Sumo Logic "redwood city" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sumo Logic Employee Reviews about "redwood city"

Updated 29 Aug 2016

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Sumo Logic CEO Ramin Sayar
Ramin Sayar
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hight speed development, nice people, free lunch(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great product that is in the right space at the right time, solving problems that deliver business value(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales still has a lot of growing pains to work out(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long drive to Redwood City if you live in Santa Clara area(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "redwood city"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fast growth company with solid corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sumo Logic

    Pros

    * Strong, seasoned management team *Smart colleagues * Product that delivers on its promises * Growing exponentially * Good benefits and perks * Management considerate to life-work balance * Ability to work from home when needed * Nice office space and perks

    Cons

    * Hard commute * 15+ minute walk from CalTrain & downtown Redwood City

    Continue reading
    Sumo Logic2015-10-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "High Velocity Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sumo Logic

    Pros

    Extremely positive team dynamic. Good work-life balance. Plenty of resources available to get the" job done". Senior leadership curated from some of Silicon Valley's top companies. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Redwood City may be a bit low-key for some. Departmental identity crises may occur, although , nothing too distracting.

    Continue reading
    Sumo Logic2016-08-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast and lunch, very smart co-workers, modern software tools.

    Cons

    Location is in Redwood City

    Sumo Logic2015-10-28
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best Enterprise Startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -High velocity team achieving big things. -Closed another big round of funding from top tier investors -Sales team is consistently hitting goals and making us money -Hiring great new people and scaling well

    Cons

    -Commute to Redwood City is a pain and 101 sucks. -Parking gets to be an issue around lunch time making it hard to get spots if you leave for lunch -Office is currently under construction so there is limited room -Eat club is the primary provider of food which is not my favorite...yes, I am complaining about free food.

    Continue reading
    Sumo Logic2015-06-08
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Smart folks and cool technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI Engineering Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really like the people I work with and how Sumo Logic as a company supports that. I also am really impressed with the increased focus on usability in our new and existing product features. (I am a UI guy after all)

    Cons

    I wish Redwood City was closer to Mountain View where I live. Hiring great people is also difficult with the hiring climate in the valley.

    Continue reading
    Sumo Logic2015-05-11
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic

    Pros

    Product is fabulous and not having to worry about that is huge. Company is innovating constantly and really attracting some phenomenal talent. Mgt team from CEO on down very interested in new ideas, very receptive to ideas and suggestions from all levels.

    Cons

    Really some of the traditional start-up things: aggressive scale-out makes it hard to keep track of new hire roles, bits of attrition here and there. Long drive to Redwood City if you live in Santa Clara area. Really have to nitpick to find things I see as cons.

    Continue reading
    Sumo Logic2015-05-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Growth Potential in High Velocity Sales Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Corporate Sales Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast-paced, high energy work environment. Selling a cutting edge technology that is part of the next revolution of IT. Large opportunity for career growth as the company continues to grow at a rapid pace. Well funded company that offers free lunch and snacks.

    Cons

    Redwood City is a long commute, still working on name brand recognition.

    Sumo Logic2015-05-06
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Big data, hyper growth, challenging engineering problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sumo Logic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart, talented and experienced people committed to Company's success Company is well positioned to be very successful in cloud + big data + analytics, strong growing list of customers. Experienced leaders with deep domain knowledge in the service's main industry (ie, they know what they are doing)

    Cons

    Daily site up meeting is getting big with growth in the team, on one hand it's great having visibility into the daily production and blocking issues, on other hand it may not be most efficient any more. Commute is a bit much for some people going to Redwood City Interviewers set a very hire bar, some candidates who might be actually successful at Sumo may end up not getting an offer

    Continue reading
    Sumo Logic2014-07-10

    Sumo Logic Response

    April 17, 2015Recruiting

    Thank you so much for your insight. Hiring great talent is a top priority for Sumo and we invest a lot of effort in making sure we hire the best. Commuting/parking is an area we are working on to make things easier for our employees and visitors.

    Continue reading
Found 8 reviews