Suncor Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Suncor Intern Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1 review

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Suncor CEO Steve Williams
Steve Williams
1 Ratings
  1. "Suncor is an excellent place for learning about the refining industry with enjoyable people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Commerce City, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor for less than a year

    Pros

    Locations and the people you work with

    Cons

    Occasionally sluggish with bureaucratic tendencies.

    Suncor2018-09-21
  2. "Intern Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in St. John's, NL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor for less than a year

    Pros

    Was able to be engaged in a lot of different aspects of their business, excellent learning opportunity.

    Cons

    There were no real Con's. A great place to intern.

    Suncor2019-04-04
  3. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Fort McMurray, AB

    I worked at Suncor for less than a year

    Pros

    really good company, high salary

    Cons

    remote location, cold, far , alot of deliverables

    Suncor2019-02-11
  4. "Environmental Engineering intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Engineering Intern in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor for more than a year

    Pros

    great people, lots of opportunity to learn and gain exposure to the oil and gas industry

    Cons

    sometimes unbalanced workload varies from time to time

    Suncor2018-02-08
  5. "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer Intern in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor

    Pros

    Great benefits for an intern and good place to start your career.

    Cons

    Poor organisational structure. They are re-structuring the company.

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Suncor2016-04-01
  6. "Overall is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer Intern in Fort McMurray, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is very good. Company also provides good relocation package.

    Cons

    There are a lot of office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Less office politics would be nice.

    Suncor2016-01-06
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Engineering Intern in Fort McMurray, AB

    I have been working at Suncor for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay - Benefits : housing, relocation, PTOs

    Cons

    The major cons was not enough structure in the co op program

    Suncor2015-10-29
  8. "technical Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Intern in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor

    Pros

    grea opportunity to be exposed to various projects, to learn more cutting edge technology to solve real problems in real work place.

    Cons

    there is too much pressure to work in a group, everyone have several projects ro work on, some of it are very hard to get support from other team

    Suncor2015-10-06
  9. "Great pay/benefits, Molded Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Suncor for less than a year

    Pros

    Before: I got an interview invitation via my schools co-op program. I was interviewed by current employees of Suncor, pretty standard interview but keep mind that 'safety' is a big topic. I was happy with the process because they allowed me to interview online because I could not make it in person During: Worked closely within my team and I felt that I was able to contribute a lot. Even as an intern you are tasked...

    Show More

    Cons

    The culture. Suncor looks for an employee that they can mold and is willing to conform. As an intern it felt to me that everyone was just a cog in the corporate wheel. Big aspirations, high energy individuals are not what they are looking for and even if you started off that way I feel like you would have it sucked out of you by the time you make upper management. Not hating on the culture but I guess companies need...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get some young blood into upper management. Build a culture were people want to make big changes instead feeling like "meh the pay is good so I'll just sit at my desk and shut my mouth"

    Suncor2015-10-09
  10. "Great company - must fit their corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor for less than a year

    Pros

    Company that lives by the work-life balance philosophy. There is a lot of autonomy and responsibility and 99% of the people you work with inside the organization are bright, hard-working and experienced. They like to switch people around every one or two years starting at the intern level on to new grad and even when employees are full time.

    Cons

    Conservative organization and procedure-based processes makes affecting major changes difficult. Carrying projects through to finish is also complicated due to the long time frame needed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the compensation and benefits as they are major attractors to people who otherwise would not know of or be interested in the oil and gas industry

    Suncor2015-07-26
Found 1 review