Suncoast Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Suncoast Credit Union Reviews

Updated March 16, 2019
70 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Kevin D. Johnson
29 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Good training, great coworker and good benefits" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Great people/team to work with, They applied my talents appropriately, decent pay and benefits, Great atmosphere, ability to move up" (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The upper management is very conservative and unwilling to change with the times" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Salary is way below the market value for practically any frontline or back office job out there" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great, satisfying, rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MCC Operations Supervisor in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - MCC Operations Supervisor in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    My experience working at Suncoast for almost 5 years was one that I am truly grateful for. When you work for the credit union, you truly do feel like you’re part of a family. At Suncoast, you can feel that the company and management truly cares for each and everyone of their employees and the company believes in diversity and equal opportunities for all its employees. The everyday work (in MCC) was challenging, fun and consistent and I often left for the day feeling like the work I did was rewarding. They also tend to hire great people, so you will be sure to make great life-long friends and will enjoy working with your colleagues especially when working together in community involvement activities (YAY PIFD!). There are so many opportunities for growth and career mobility so as long as you’re a great performer, it will be recognized (just be patient). The organization as a whole is always consistently improving in all realms when it comes to member and employee growth, improving processes, leadership development, and culture as a whole (especially for millennials). If it wasn’t for me moving to California, I would’ve loved to stay working at Suncoast as it was a job I looked forward to going to everyday and a place where I saw a great career path for myself. Thank you Suncoast!

    Cons

    Nothing out of the ordinary you would encounter at any workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Keep putting the right people in the right positions. KJ is doing very well at shaping the CU’s future and SVP’s who have been promoted are doing a fantastic job and listening to what employees want/need by building a culture that is competitive against other workplaces and is fun for young workers and also creating career growth/mobility opportunities for all employees. Continue to also hire people who come to work with their heart and show their love in working for the CU! :)


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Quality Control Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and good managers,

    Cons

    I had to move to another city.

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Mar 8, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you very much for providing this feedback!

  3. "decent work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller II in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Teller II in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Employees gain valuable bank knowledge

    Cons

    Low wages. Not many chances of advancement. Job promotions are based on secrete costumer ratings.

    Advice to Management

    Employees should be rated based on work ethics and not on secrete costumer reviews.

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Mar 10, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Director

    We appreciate your time in sharing this review. Ensuring that our team members feel valued and are given opportunities for development and growth are among our top priorities here at Suncoast Credit... More


  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good company values. Fantastic team mates. Generous benefits package.

    Cons

    Salaries aren't as competitive as they could be. Heavy workload. Career opportunities limited in some areas.

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Jan 24, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you very much for providing this feedback!


  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Health & retirement benefits are great.

    Cons

    Not having branches in Orlando.

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Jan 3, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for providing this review!


  6. "We have poor customer service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Lutz, FL
    Current Employee - Teller in Lutz, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I get a paycheck and that is all that keeps me here.

    Cons

    69 complaints on the BBB. We are told to have customers call the 800# with issues. Internally our computer system is outdated. Our meetings never tell us to make the customer happy, quite the opposite. Very hard to work with.

    Advice to Management

    Improve your customer service and get rid of the credit service you use.
    ID Analytics. It is not fun here at the teller window having most customers come up and tell me just how poorly Suncoast Credit Union is run.

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Jan 29, 2019 – Talent Acquisition Director

    We appreciate your time in sharing this information with us, as customer service and ensuring that our team members feel valued are among our top priorities here at Suncoast Credit Union.

    Our... More


  7. "Micromanagement - Lack of big picture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits are not bad and coworkers are great

    Cons

    Low communication and following the macro level plan. One on ones were rare with middle management and caused miscommunication issues that could have prevented unnecessary escalations.

    Advice to Management

    Big picture from above did not formulate down to the lower levels. New process caused confusion on which direction should the data flow as there seemed to be a blockage in the flow due to misalignment of meeting times.

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Nov 28, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Our goal is to address any issues there might be and this can only be achieved when we have a grasp of the problem, so thank you for your time... More

  8. "suncoast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Teller in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncoast Credit Union full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    good money, NICE HOURS, GOOD BONUSES

    Cons

    horrible management,HATEFUL PEOPLE ,HARASSED DURING WORK AND WHILE IN TRAINING

    Advice to Management

    have better leaders in place you loose good employees to horrible hateful people HR DOESN'T HELP EITHER

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for taking your time to offer your feedback. We are sorry to read about your experience because it falls short of our goal of creating a work environment that is healthy and respectful for... More


  9. "Over All Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Adoocte in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Member Adoocte in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncoast Credit Union (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Enviroment, Learning Curve, Great People

    Cons

    Lack ok knowledge of subject matter

    Advice to Management

    None, Anything you ask management or people, everyone is happy to help

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Sep 26, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for taking time to write this review!


  10. "MCC lending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncoast Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    I liked worked for the credit union and for what is stood for.

    Cons

    Not bad to say about them.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Suncoast Credit Union Response

    Aug 27, 2018 – Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for your review!