Summit Retail Solutions Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jul 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 200 reviews

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Summit Retail Solutions President Chad Powers (no image)
Chad Powers
89 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

2m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

22

16 Comments

Advertising

115.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/advertising/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Summit Retail Solutions~733043
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "long hours and responsible for all my equipment throughout the week.(in 14 reviews)
  • "They put things in a ledger which doesn't make sense and explain to you how you make commission or why you're not making .(in 8 reviews)
  • "Training can be challenging and direct access to your manager on a daily basis is not possible so you have to rely on your coworkers and mentors.(in 6 reviews)
  • "good news is your manager will help you with a plan if you ask for help.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Way too much travel, rude upper management, and too much stress.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Summit Retail Solutions and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Very Flexible: Lots of benefits

    Jul 27, 2021 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This job pays well and has a lot of benefits. I feel comfortable working here and have a lot of freedom to work in the way I work.

    Cons

    Some days can have long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Long hours and stressful environment

    Jan 28, 2021 - Brand Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers who want to see you succeed

    Cons

    Very long hours I worked 60 plus hours a week, had to stand on my feet for 10 plus hour shifts with no one to relieve me, making sales is extremely hard so even though I was working 60 plus hours, when I didnt meet my sales go my take home was only about $500-$600 every two weeks which is nothing for that amount of work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Hard work

    Dec 28, 2020 - Sales/Brand Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of pros, good money , a nice workout, meet and speak with alot of different people, you'll learn alot about sales strategies and concepts. Ricky P<3

    Cons

    If your not a go getter than this position isn't for you. Sales is a grind. Long hours on your feet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Proud Program Manager

    Oct 15, 2018 - Program Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started entry level and worked my way up very fast to the position I currently have. If you have a positive attitude, a student mentality and a strong work ethic you can control your OWN growth with this company! I am 27 and I make more than my mom does already in salary alone. I get commison on top of my weekly salary! Ive never been asked to LIE or "bend the truth" about any of the products we market! Versatility!! Im never bored, always have a my hand in multiple projects/new clients!! Great mentors in the business that you can reach out to who want you to grow and succeed!

    Cons

    Not for people who dont work well with people. This is a sales/marketing job. Lots of work! Can be long hours at times! To me its worth it!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    If you like working for FREE then this is the place for you!

    Jan 18, 2017 - Brand Ambassador in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Possible advancement IF you fulfill all of the criteria and like to be micromanaged. Allegedly 4 day weeks Thurs-Sun, but you may have to go to location and set up the night before. Decent commission but that's all you get - no hourly.

    Cons

    LONG hours (10+per day) Mandatory Calls on Days off Mandatory Calls when you're trying to set up Mandatory Texts of 'secret words' to prove you were on the call Mandatory Texts of pictures as well as placing the same pics on website Bad communication Confusing Instructions regarding taking Inventory LOTS of lifting - LOTS! Rearrange stock on pallets which can be well over 50 boxes per pallet at approx 30lbs each box... LOTS of lifting! 100% Commission with allegedly a set Advance per week.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    They pay ontime and every week!

    Dec 19, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ok, pay. They pay every week. plenty of hours, move up quickly, if your good very quickly! (when your young you need to work as many hours as possible to save for later) (Great for single person 21 to 55) (Many products and departments to choose from) ( Good manager's will train you to succeed if your willing) (In sales you get to travel) (You need to be dedicated to your job not come ln late, leaving for hours )

    Cons

    Long hours...... long days......... crazy calls early on days off,!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    You must be goal oriented and driven

    Jan 17, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Organization is run by people who want to see you succeed. You will be rewarded for hard work. In my experience if you can not meet goals leaders/management will help you get to where you need to be.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours Like any job this one has cons too. If you are working in the field be prepared to work long and hard for what you earn. Overtime those long hours and hard work give back big returns. If you work in the office there is a community for you. Be mindful of co-workers who are unprofessional and don't fall into that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Brand Representative

    Sep 29, 2018 - Brand Representative in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always a 40 or more hour week. Great Conmission!!!! Lots of room for advancement and the bonus potential is great. I love the traveling and getting to see new places, meet new people and learn about all the new programs we are getting for our customers!!

