SunEdison Reviews | Glassdoor

SunEdison Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
SunEdison CEO Ahmad R. Chatila
Ahmad R. Chatila
267 Ratings
  1. "designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison

    Pros

    good place to learn things

    Cons

    too many things to do

    SunEdison2017-05-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Death of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers. Good pay

    Cons

    Upper management lead company to bankruptcy. Destroyed a very promising and prosperous company.

    Advice to Management

    Find a new line of work

    SunEdison2017-06-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "The CF that is Sunedison. RIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in Belmont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pro I can think of is I received a paycheck besides that The management bankrupt the company. However, most of the workers were pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Many of you I know learned in college about the peter principal it was rampant at Sunedison. The managers were morons.

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    SunEdison2017-06-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had an opportunity to work with some really smart individuals

    Cons

    Management remains really deceitful and puts the consultants' input before others who know the business better. Additionally, while the company is in bankruptcy and preaches how they have to watch costs, etc., management is still spending money irresponsibly like crazy on travel, meals, and other non-critical items. It's basically turned into a cash cow for legal firms and other advisors who are milking it dry while... management helps them do it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Even though you're going through bankruptcy, it's no excuse to not show your employees respect.

    SunEdison2017-06-05
  5. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Energy Consultant in Orem, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Co-workers and benefits however having to pay a portion of benefits was expensive.

    Cons

    Tried to grow too fast and launched SunEdison into Bankruptcy.

    SunEdison2017-06-01
  6. "Exciting Vision and Great Talent, Ruined by Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Talented and great people attracted by fast growth and exciting big-picture thinking from management.

    Cons

    Too much going on at once, company did not focus on core strengths and got overextended. Bankruptcy was handled professionally.

    Advice to Management

    Should have focused more on the core competencies of the business rather than trying to do everything at once and betting the house.

    SunEdison2017-04-24
  7. "Finance Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SunEdison

    Pros

    Real world experience gained Gained broad Treasury and Accounting knowledge

    Cons

    Was in the middle of being acquired

    SunEdison2017-04-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "What a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SunEdison full-time

    Pros

    There were great benefits. too bad they were not sustainable. The people there were great too. If only management was just as good.

    Cons

    Where do I start. This company misled investors, misled employees, and could not focus on anything. They totally suffered from shiny new object syndrome.

    Advice to Management

    I think everyone has left now and they are just trying to wind things down. Not much to save at SunEdison at this point.

    SunEdison2017-05-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "The thrill is gone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Learn about divesting and restructuring before it's all over.

    Cons

    Divesting and restructuring are not generally pleasant for the people in the business. Lots of people losing jobs. Hard to have any sense of building for the future.

    Advice to Management

    Turn the communication back on. Since the restructuring started the communication has dried up to virtually nothing.

    SunEdison2017-04-17
  10. "Financial Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time

    Pros

    Fun, flexible schedule, generous benifits

    Cons

    Not much training, easy to be lost at sea.

    SunEdison2017-03-22
Found 438 reviews