Sun Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Sun Life Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
56 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing summer IT internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Applications Developer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic mentorship program, it felt like my managers really cared about my success and professional development - Great company culture with an emphasis on learning and collaboration - Got to work with interns based out of KC and Ireland to build an application from scratch that would actually be used by the company - Very competitive compensation with a great work/life balance

    Cons

    - Can be a very frustrating commute if you live in the suburbs

    Sun Life2019-08-09
  2. "This internship was the best thing I could have done to kick start my career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Information Technology Intern in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    All of the people here were so understanding and helpful whenever I did not know something about technology. I worked in the development department and I got to go through the entire process from planning to development to deployment with my intern project. Such a great experience and I learned so much!

    Cons

    It is in downtown Kansas City so the commute was a little rough but it's nothing I couldn't handle.

    Sun Life2019-08-09
  3. "Sun Life is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wellesley, MA

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great leadership and business direction Agile work environment Focus on diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    Insurance company conservative - can be a good thing at times Changing culture is slow

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course

    Sun Life2019-04-07
  4. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Management is very supportive in professional development opportunities. Many areas you can move around. Competitive pay. Great benefits. Great work-life balance. U.S campus has good amenities. Many employee resource groups.

    Cons

    Very minor: Office location is in the suburbs of Boston. Nothing to do out there. Much more focused on Canadian business growth than the U.S. Limited upward movement past a certain level.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on more aggressive business growth

    Sun Life2018-11-10
  5. "Associate Director, Clinical Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Brownsburg, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, change management, growth opportunities

    Cons

    Stressors due to change and time requirements

    Sun Life2018-05-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They do not confine to the traditional "rules" of a 9-5 workplace. They understand that we all have busy lives, and allow for work from home flexibility. There are excellent benefits with a tremendous culture. I have worked here for two years and am very satisfied.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sun Life2018-05-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "National Accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Accounts – Regional Claim Center Lead in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    Not much growth or room for opportunities .

    Advice to Management

    Manage National Accounts

    Sun Life2018-01-03
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Agile working , great benefits , excellent environment

    Cons

    There are no cons for this company

    Sun Life2017-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Friendly co workers, fair management, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Glitchy software systems, progress on anything within the team takes ions

    Sun Life2017-10-12
  10. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leader ship and product offering

    Cons

    currently transitioning as one company with AEB

    Advice to Management

    Continue the vision of keeping worksite separate with enrollment support being key.

    Sun Life2017-08-21
Found 168 reviews