Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center Reviews

Updated 29 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
55%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center CEO Sylvia Young (no image)
Sylvia Young
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, 5 paid weeks a year off(in 5 reviews)

  • "Good pay, strong union presence, very high acuity community hospital(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center part-time

    Pros

    It has very good Benefits

    Cons

    Hard work but more organized system

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-08-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Just keep taking stuff away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Operating Room in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Alot of opportunities to work overtime and call. Not really flexed alot.

    Cons

    The union sucks. Sunrise took our EIB, Eliminated per paycheck 401k match, took the soda machine out of the breakroom, and are going to eliminate our paid for health insurance next union negotiation, in addition to having a bunch of other things taken away on the table.. For all the stress this place gives its just not worth it. Crappy benefits now. Actively looking for another job. People are miserable here.... Management ignores us and NEVER consults us about things in our dept. When there is a problem the current management just deflects the problem back on u and says "ok, how can YOU fix the problem". If we could fix the problem we wouldnt be coming to the stupid management. If u want to try and do ur job w handcuffs on then look for a job here. We have been thru 6 managers in 4 yrs. The charge nurses keep quitting or r fired. Moral is low and people hate this place. When they throw sand in the KY its referred as the "sunrise special". Its all about the mighty dollar and not the people or the patients here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    STOP TAKING AWAY OUR BENEFITS!!!!

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-08-29
  3. "Like nowhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My coworkers are some of the best people I know and am blessed to work with.

    Cons

    If you have ever been to Sunrise, you could answer this yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff and offer incentives and bonuses to come to work.

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-08-14
  4. "Adequate Employer, does not go above or beyond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resisted Nurse in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overtime ability, adequate support staff

    Cons

    Staffing ratios, poor visibility of upper administration

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-08-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R N 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Education great place for new nurse Staff is very nice

    Cons

    Staff and nurse ratio too high High turnover

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-07-20
  6. "Only cares about the money not the employees or patients, it use to be a great place to work, but has turned a 180."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prefer Not to Say 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Loved most of the other employees, I had the opportunity to work with in the 17 years I was there. I was able to advance and even got to change departments to further my experience.

    Cons

    Short staffed, management only cares about productivity. The management team is always in meetings, and there's a lot of favoritism. Benfits have been getting worse year after year. Miss the people and others I cared for, but they will work you to the point of exhaustion.

    Advice to Management

    You really do not appreciate all the great employees that work for you. I'm sure if you had to be a regular patient and not treated as a VIP, you would see things in a different light.

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-07-20
  7. "Busy but great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CT Technologist in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great. benefits good also

    Cons

    Very busy. Er gets busy

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-05-09
  8. "Lab technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Irvington, NJ

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good happy environment in the company

    Cons

    Nothing , everyone is good no cons

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-04-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Crazy patient load and Nurse to patient ratios"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - MEDSURG RN in Las Vegas, NV

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free insurance for the employee and family Good pay 401k employee matching Largest hospital in the state of Nevada (great learning opportunities for a fast learner)

    Cons

    Patients are of a high acuity level Nurse to patient ratios can be 9:1 or worse Ratios do not always adjust based on patient acuity

    Advice to Management

    Before assigning patients to a nurse, consider the patient acuity. If one nurse has 6 walking and talking patients while another has three or four totals, the two nurses cannot do the same amount of work in the same amount of time.

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2019-03-08
  10. "Rn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Work environment Has Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Always full They float you

    Sunrise Hospital and Medical Center2018-12-14
Found 57 reviews