Cover image for Suncor
Logo
See All Photos

Suncor

Engaged Employer

Suncor

Add a Review

Suncor Employee Reviews about "pay and benefits"

Updated Sep 15, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 43 of over 2K reviews
3.3
63% Recommend to a Friend
Suncor Interim CEO Kris Smith
100% Approve of CEO

Found 312 of over 2K reviews

3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Suncor Interim CEO Kris Smith
Kris Smith
4 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Pay is good and fair(in 159 reviews)
  • "The people are great and really friendly and they are doing really well even in this economy(in 135 reviews)
  • "Good benefit plans both in finance and medical(in 111 reviews)
  • "Good salary and incentive package(in 72 reviews)
  • "Pay and work life balance is good(in 49 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management, usually incompetent and only hired on a tenure.(in 44 reviews)
  • "Expect to be busy and work very hard and long hours.(in 35 reviews)
  • "Poor leadership in middle mangerial positions(in 27 reviews)
  • "Bad managers get promoted and toxify entire departments.(in 22 reviews)
  • "No training held to expectations that are not taught(in 14 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Suncor and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "pay and benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Suncor's Finance Leadership Are Incompetent Liar's

    Jun 1, 2017 - Finance Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits are the only Pro's at Suncor.

    Cons

    I was managing a group of 10 people and was asked to go on project to be a project manager. After 36 months of doing absolutely nothing in my project management role and given a demotion (because there was no projects to manage) I was given a severance package. 18 of the 36 months I didn't even go into an office. I literally set at my house, watched TV and played on social media. I worked for Suncor for 28 years and this is how they treat people. I would have never agreed to go on project if I had known that there was no project to manage. Basically Suncor's management wanted to find a job for another manager so they lied to me, back filled my position and then gave me nothing to do for 36 months before they laid me off. Can you say Constructive Dismissal (it's a legal term)!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Be very wary of contract positions

    Aug 28, 2018 - Procurement Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good and fair

    Cons

    If you work on contract and the boss who hired you leaves, you definately get lost in a mammoth organization where everyone only looks out for themselves.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Suncor team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Production Technician Student

    Apr 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Sherwood Park, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Helpful team environment - Good work schedule - Good pay and overtime available

    Cons

    - Long hours - No other cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Very rewarding

    Nov 14, 2011 -  in Mississauga, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and benefits great office nice cafeteria

    Cons

    Too many top management needs to be cleaned up

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Dec 16, 2020 - Advisor in Mississauga, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay and work life balance is good

    Cons

    Corporate decisions are made often

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Techincal Servives/Engineering Review

    May 14, 2015 - Senior Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Co-workers are generally quite friendly and helpful when you need to ask for assist. -Company is big on training. If you are looking to further advance your skills, you will have access to a variety training both in-house and external. -Great place to gain experience as an EIT or intermediate level Engineer. Advancing to and past the senior can be quite difficult. -Pay and benefits are on par with other major operating companies within the sector.

    Cons

    -Company is constantly under a continuous state of organization change. As a result, it can be rather difficult as the business objectives seem to be constantly changing. -Company has an excessively large middle management section. At the Director/Manger/Front Line Leader levels, the ratio of management to employee ratio appears quite high in comparison to other companies. As result, there is a great deal of micro-management. This style of management does not work well given that many of the members are professional engineers capable of work independently with minimum supervision. -People at Director, Manager, and Front Line levels very often lack the necessary leadership skills (mainly interpersonal and communication). This level of management seems to use the “I’m the Boss” style of management rather than promoting a collaborative team atmosphere.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Crude and Refined Products

    Oct 31, 2022 - Risk contractor in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work From Home and Pay

    Cons

    Mundane work with disorganized leadership. Senior level manager quit after 3-5 months.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Depends on your department

    Jan 26, 2023 - Co-Op Student in Calgary, AB
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good learning experience Good student pay and network

    Cons

    Office culture in my department was terrible. People would not even acknowledge you when you arrived in the morning. No one wanted to help the students so I would get passed between different managers but not be able to get the information I needed to do my work. It seemed to be isolated to our department as students in other departments did not have this problem.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    nice

    Sep 9, 2022 - Retail Sales in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice pay and different benefits

    Cons

    Uncertain job due to industry very dependant on the market

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    great

    Oct 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pay and profit sharing was good

    Cons

    No cons that I could think off

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 312 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Suncor Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Suncor? Share Your Experiences

Suncor logo
or

Suncor Careers

Cover image for Suncor

Go Ahead. Expect More. Suncor is Canada’s premier integrated energy company– the largest in Canada and the fifth largest in North America....More

  • Careers
  • Development
  • Our Reputation
  • Locations
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Suncor Photos

+ Add Photo
Suncor photo of: Commerce City Refinery
Suncor photo of: Life in Denver
Suncor photo of: Refinery and Denver Downtown
Suncor photo of: Commerce City Refinery
Suncor photo of: Commerce City Refinery
Suncor photo of: Suncor Energy Centre
Suncor photo of: Fort McMurray
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Suncor Job Seekers Also Viewed

Canadian Natural Logo
Canadian Natural

3.4

794 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,709 Suncor reviews submitted anonymously by Suncor employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Suncor is right for you.