Sunrise Senior Living Assisted Living Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Sunrise Senior Living Assisted Living Coordinator Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
96%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
6 Ratings
  1. "No place compares to the level of service provided"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The care provided at Sunrise is top notch. Residents always look their best and are encouraged to do activities. You can definitely see a difference in a Sunrise resident and other assisted livings.

    Cons

    Working with Seniors is hard but very rewarding. You have to love what you do in order to do it well.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2020-02-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to work overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -They truly care about the team and want to see team members grow in their careers -very resident centered -clean, beautiful buildings -happy residents for the most part -

    Cons

    -work life balance -insurance is expensive and not very good

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2020-02-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sunrise is what you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The knowledge and insight that residents share and the reassurance to know that my team are making a difference.

    Cons

    Care Managers need more pay.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-02-11
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Assisted Living Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator in Seal Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits Great coworkers Good values -unfortunately the regionals do not live up to them. Great training on dementia Interesting model of service - efficient in someways & ineffective in others

    Cons

    Over worked. Using euphemisms does not equate to the company living up to the standard they sell. Care givers are expected to assist resident with every solitary aspect of life - yet they are responsible for multiple residents receiving care. For example, if you have 4 care givers on the floor, and four residents that need to use the restroom during dinner -guess who doesn't get their dinner in time? The other 56 residents in the dining room because care givers are responsible for serving. Department heads are required to jump on the floor when we're short - which is great for emergencies- but with how slow the hiring process is- I was on the floor for a month & working 16 hours a day just to maintain the administrative & daily requirements of my job as well. My health easily went out the window. The training requirements make hiring a logistical nightmare - one month to hire a care giver doesn't make sense when they only give a two week notice. Regionals are quick to reprimand without listening to or addressing the daily community-level challenges. I only spoke with my regional once and then she had her visit and asked me for documentation on a item I wasn't even aware was my responsibility. I'm a very hard worker, and if I know the expectations & my responsibility is clear to me, I go over and beyond to ensure I am fulfilling my duties. Unfortunately, I was embarrassed and upset when I was asked for something that I wasn't even aware of. She made it very clear that she I should have known it was my responsibility. Where was my training on that? Why wasn't it clear to me that she expected that of me? Every other regional I've ever worked with has taken a day or two out to ensure that I am trained properly. Feeling unsupported by higher level management is one of the many reasons I left. I was very excited to join Sunrise after researching & going through the initial orientation where they discussed the Sunrise way & expressed how connected they were to their original values. Unfortunately, the company did not live up to the reputation they sold and I was extremely disheartened and disappointed.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2017-10-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Alc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and you always have and opportunity to grow

    Cons

    People pass away when your very close to them

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-10-24
  6. "Great Company, Communities Need More Oversight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assisted Living Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    The residents are wonderful, and the staff is committed to their work.

    Cons

    Job duties and policies change with changes to management, creating a somewhat unstable environment.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-10-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "ALC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator in Playa Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of potential to advance. But you may have to be one if the favorites.

    Cons

    ED needs to listen and set up a plan to help new coordinators and give necessary tools. Also needs to be more professional.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-02-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assisted LIving Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential to offer good to the clientele.. to meet their needs

    Cons

    Inability of Management to provide resources to hire people in a timely manner or pay them a competitive wage

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2015-10-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Alc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assisted Living Coordinator in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and the residents make the job worth it.

    Cons

    ED was the worst, he played favorites and preached how he wanted team work from all the coordinators but always spread rumors about them which lead to lack of professionalism and people refusing to work with one another. Being on call constantly without any relief is exhausting and needs to be fixed. One person cannot work 24 hours a day for very long without becoming overworked.

    Sunrise Senior Living2015-07-03
  10. "Fantastic place to grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assisted Living Coordinator in Severna Park, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honest, kind and helpful. I love working for Sunrise.

    Cons

    No cons! Apply at your local Sunrise!

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2015-04-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 18 reviews