Sun West Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Sun West Mortgage Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Pavan Agarwal
128 Ratings
Pros
  • "Second, they have great loan programs that make you one step ahead of the game as a(in 14 reviews)

  • "There are no Pros to this company(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "You need to work hard with little to no training in an environment where you cannot talk to each other or you will be written up for "wasting time"(in 9 reviews)

  • "Most upper management were flew in from India to save money, Sun west has more bad reviews online then Donald Trump(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Sun West Mortgage is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Buena Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sun West Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The HR staff consist of professional women who go over and beyond their scope of work. The best part of HR, the Relations Officer is a great listener and is non-judgemental. I can talk to her about confidential matters and don’t have to worry about my business spreading like a wild fire. HR is by far the best I have ever met. These ladies make every employee feel important no matter what position you hold. We get free...

    Show More

    Cons

    Upper Management should at least say hello to employees. It doesn’t hurt to say good morning or hi.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for putting together a great HR team and for providing employees with free lunch. I am forever grateful. I have referred a friend to work for Sun West Mortgage.

    Sun West Mortgage2019-03-01
  2. "Horrible Company / Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Underwriter in Buena Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sun West Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are nothing to good to write about the company . ALL fake REVIEWS

    Cons

    Horrible management / Operation in India does not know what they are doing and you can not even understand when you speak to them. No RESPECT for employees from CEO or COO, they do not even speak to you.

    Advice to Management

    Enroll in management classes. how to treat people.

    Sun West Mortgage2019-08-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Poor management /Micro management company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Buena Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sun West Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing ,Rude ,unfriendly Sr management, Do not speak to you.

    Cons

    Horrible training and management. you will get talked to like a child, not allowed to speak to anyone, Not the place you want to drive to everyday and definitely not a long term job. HIGH EMPLOYEE TURNOVER. Some new hires go on a break and never come back on their first day. Not a professional or healthy environment. All good reviews here are FAKE , they are having the employees over in India to write all good...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Sun West Mortgage2019-08-07
  4. "Learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun West Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will learn a lot and learn at your pace. Your success depends on your goals. If you've never been in the corporate world, or have worked with quotas to meet this is not the job for you. Management is awesome and they will support you 100% if they see the effort you put into making money while keeping the borrowers best interest first and foremost.

    Cons

    Department disconnect. Some departments are supposed to be the go to and know what they're doing but they can sink a deal

    Advice to Management

    Train better for offshore employees

    Sun West Mortgage2019-06-02
  5. Helpful (27)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Processor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun West Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Knowledge Based system for employees

    Cons

    System somewhat slower than other Mortgage AUS systems.

    Sun West Mortgage2019-02-05
  6. Helpful (27)

    "Great place to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun West Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tools available to help you be successful / Management Staff

    Cons

    Lunch is only 30 minutes

    Sun West Mortgage2019-01-19
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Funder at Sun West"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Funder in Cerritos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun West Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I received excellent training on the process and the industry. My Supervisor was always helpful and I enjoyed working here.

    Cons

    Need more Team Building activities every week.

    Advice to Management

    Keep bringing in more business.

    Sun West Mortgage2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (27)

    "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Buena Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun West Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked for Sun West for 2 years as an Underwriting Relationship Manager. The role was very educative and kept challenging me every day. The checklists are a great help in completing tasks quickly and accurately. Management is very approachable and available to resolve any issues I faced.

    Cons

    Targets must be achieved and a strict QC process keeps you on your toes.

    Sun West Mortgage2019-01-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Process Engineer - Buena Park Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Process Engineer 

    I worked at Sun West Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good beginning job to learn and get hands on experience with VBA

    Cons

    Not much involvement from boss or managers

    Sun West Mortgage2019-04-10
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Personal Support From Executive Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun West Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open communication between compliance, marketing and the executive team has allowed us to reach a fair balance between finding innovative ways of expanding our reach online while still protecting the company brand and our clients from unintended consequences of digital outreach. Even the owner of SWMC is readily available and very interactive in making important decisions that help keep the marketing team's momentum...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like most large mortgage companies I have had experience with, there tends to be an abundance of policy emails and updates. I think that has more to do with government regulation vs internal processes though.

    Sun West Mortgage2019-02-12
Found 181 reviews