Suncor Senior Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Advisor

Suncor Senior Advisor Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1 review

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Suncor CEO Steve Williams
Steve Williams
0 Ratings
  1. "Senior Technical Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Advisor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Health and Time off, Positive work environment, supportive leadership

    Cons

    Big Company, redundant paperwork, silo structure

    Suncor2016-11-01
  2. "Senior Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Suncor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good compensation program, working on being leaders in sustainability.

    Cons

    Large organization, slow pace of progress

    Advice to Management

    Diversify asset base to weather economic fluctuations. Work on leaning out internal processes and systems to be more agile and adaptable when the economy turns.

    Suncor2019-02-07
  3. "Senior Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary, many departments to work in, many geographical locations.

    Cons

    Lack of succession planning & career progression opportunities. Other than senior leaders, we are not enable to make decisions. Poor employee engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Promoting based on seniority or popularity doesn't necessarily equate to creating the best leaders.

    Suncor2018-04-03
  4. "Job Search"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Health Safety Advisor in Fort McMurray, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have provided work through the latest downturn in the economy! have a very good safety culture.

    Cons

    Using the downturn as a reason to claw back money from contractors and employees alike even tho oil prices are rebounding they are still taking away from everyone. It feels like they are using this as an excuse to "adjust" salaries to better line the pockets of the investors. Eventually it will cost the company when they NEED GOOD people and they have been swallowed up by other organizations.

    Advice to Management

    If you really want to earn the respect of employees and contractors you would take cuts in pay as ALL of us have! While this may have helped us financially through the downturn, by taking a huge pay raise you slapped everybody in the face regarding tightening OUR belts!

    Suncor2018-01-06
  5. "Solid Salary, Gentle Culture, Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big oil salary benefits and perks, gentle management environment, reasonable hours, well run company, high hopes for future profitability, quite cushy in relation to another super major I worked for

    Cons

    Slow moving, few downsides from my perspective, needs a more commercial mindset (beyond upstream), other employees are more negative because many of their old colleagues got laid off in oil price downturn (just like every other oil company, not Suncor's fault)

    Advice to Management

    Return some of the perks from the good old days to make the employees feel appreciated, especially with ourreturn to profitability

    Suncor2017-12-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, but not enough challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and team dynamics - people were friendly, willing to help and work together. Awesome pay, benefits, bonuses and incentives. Tons of vacation and flextime.

    Cons

    There was not enough challenge in the role and personally I felt that my role was an over-hire and not needed. I spent a lot of time twiddling my thumbs despite asking for more work. It is and was a great company, with great people I am still in touch with, but unfortunately I couldn't sit around waiting for work.

    Advice to Management

    Really consider your hires before you make them, and whether the role is truly necessary. If someone does have a lot of excess capacity, look for ways they can be temporarily redeployed so they continue to be challenged and engaged at work.

    Suncor2016-01-16
  7. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Suncor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, lots of vacation time and good people.

    Cons

    Company more interested in providing opportunities to new grads than to experienced workers.

    Suncor2013-11-20
  8. "Strong compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Suncor

    Pros

    Generous vacation package and personal days Stable industry with long term growth opportunities Attractive Annual incentive bonus 20 per cent salary

    Cons

    Too many employees promoted based on personal branding and networking vs actual work Rigid systems and processes makes it a frustrating work environment

    Advice to Management

    Recruiting too many people that just want to be future leaders vs actually want to do the work. Promotions based on personal branding perpetuates issue.

    Suncor2011-12-11
Found 1 review