here - management is pretty hands off and busy with their own thing most of the time so you're often left to your own devices. This company has a lot of social events throughout the year and very few private offices - introverts might find working here a little exhausting.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Summit Funding Response

    HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I love my job!

    May 3, 2018 - Loan Partner in Stockton, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Summit offers so much opportunity, training, and promotes a health work/life balance. They make sure their employees feel cared for and heard.

    Cons

    None that I have experienced

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Summit Funding Response

    HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Meh

    Sep 29, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team building, work life balance is encouraged, great team members

    Cons

    No advancement unless you know the management on a personal level

    6 people found this review helpful

    Summit Funding Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company, even better people!

    Mar 31, 2021 - Loan Partner I in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive leadership that is kind, caring, and wants you to succeed. Endless opportunities for training. Weekly meetings with branch office with great advice, roleplaying, life skills, and comradery! Teambuilding and training events with paid travel expenses. Work/life balance is respected by leadership. Just all around GOOD people!!

    Cons

    Satellite offices can feel a bit disconnected from the branch/mothership at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    By far the best company I've worked for in the 20 years I've been in this business

    May 13, 2016 - Funder in Bloomfield Hills, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pto 14 days plus bank holidays, a floating holiday and day after thanksgiving off. Best pay I've had since the crash in 2007. The management cares about every single employee. Work/life balance isn't just talked about but actually encouraged. They plan fun activities. HR checks in on you every 30 days during your first 90 days to ask for any constructive criticism so they can improve. No micro managing as they trust we are doing what is expected. Employees are all treated equal. The owner is visible and hands on with staff. If you do not need medical, dental with orthodontics is free. Vision also available cheap but great coverage. Really nice people from operations all the way up through management

    Cons

    Gosh I hate to write any cons but if I did I guess more of a match than 25% on 401k would be nice and training could be better but it's not like you are just thrown in. Really I can't deduct a star for either one because the pros far outweigh these two little things

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Summit Funding Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Company with a bright future

    Apr 2, 2018 - Loan Partner in Sparks, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    401k PTO Support Team @ the branch and corporate Positive attitudes from coworkers and help where it is needed. Lunches and fun activities & bright fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Work life balance during the busy months

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Summit Funding Response

    HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    so far, so good

    Nov 19, 2020 - Mortgage Loan Processor in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Summit prides themselves on making sure that employees feel supported. They focus on making sure that there is a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Leadership

    Apr 9, 2018 - Loan Manager in Redding, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team to work with and great leadership! Great work/life balance. Upper Management and Branch Management really seem to care about their people!

    Cons

    I wish I had a little more room for growth at the branch level. I moved from the Bay Area to a small town, so my opportunities seem limited, and I'm not crazy about that aspect.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Summit Funding Response

    HR Department

    Thank you for your candid review. We always appreciate receiving feedback on what is being done well and where we have room for improvement. We would also invite you to discuss any particular feedback you'd like to share with our HR Team. Feel free to contact us at HR@Summitfunding.net.

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Job

    Feb 24, 2022 - Sales Representative in Newport, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A lot of support from co workers

    Cons

    No work life balance. Pay could be better.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Summit Funding Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Summit Funding? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Summit Funding Photos

+ Add Photo
Summit Funding photo of: Redding, CA Branch volunteers at The American Legion during the Carr Fire.
Summit Funding photo of: Habitat for Humanity Sacramento 2022
Summit Funding photo of: Summit Funding Loan Officer Retreat - Keaton's Child Cancer Alliance
Summit Funding photo of: Leaders Club Banquet 2018.
Summit Funding photo of: Our AMAZING audience of Loan Officer's at Summit Funding's Annual Sales Retreat.
Summit Funding photo of: Summit Funding Training Team volunteering at Habitat for Humanity's Team Build.
Summit Funding photo of: Jim Reed, Regional Vice President, presenting at our Annual Sales Retreat.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Summit Funding Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wells Fargo Logo
Wells Fargo

3.7

41,995 Reviews
Compare