Sumo Logic "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sumo Logic Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Mar 14, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Sumo Logic CEO Ramin Sayar
Ramin Sayar
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hight speed development, nice people, free lunch(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great product that is in the right space at the right time, solving problems that deliver business value(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales still has a lot of growing pains to work out(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long drive to Redwood City if you live in Santa Clara area(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Company Culture and Work/Life Balance 2nd to none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time

    Pros

    - Innovative and Disruptive Product - Leadership are extremely approachable and available - Culture = Everyone loves working here

    Cons

    - Rapid growth naturally causes growing pains and processes to be out of date or slow to update.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage company culture of GSD while having fun.

    Sumo Logic2017-03-14
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Great product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Sumo Logic

    Pros

    great product, good people, free lunch

    Cons

    Sales still has a lot of growing pains to work out.

    Sumo Logic2016-06-02
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time

    Pros

    Great product & company growth.

    Cons

    Typical growing pains for a start-up. Tough to make a lot of money at the moment but that should change soon with new product announcements. We will soon see.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people very well and you will attract the best talent in the market and you will grow this company at a tremendous rate.

    Sumo Logic2016-05-20
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Startup Star on the Rise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at Sumo Logic for about four months now and am having the time of my life. As a 15 year technology veteran I've seen a lot of big and small companies rise and fall. Sumo Logic has all the ingredients to become the next "it" company - disruptive technology, seasoned executive team, crazy customer growth and employees who are all in. The energy and passion that this team has is tangible and you can feel... it throughout the halls everyday. Everyone is here from the executive team down is friendly, approachable, super smart and experts in their functions. They also don't take themselves too seriously - there's an equal balance of fun and hard work happening here.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with any startup there's going to be growing pains. We're growing and moving fast which can sometimes create an environment of rapid change and ambiguity which can be frustrating at times. The executive team is committed to ensuring teams don't spin or burnout, but for those who don't deal well with rapid change, it could be a challenge for them.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Focus on employee happiness, establishing company values and inspiring.

    Sumo Logic2015-10-30
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Learning comes with "growing" pain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time

    Pros

    - The product is much needed in the market. - The engineering challenges are huge and exciting. - Calibre of the engineering team is high. - By the nature of the growth of the company a lot of opportunities to learn in all areas: technical, leadership, managerial. - The canvas for professional growth is wide.

    Cons

    - There are growing pains: * Communications vertically and horizontally are not scaling as fast as the business and team sizes. * Vision and priorities between teams are not well aligned

    Sumo Logic2015-07-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Corporate Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager of Corporate Sales in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team culture with fantastic growth opportunities. The company is committed to developing and promoting the talent with no cap (Sales) on earning potential.

    Cons

    We're hiring so quickly it's becoming difficult to remember everyone's name. "Typical high growth/high velocity start-up scaling/growing pains."

    Sumo Logic2015-06-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture, dynamic industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best teams I have worked with, in terms of collectively pulling together. Fantastic growth and opportunity, for both entry level and experienced people.

    Cons

    Growing pains, manual processes and a race to build capacity.

    Sumo Logic2015-06-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Challenging and enjoyable work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is working hard and there is a good sense of community. The market is extremely interesting and things are moving very quickly. Great Product.

    Cons

    Common growing pains with a small company and management that is learning along with everyone else.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent in your thinking and focus on building leaders.

    Sumo Logic2015-06-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to learn and practice cutting edge technologies on real time search, live stream processing, and more. Company is very focused on having great tech. They realize it's the backbone to a great product.

    Cons

    Company is growing very quickly so there are some minor growing pains around process.

    Sumo Logic2015-06-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Exciting Times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We are growing very fast and have a lot of opportunities ahead to make a real difference and become a huge success in the process. In addition to being top notch, the engineers at Sumo are the most genuine, kind, dedicated, and driven people I ever worked with. The rest of the organization is also great and dedicated.

    Cons

    There are of course growing pains that come with the kind of growth and expectations we are experiencing.

    Advice to Management

    Set big goals, focus, and invest on making the product critical to our target customers while taking advantage of our cloud based architecture to push the limits and change the game under the competition's feet.

    Sumo Logic2015-05-17
Found 13 reviews