Sun Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Sun Life Reviews

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
51 Ratings
  1. "Super positive and engaging culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Actuarial Analyst in Wellesley Hills, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, happy people. On site gym and massage facilities. Exam support for actuarial students as well as external activities

    Cons

    I've been working here for a year and really can't think of any cons. I love my job!

    Sun Life2017-07-26
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Comatose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid time off. On site parking. Woods. Air. Carpeting. More woods. Some more air some grass outside. Vending machines. When managers leave at 3 every day

    Cons

    Terrible management in the Small Business Center the two managers are the worst in the industry. Arrogant. Uneducated . Selfish.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house in the Small Business Center

    Sun Life2017-08-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Voc Rehab Spec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Voc Rehab Spec in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life

    Pros

    every day is an adventure

    Cons

    really there are none ok?

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job in the company

    Sun Life2017-06-20
  5. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Case Manager in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and plenty of PTO.

    Cons

    Can be a bit political at times.

    Sun Life2017-06-19
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Awful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nana in Wellesley, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for more than a year

    Pros

    My manager was great and that is about it - oh and location nice too and nothing else but I have space to fill

    Cons

    If you don't follow the old ways and try and innovate they don't like it, retaliatory lead who bullied me and who knows if he was punished, work not challenging, antiquated methods and people who won't share knowledge to retain their jobs and leaves you unable to perform yours, create drama so they can blame you for it

    Advice to Management

    Fire bullying employees who tell lies about you and embrace being in the 21st century

    Sun Life2017-06-18
  7. Helpful (5)

    "claims manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Manager in Manchester, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers were wonderful, NOTHING else positive about entire experience

    Cons

    Worst company i have ever worked for... Nothing good to say about the politics, treatment of employees, management has no idea how to manage. HR dept and management retaliation.

    Advice to Management

    Fire most management, All HR and several directors...and start fresh. Hire people that know what they are doing.

    Sun Life2017-06-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "It's a great place to work. The 4th quarter is our busiest and we usually work several hours of overtime."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Awesome work-life balance. Overtime is offered if necessary. I love the people I work with as well. I am allowed to work from home a couple days which helps because I live pretty far away.

    Cons

    In this department- there is not too much room for growth, but you can always move around in the company.

    Sun Life2017-04-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wellesley Hills, MA

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pretty decent benefits and nice location

    Cons

    High turnover in areas such as Investment Operations

    Advice to Management

    There has to be a reason certain areas experience high turnover - over 100% every couple of years...look at those in charge!

    Sun Life2017-04-21
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Short Term Disabilities Claims Associate in Windsor, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work at home couple days a week bonuses. Can wear jeans everday.,work life balance is ok, if your lucky you get a good manger,

    Cons

    Expectations are very high, sometimes it's a struggle to meet all the expectations. A lot of favoritism with some mangers, it's very obvious and causes bitterness with other employees.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, since we do the actual work we do have ideas that are helpful, don't just ask for our comments and advice then do nothing.

    Sun Life2017-04-03
  11. "Great Company Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RLDP Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is great. Learning and Development is robust and they provide many opportunities to move up in the company.

    Cons

    There is not a great out of work culture or social aspect. Not many events or get togethers.

    Sun Life2017-03-01
Found 157 reviews