SunGard Energy Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

SunGard Energy Systems Reviews

Updated Dec 14, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Chapman, David
1 Ratings
  1. "SES was a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    SunGard Energy Systems was a great company to work for. The stance on business and its ideology was seen from the top down. The Executive team led by example and had an open door policy. Everyone knew their role but worked to help all other roles and departments function to the best of their ability. They believed in cross functionality to ensure that although a person may not be a subject matter expert in other departments,...

    Show More

    Cons

    The Executive team had changed a little to often after the President, I was hired under retired. It seemed like each new one that came in, couldn't find the right fit for them regarding how to manage the business regarding the path or direction of the company.

    SunGard Energy Systems2018-12-14
  2. "It developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benfits that has you covered

    Cons

    Lots of work in the office

    SunGard Energy Systems2018-08-01
  3. "Enjoyed working for team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems full-time

    Pros

    Good team camaraderie and interesting projects.

    Cons

    Mediocre software. Too many acquisitions to make a frankenstein application.

    SunGard Energy Systems2017-02-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems full-time

    Pros

    learn a lot software system knowledge

    Cons

    Very bad company culture, no respect for employees from management and among employees.

    Advice to Management

    Respect the values of your employ

    SunGard Energy Systems2014-05-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Software Developer sharing experience in Houston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SunGard Energy Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cant think of any. In all, its a totally unpleasant environment to work.

    Cons

    Lack of any direction. Too many customers on different releases. Almost every release was a nightmare for both the development teams and customers.Many of the managers are rude and do not like a difference of opinion.Most of development has been outsourced and the ones left are overworked and unappreciated. Morale is low, most employees are constantly looking to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Technical managers are supposed to be technical..

    SunGard Energy Systems2013-03-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "One of the 3 worst places I ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems

    Pros

    Sungard Energy Systems offers a very robust benefits program including a good 401K matching program, as well as a somewhat liberal time off program.

    Cons

    My experience at Sungard Energy Systems was not positive in any way. In my experience there is no good interaction between upper management and regular employees and the division is very apparent.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to the needs and desires of your regular employee base and make them feel more like their contribution and efforts matter.

    SunGard Energy Systems2011-08-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Okay place to work. Horrible sr. mgmt. and low pay, but good benefits, good colleagues and decent work env."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SunGard Energy Systems

    Pros

    Good colleagues Learn about energy industry

    Cons

    Lower than average pay Senior Management make bad decisions and focus on CYA.

    Advice to Management

    too late

    SunGard Energy Systems2009-02-12
  8. "Good experience, learning can be more, lack of dynamic environment. I was at the Pune office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Pune
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in work. company benefits are good. culture is healthy. Office at a good location

    Cons

    Managers need to be more involved.

    Advice to Management

    Follow good review methodologies

    SunGard Energy Systems2013-11-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A few words"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Architect in
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems

    Pros

    Sungard Energy System is a great place to learn energy business due to the various of Energy Trading application it produces.

    Cons

    The management doesn't appreciate the the work from the development and they will reward more on people who can talk.

    Advice to Management

    It is more important if you can deliver a solid products and that's the root to achieve long term growth.

    SunGard Energy Systems2010-11-20
  10. "An good place to work for a few years during your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant in London, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SunGard Energy Systems

    Pros

    Great colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Not getting full recognition for your work

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are your number one asset

    SunGard Energy Systems2009-05-24
Found 10 reviews