Sun Life Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Sun Life Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1 review

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
0 Ratings
  1. "I worked here as a software developer on a short term contract"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is fast-paced, accommodating, and comfortable. Development teams don't face some of the stress that I've seen at other companies, because A) major decisions are made by people who are experienced in the field and don't impose unrealistic deadlines on unrealistic requirements, B) in the same vein, tasks are delegated equally and efficiently, C) the technology infrastructure is well-built

    Cons

    Not much to say here since my experience was short term and with one team out of who knows how many. Many team members are offshore, so the scheduling can be kind of a pain. But the effort is made on everybody's part to be punctual for teleconferences and to stay on the same page.

    Sun Life2013-07-19
  2. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of processes. Not much to learn technology wise

    Sun Life2017-10-16
  3. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    Good Compensation Work Life Balance Nice Parties Flexibility Managers Listens to employees

    Cons

    Need to get some more challenging work in India

    Sun Life2016-01-18
  4. "Phenomenal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great ambience, excellent management, perfect place to work for.

    Cons

    Nothing at all, everything was perfect.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Sun Life2014-02-02
  5. "Super work life balance and fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Life balance Good management

    Cons

    Comparatively low presence in India

    Advice to Management

    Need more branding

    Sun Life2012-07-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Cool working atmosphere, not much work, incentives, salary hike and parties are enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool working atmosphere, not much work, incentives, salary hike and parties are enough

    Cons

    laid of 31 guys politics more focus on BP Guys No Quality work

    Sun Life2012-06-10
  7. "Never heard of any way more employee friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When the bad time comes, this employer will take care of you the best. I have never heard any company doing this much.

    Cons

    Still only 5 year old company in India, so infrastructure may not be the best in class but it is improving very rapidly.

    Sun Life2012-06-03
  8. "proud to be a part of sun life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life

    Pros

    good working Atmosphere, no work pressures, good pay, flexible office timings and in this company they are giving so meany trainings, ideas to develop our skills etc........

    Cons

    in this company hard workers no need to join if they join they will get bore and it i very small company of IT side

    Sun Life2012-01-31
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana

    I have been working at Sun Life

    Pros

    transport, salary, flexibility, and culture

    Cons

    onsite is not there, promotions are less

    Sun Life2011-03-12
Found 1 review