Sun Life Business Systems Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Sun Life Business Systems Analyst Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
2%
Recommend to a Friend
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
0 Ratings
  1. "Great environment , No advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Wellesley, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, great benefits and vacation

    Cons

    No room for advancement unless you have been in the company for a very long time, org changes every 6 months, poor pay

    Advice to Management

    Please consider meritocratic advancement instead of advancement based on seniority. You are losing out on bright young talent.

    Sun Life2013-05-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Limited upward movement if you've been there less than 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Business Systems Analyst in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly stable, friendly people to work with, some very intelligent and interesting colleagues, decent pay.

    Cons

    Poorly skilled line managers, performance reviews are a fluke and difficult to make changes happen.

    Advice to Management

    Reward management jobs to people who love managing people, invest more in people and reward performance.

    Sun Life2013-01-19
  3. "Meets Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Systems Analyst in Wellesley, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    You get the ability to interact with many teams and workers across the globe. The campus is pretty decent. Flexible management.

    Cons

    There was a large age difference among my coworkers and I. It would have been a better experience if we were able to get along better.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more social programs for your employees. Please provide more training opportunities especially on the major areas of the business.

    Sun Life2009-11-13
  4. "Sun Life Co-op Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Business Systems Analyst in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule (i.e. WFH), comfortable work environment, challenging work duties, compassionate employees that are willing to help you grow and learn at your own pace.

    Cons

    Too much freedom at times, slowness in relation to project timelines.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sun Life2019-08-18
  5. "Sunlife, Gurgaon-Worst Company for BSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Flexible Working hours that is it.

    Cons

    1. Unprofessional people. 2. Biased Management 3. Worst Team 4. Zero learning 5. Zero onsite 6. Obsolete tools 7. They are working in 80's style. Creating some documents that are no more used anywhere in industry. 8. Following processes, that are no more in use in the industry. 9. Old employees are so much in Comfort zone that thay are unwelcoming and not ready to help their peers. 10. Overall worst experience.

    Advice to Management

    Come out of Comfort zone and try to conduct an unbiased evaluation of employees.

    Sun Life2019-05-11
  6. "Working for Sun Life in Ontario"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Business Systems Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to work with some of the nicest people I've ever known. Tons of benefits and I learned a lot during my time there.

    Cons

    Depending on which department you're in, as a co-op student there were times where I didn't have enough work.

    Sun Life2019-04-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Business Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Taguig
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Engaged employer Number 1 life insurance company in the Philippines Family culture Work-life balance Opportunities for training both internal and external Summer outing Trick or Treat (open to kids of employees) Christmas parties, Christmas basket and hams Involved in charitable works Annual fun run Fitness and healthiness activities Free lunch, snacks on special occasions Meal and transportation... allowance Rice allowance Uniform allowance Shoe allowance Team building activities

    Show More

    Cons

    Some managers who are incompetent and who do not recognize hard work and do not promote deserving employees - number one reason why talented and top performing employees leave the company.

    Advice to Management

    Improve your hiring process starting from managerial positions.

    Sun Life2018-05-06
  8. "Great experience being a part of Sun Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee Friendly, Good motivational environment, Work-Life Balance

    Cons

    Being a captive, sometimes you are idle and are forced to find something to work on.

    Sun Life2018-02-26
  9. "Sun Life Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Business Systems Analyst in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Opportunity for Growth, Friendly Staff

    Cons

    Some employees can be antisocial

    Sun Life2018-02-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Training was lacking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Business Systems Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    People were nice, flexible work schedule. Trendy work offices. Multiple lines of business allows to change job within company. Ok

    Cons

    To remain relevant to the industry you need to arrange training outside of work hours. Don’t expect to learn industry standards during work hours.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in training Your employees

    Sun Life2018-01-09
Found 3 reviews