KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sunbelt Rentals

Engaged Employer

Sunbelt Rentals

Add a Review

Sunbelt Rentals Employee Reviews about "profit share"

Updated Sep 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Sunbelt Rentals CEO Brendan Horgan
Brendan Horgan
274 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits friendly work space(in 29 reviews)

  • "Good company if you're looking to advance(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management, service is slow(in 26 reviews)

  • "Profit share is never had because of inflated budgets(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sunbelt Rentals and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "profit share"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Sr. Manager

      Dec 28, 2017 - Senior Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company with a strong leadership team, and very positive business outlook.

      Cons

      Work- life balance is challenging due to the rate of growth the company has maintained over the last five years. Growth of the support operations lags the rate of growth of field operations, and this leads to over worked staff. Company lacks a pay for performance compensation program, which results in high performing employees receiving the same percentage pay increases and profit sharing as average and low performing employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      It's all about the bottom line

      Jun 16, 2020 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      steady employment and ok benefits. great IT and internal crm & sales pro apps

      Cons

      profit share & commission plans are pathetic compared to what they used to be - both are now "fine tuned" to ensure your overall pay will fit nicely into a specific range that is predetermined. the days of a "barn burner" profit share or commission check are long gone. if you make too much money, you will negate their all important monthly "fall through". they no longer value building customer relationships and are more concerned with the info you log into the CRM. you can be a top revenue performer but if you don't log in the customer information that you worked to learn, you're considered to be not doing your job. they would rather pay several mediocre performers on the cheap than pay one highly compensated top performer - that goes for branch mgrs & sales reps some serious micro management on the RVP level. branch mgrs can no longer make major decisions without approval of the district mgr who has to ask the rvp. There is one RVP that is condescending and rude to the branch mgrs and sales team. not much room for advancement if you're not in the click have to rotate filling in on saturdays. they refuse to close some stores on saturdays despite it being the dead of winter and absolutely zero business. afraid to miss that carpet extractor rental

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great if your a man

      Aug 22, 2020 - Senior ERS in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, can lead to a great career if you play the game, family oriented if you have the right PCM, profit share before the pandemic hit.

      Cons

      If you are a woman, expect to be pushed around. If you beat the odds and get promoted, and you are older than 30 with a small chest, be prepared for disappointment. There is always that one guy, and HR is not going to help you. They are for the company and will hide your concerns by promoting the guy while your career goes down the drain. If you are smart and have a excellent work ethic, you will never move up in the company. You will be bullied and harassed if you speak up. The "cool kids" win with paychecks that you earn for them while they stay home.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Sunbelt Rentals Response

      Sunbelt Rentals

      Thank you for sharing this review with us. Your insight is especially important to us as we launch our new Diversity and Inclusion Task Force. We have always been a proud equal opportunity employer and would very much appreciate hearing more about your experience so that we can investigate. Based on your comments, it sounds as though you may have contacted your HR Manager, but were not satisfied with the outcome. Please know that we offer multiple avenues of complaint resolution and you are more than welcome to directly contact your Regional HR Director or any other member of our HR Team to express your concerns. Our policies expressly prohibit bullying, harassment and retaliation and we sincerely hope to hear from you—you are even welcome to remain anonymous if you prefer.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not a job for college graduates.

      Feb 17, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are able to meet and network with people.

      Cons

      Their so called “safety culture” only applies if you are not losing the company any money. There were many cases when we put an employee at risk, but did not stop the work because we would “Lose The Deal.” Poor management structure. Management was quick to cut the inside sales reps hours to make up for budget achievement. The store manager gets the same amount of “profit sharing” bonus per quarter than the sum of every staff member. When I was hired, I was never informed about being “on call.” Well, a month into the position, I was on the rotation. Very outdated business scheme. Management tries very hard to be the number #1 rental company by pushing for more profit and cutting expenses/salaries. In reality, they will never be #1 and are hurting their hard working employees. Their so called training program (SBU) is an absolute joke. Very unprofessional engagement between their drivers and employees. Many outside sales reps were illiterate.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Sunbelt Rentals Response

      Sunbelt Rentals

      We regret that you did not have a better experience, but appreciate you sharing your thoughts. We are greatly concerned by your comments about our commitment to safety: Sunbelt will never intentionally put production ahead of a team member’s well-being. If there is a specific incident we should know about, please consider calling our HR Department at 866-573-6246. As it specifically relates to training and engagement, we are excited to share that we are working hard to implement a new onboarding experience designed to equip all our PC-level positions for success. While this may not change your experience, we hope that it demonstrates how seriously we take and appreciate your feedback and how we intend to put it to good use. Regarding United, there may be a misconception: it’s not our goal to keep up with them; we intend to lead the industry in service and satisfaction for both our customers and our employees.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Meh.

