Sun Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Sun Life Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
51 Ratings
  1. "Thumbs Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Employee Benefits Underwriter in New Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexible work arrangements, growing company, lots of PTO

    Cons

    I do not have any

    Sun Life2017-02-13
  2. "Sun Life is a great place to work. The environment is collaborative and supportive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Sun Life provides great work / life balance. The environment allows employees to take on challenging work and have an impact on the business.

    Cons

    The legacy technology systems can be challenging. However the IT department does a great job supporting employees and easing those challenges.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2017-02-01
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits including 401K match and RIA contribution. generous vacation time.

    Cons

    very little job security - company is constantly restructuring

    Sun Life2017-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong, financially sound company with competitive pay and bonus potential. Quality products. Good benefits. Pleasant aesthetics. Parking pass. Urban location.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, manager has favorites. Lack of flexibility. Manager does not follow national job description posted. Micromanaged, scrutinized. Manager failed to give me complete details and tell me that I was hired over another woman in the office for this position which caused painful and abusive office drama.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2017-02-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Low Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Claims Analyst in Edina, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers-always willing to teach you things but don't go out of their way to actually do the job. Great benefit package, along with a positive self image of themselves

    Cons

    Salary- the knowledge and facts you need to have for the salary is ridiculous. This position is not just for someone off the d Street- you need to know a lot and is crucial it's correct as well.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2017-01-16
  7. "Financial Advisor Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Advisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Independent If you are a sales person, this is for you

    Cons

    Have to chase leads. Commission based Company doesn't provide many leads even though they tell you they will be giving you a lot at the interview time. The management will say anything to get you in the door.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2017-01-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Living the Sun Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Uxbridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, most people are very friendly and helpful, ability to work from home, systems are good

    Cons

    long commute, management doesn't care, management keeps you in the dark and springs things upon you without asking, lack of communication

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2016-12-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life

    Pros

    Recognized for efforts and options are sought

    Cons

    Tough to get monetary recognition.

    Sun Life2016-12-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Finalcial Strength, Ethical, International, Values

    Cons

    Bureacratic, Top Down, Lack Innovation, Micro management leadership styles

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2016-11-16
  11. "Claims Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Analyst in Portsmouth, NH

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very flexible work environment, great people

    Cons

    no room for advancement, stressful

    Sun Life2016-10-03
Found 157 reviews