Sunrise Senior Living Executive Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Executive Director

Sunrise Senior Living Executive Director Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
38%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
7 Ratings
  1. "Sunrise has the right structure and brand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sunrise takes care of their brand well, it's good. I believe that they have a phenomenal vision and on their way to continue to make things happen. I love working for this organization.

    Cons

    Chain of command and communication tend to fall off the crack. The corporate sense and being such a big organization, the flow of messages and communication needs to be looked closer. Maybe review tasks and responsibilities to get a more organized process. Otherwise - all is well.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-26

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    December 3, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  2. "Popularity Contest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Saddle River, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training structure. Corporate support. Technology Driven.

    Cons

    Pay rate is low. Wrong people in the roles of the Regional Team. If you are not part of the ‘cool kids’ you are not looked at as a strong leader.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2020-02-01

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    February 3, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team                           

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sunrise has great technology and great systems for tracking resident care. Great training for team members."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge technology, care analytics to continually improve ways to improve resident care, CEO Chris Winkle visits the communities and is very down to earth and truly cares about what the teams thoughts, feelings and ideas are. Great systems for providing care to residents. Great team member training, in person, job coaches, leads and department coordinator.

    Cons

    Lots and lots of paperwork which takes away from the ED being able to be more productive in other areas. Such as being able to work along side mentoring a struggling coordinator. Make a difference in the marketing efforts or calling family members. The list goes on and on of all the ways a ED could be more productive delegating or automating a lot of the paperwork.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-02-12
  5. "Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive Director in Country Club Hills, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    Working for a company where there are opportunities for growth. Making a difference within the company as well as the community.

    Cons

    Being under great leadership. There been in years past of poor leadership and management. There must be a shift in positive productivity.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2017-10-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of training and time spent developing newcomers to the company

    Cons

    The people that have been with the company a long time (even though they may report to you) run the show and their opinions about the boss are never questioned. They only want Executive Directors who started with the company in high school answering phones then did every position on their way up. No patience for outsiders coming in with "other" ideas.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2017-06-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and residents. One of the best companies I have had the pleasure to work for. Staff longevity in all departments.

    Cons

    Nothing. I think it's a well rounded company. Very positive place to work. We will continue to strive for excellence in all that we do.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2017-04-10
  8. "Sunrise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highest quality for seniors. Incredible support of regional. Lots of growth potential

    Cons

    No cons come to mind. Sunrise takes a strong stand on if there is a concern to address and fix.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-04-29
  9. "Caring, compassion and Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a great company I hope to return to one day. Excellent training and advancement opportunities

    Cons

    They do not often have open management positions

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-04-08
  10. "Executive Directo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Company was a great company to work for. Unlike many other corporations, Sunrise take care of their employees.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs, not enough Indians.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-02-27
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Love the Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    The culture of Sunrise is great. The team at the corporate office in McClean are good people. I had the opportunity to work with one of the best Regional Director of Operations in my career. My Sunrise Recruiter was experienced and very upfront.

    Cons

    You don't really have the opportunity to hire your own team. It's all about who knows the regional team and who is friends with who.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2015-06-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 21 reviews