    Cons

    Long hours, but the 3 day weekends are worth it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great learning experience, but not a great career

    Nov 11, 2014 - Brand Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company trains you well on the system with a great support team. Benefits are good. Starting salary is alright, but if you work hard and are in a good location, you can make good extra money from commission. You are paid an hourly rate every day, so if you don't do so well in sales, you don't owe the company any money, you just don't get any commission. You do learn a lot about sales techniques which is helpful. And there are opportunities for growth in the company. Some people really love this job, because you make your own success and can make a lot of money.

    Cons

    You work every single weekend... and long hours- 40 hours in 4 days but really its more like 45 or more during the holidays. If you have a spiritual life which includes attending church on sunday, it is tough to manage. You work more hours than you are scheduled for, which you can technically enter and get overtime for, but it is taken out of your commission. Everything is extremely repetitive. You sell the same product every day for 3 months or more, which for me got tiresome and made me feel a little stuck. You also have conference calls every morning and on some days off. Conference calls are anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour and on your day off you have 2 or 3! And every single week, they say pretty much the same exact thing. You work for other retailers, not your own, so occasionally a GM won't like your company and it makes the job quite stressful. Most of the time, you work by yourself, which can be lonely, and not great for morale. Sometimes you get to work as a team, which is helpful, but you have to split commission and make less money. Growing in the company is great, but when you train someone new, their payment comes out of your paycheck, instead of getting paid more. Also if you get a promotion, know that your pay increase can be taken away just after a couple weeks of getting it, but still expect more responsibilities. Inventory is terrible! It was my nightmare. First off there is so much inventory, it can be hard to calculate. You also must send a paper copy of your inventory to administration and use the inventory portal which is extremely time consuming and frustrating due to the glitches with the program. If there is any kind of technology failure, consider it your fault, and you may get a commission reduction. If you have a family, I don't recommend this job, because you will never see them.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Summit Retail Solutions Response

    President

    Thanks for your response. I would start by saying that we recognize the challenges with the roll-out of our new inventory portal. We invested a significant amount of money in software to improve the process to make it more effective and user friendly for our Brand reps. While we believe that it will reap tremendous benefits in 2015, the short term has been rocky and causing more stress because of a learning curve and the need to run a dual process. We are certainly aware that we have lost some very good employees for these reasons. Regrettable, but necessary for us to improve as a company. We have also struggled with the conference call issue. As a company that has employees in 17 states, we are working to create more effective ways to communicate with our reps that is both effective and user friendly. We are launching an update to our employee portal in February that will alleviate some of these issues. I want to address the way you described the compensation. We pay an hourly rate. At no time does the company take anything out of an employee's pay. This is not an accurate statement. You are mixing up commission calculation with base pay. It is common for a company to pay a base rate as an advance against commission. Along with any sales role, there are duties involved that are considered “supporting the sales” like counting inventory or filling out paperwork. Also consistent with industry standards, a rep must “cover” all the hourly advances before they start earning commission, regardless of what the ratio of hours spent selling versus supporting the sales. For this reason, we want our reps to be as efficient as possible. We believe this structure supports this goal. I also want to clarify your statement related to training pay that a trainees pay “comes out of your paycheck”. This is completely inaccurate. We attribute 1/4 of the sales to the trainee with respect to commission calculation. We feel like this is reasonable given that the simplicity of our sales process and highly consumable nature of our products. These factors lead new recruits to often begin generating sales in their first few hours. Because the sales reporting from our retail partners makes it impossible to track a sale to a specific rep on any given day in the same store, we came up with a reasonable estimation. Lastly regarding hours. It is true we are in the retail business. 80% of our sales come on Saturday and Sunday. We feel like this is addressed throughout our interview and screening process. Those hours certainly do not fit with everyone’s goals or personal life. Also, as you stated, holiday hours are more. Because we pay time and a half for overtime, the majority of our reps prefer the extra hours. We feel very fortunate to have products that are featured in some of the top retailers in the country. That being said, even in the best retail channels, it can be a challenging industry to consistently deliver results. I am proud that we have logged tremendous growth year over year for 3 consecutive years. We have a lot to improve. We are also doing a lot right. Thanks again for taking time to give this feedback.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Brand Representative

    Jan 17, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited earning potential and good leaders in the company.

    Cons

    Long hours and very little free time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Summit Retail Solutions Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Summit Retail Solutions? Share Your Experiences

or