      Sep 15, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overtime available Yearly Raises Profit Share PTO Benefits

      Cons

      Bad company culture No room for growth

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not what you think it is

      Jul 30, 2019 - Class A Driver in Inglewood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do have a lot of work, so you don't have to worry about getting hours

      Cons

      They talk about safety, but don't follow it. everything gets job hoped, they want you to sign for safety meetings you did not attend. Don't even think about profit sharing, the PCM gets the check and breaks it down as he pleases so you will only see $150 every quarter. This pace was more like a frat house then anything else, super clicks like high school. There are some cool other stores that I got a chance to visit where you can see the vibe is different so I can't dump on the company as a whole, but this yard was a difficult place to work. They should invest in management training, so the PCM can understand DOT regulations and how to be a good leader. Being a salesman and a manager are two different things.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Sunbelt Rentals Response

      Sunbelt Rentals

      Thank you for leaving a review—your feedback is important to us. We would like to talk to you about the location where you had this experience. Safety is a core value at Sunbelt, and we would appreciate your help in identifying the facility you described so we can address your concerns. We want and expect members of our management teams to be leaders in the organization, and your perspective is invaluable. Regarding profit share, you are correct that these bonuses are completely at the manager’s discretion. If you feel you were treated unfairly, we can certainly investigate the matter on your behalf. Please consider calling our HR Department at 866-573-6246 or e-mailing us at humanresources@sunbeltrentals.com so we can help. Sunbelt’s policies expressly forbid any type of retaliation for filing a complaint, and you can even remain anonymous if you prefer. In the meanwhile, thanks again for taking the time to share these thoughts.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Road mechanic

      Jun 29, 2016 - Road Mechanic in Devers, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It a job. That you just come to pay your bill

      Cons

      No profit sharing dead end job. Hard to move up inless you kin or have be a truck driver. That what in the office and saleman. Is old trucker that are kin to each other. No bonus you have to pay for mile on the service truck you use on your tax. All the office and saleman makes twice much than the mechanic and truck drives. If you good on what you done on job like mechanic or driver. You not move up. They keep you there and move lazy kin folk in a spot. What your job title is you will doing more than that. You are mechanic yard man delv driver plumber rv trailer repair man. And election. And what else you can do for little pay. If you get overtime and it to much they will sent you home. They try keep you poor if you are working man.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Has the potential to be #1

      Aug 9, 2017 - Manager in West Palm Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a job with benefits.

      Cons

      Wages are lower than competitors. Profit share is never had because of inflated budgets. Unless you are a "friend" of upper management you won't get promoted or shift jobs. HR emails and sets wage increases to be at 3% even if you should get more. While the rest of us that do the work are barely getting by on what we make, upper management are all happy and bragging to people about the new vacation house, boat, or new cars they just got. Along with the stock they have in the company that they don't offer to all the rest of the employees that is going up..... They never tell you "good job!" It is always what can they find and tell you that you need to work on even if your store is profitable!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      it's a paycheck

      Apr 7, 2012 -  in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good job security. pay & benefits are ok considering the economy but nothing "like it used to be". opportunities for advancement are available for those that seek them. as a company, Sunbelt Rentals continues to have "record" quarters of profitablility, earnings, and growth. A market leader.

      Cons

      inspite of continual profitability and growth, employee pay and benefits are stagnant at best. there is always another gimmick to stifle sales commission and profit share. there hasn't been a raise for salaried/hourly employees for years. It is extrememly discouraging to work for a company that posts record quarters for growth and profitability with less employees while at the same time makes it harder for those employees to make commission and/or profit share which are now capped. talk about doing more for less! the potential to earn a great income is really restricted. what's that all about?

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Old Boys Club

      Dec 7, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's better than being unemployed

      Cons

      1. It's a good old boys club, sales reps and management get PAID and flaunt it while doing little to no work. Counter workers, mechanics, and drivers do the "heavy lifting" and carry the majority of the workload with little to no reward. 2. Profit Sharing is a joke, the company has grown and looks good financially on paper, but you will NOT see the results as a front line, difference maker. 3. Be prepared to be asked to do anything and everything and get nothing in return. 4. They hire from outside when they could promote within or they promote the least qualified. 5. Don't expect a big raise. 25 cents to 50 cents a year with no other opportunity for raises outside of yearly review. 6. Leadership will actively under staff locations in order to pad their pockets I assume. 7. No opportunities given to front line employees for feedback to upper management. 8. Medical benefits for a family of four is equivalent to 1/3 of your paycheck. 9. Training and communication about standard operating procedure is almost non-existent.

      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sunbelt Rentals Job Seekers

    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Support Office (Corporate Headquarters)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sunbelt Rentals? Share Your Experiences

    or