Sunrise Senior Living Caregiver Reviews | Glassdoor

Sunrise Senior Living Caregiver Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
38%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
17 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver 

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They provide two weeks to extensive training so that you are comfortable Staff is very sweet and they do a good job of picking people right for the job

    Cons

    It can be difficult at first like showering residents and changing them but you get used to it.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-08-03
  2. "Didnt know they considered employees Independent Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    The patients they just wanted someone to be there with them loved working with the patients

    Cons

    Everyone that worked in office always run around.. didnt know they considered their caregivers independent contractor when they gave schedules and instructions for level of care. If they didnt get paid then caregivers didnt get paid till they did . Long shifts sometimes less then 8hrs between shifts if there was a call off. Some caregivers would be late a hour or two for their shifts . Sometimes paid cash sometimes with a personal check. Dont do background checks or proper training . And when doing group texts you shouldnt refer your independent contractor as employees.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2020-02-08

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    February 10, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team   

    Continue reading
  3. "Residents are great, however management is not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver, CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Residents are outgoing, fun, and always loves to communicate

    Cons

    I've worked there for almost 4 years and the management was getting worse. There was favorites, did not really work with your schedule, lack of communication

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-01

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    January 3, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team         

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Heavy lifting of heavy residents will break your back and no appreciation to your hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Love working with seniors private work environment

    Cons

    understaffed underpaid and management sucks

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-12-16

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    December 17, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Centerville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents and family are the best they are the reason we come to work.

    Cons

    Always short staff management does not help at they could careless about the residents all they are worried about is taking these families money and telling them lies. If they don’t like they will find some way to get rid of you even if you’re a good worker lost a lot of good workers now the building is in shambles

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-13

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    November 13, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unhappy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Caregiver 

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Loved taking care of the residents

    Cons

    Management and staff not polite with alzheimers residents

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-07

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    November 8, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  7. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good and they promote within

    Cons

    Sometimes the workload is way to much

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-10-10
  8. "Bad management don't listen , poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get some benefit, like paid vacation, medical insurance, and 401 k

    Cons

    Very heavy workload, poor pay, really really bad management,

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-09-06

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    September 6, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you - The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free food, pm shift at memory care work as a team, our boss listen to us and want us to be involved in everything.

    Cons

    sometimes over work. there are days that are too challenging and it depends on your team if things will be easy or not.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-06-30
  10. "Sunrise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time

    Pros

    Great residents, employee discounts, nice environment

    Cons

    Low pay for a lot of work involved, rude management, lazy coworkers

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-05-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 40 reviews