Sungevity Reviews | Glassdoor

Sungevity Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
33%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Sungevity CEO Andrew Birch (no image)
Andrew Birch
216 Ratings
  1. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity full-time

    Pros

    I liked all the snacks

    Cons

    The layoffs were really hard

    Sungevity2018-06-29
  2. "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity full-time

    Pros

    Sungevity started out as an exciting fast-paced growth opportunity. It was doubling in size every year, had many opportunities for advancement, and a great culture.

    Cons

    As funding dried up the culture took a turn for the worse. Multiple rounds of layoffs and misinformation continually given to employees from leadership left many in a really tough spot. This is NOT the same company it was several years ago.

    Sungevity2018-05-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "it ... WAS ... great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in Oakland, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Phenomenally talented sales personnel, great people and mission, best solar culture bar none (pre-BK).

    Cons

    Call center over-metricized / incorrect metrics toward the end.

    Advice to Management

    Solar Spectrum Execs: Leadership and humility.

    Sungevity2018-03-13
  4. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great environment. Lots of opportunities

    Cons

    The Solar Coaster is a wild ride. The constant need for funding affected the culture a bit towards the end.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great, dedicated people.

    Sungevity2018-03-12
  5. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity

    Pros

    Good place to learn and positive mission

    Cons

    Favoritism goes a long way

    Sungevity2018-02-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Three working atmosphere was brilliant and it was genuinely fun working with people who liked to be at work every day

    Cons

    Management had almost no clue of what was happening at the customer facing level. A lot of informal channels of communications.

    Advice to Management

    Strictly documented feedback and communication would have greatly improved productivity

    Sungevity2018-02-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Design and Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sungevity full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed Work Environment, great opportunities for movement within the company

    Cons

    Compensation and poor business management

    Sungevity2018-01-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity for less than a year

    Pros

    Good base pay. Comprehensive training. Benefits. Company car.

    Cons

    Unsustainable business plan for the company.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Sungevity2018-01-08
  9. "Customer Experience Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, environment, work-life balance

    Cons

    They went bankrupt, no plan B to save the company

    Sungevity2017-12-13
  10. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sungevity full-time

    Pros

    I like the people i worked with

    Cons

    knocking on door in the dark!

    Sungevity2017-12-12
Found 357 reviews