Sunrise Senior Living Licensed Practical Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Licensed Practical Nurse

Sunrise Senior Living Licensed Practical Nurse Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
44%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
18 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    6 years with this company and I love it! Good 401k match. High quality training programs. Great supportive management team.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-09-25
  2. "Horrible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You usually like some of the staff you work with.

    Cons

    Nurses are not allowed to call out sick or for emergencies, but must find your own coverage which is impossible to find most of the time. I went to work with the flu, pneumonia, and a sprained ankle on different occasions because I wasnt able to find coverage and your supervisor will not help you even if you tell them you have a high fever which I did. They told me to miss family funerals to work because I couldn't find coverage and my supervisor only response is it's not a good time and maybe in a couple of weeks they could let me take off one day for a funeral. You are constantly short staffed without enough supplies to do your job with more work added without extra pay or benefits. Management dont care about anyone. I was allowed to call in sick once to take my young son to the hospital but told me if he still in the hospital then next day I must come in regardless. And the entire time I spent in the ER with him I was calling every nurse to find coverage for that shift they let call out sick for instead of letting me care for him. He was 2 years old with special needs and fever of over 105 F. They even told me told me I need to find my own coverage when I was pregnant if I went into labor on a workday. I know of another nurse who tried to call out sick while on her way to the hospital because she broke her hand and was told no she couldnt call out and must go to the hospital after she completed her shift. This policy is only in effect for nurses. All other positions are allowed to call out sick with little notice. There is so much more things besides this but this is definitely one of my biggest pet peeves.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-07

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    January 8, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    We care deeply about each Sunrise team member and take concerns about their wellbeing seriously. We have escalated your concern to the regional compliance team to investigate. You may also report any compliance concerns anonymously through Sunrise’s third-party ethics hotline by calling 1-888-310-6744. Thank you.      

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Run while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents are amazing, and put a smile on your face. Some of the other employees make the shift go by faster

    Cons

    No communication. Low pay. Greedy. Worried about numbers more than quality of care. Harassment is okay in the work setting. Coordinators are not willing to help team members due to being above us. Constant changes. High turnover rate with employees.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-12-13

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    December 16, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  4. "POOR STAFFING & LAZY RN’s/ ED IS UNFAIR AND NEVER LISTENS TO THE STAFF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in North Westchester, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Team members help each other with the residents

    Cons

    Bringing people in just to fill a room regardless of low staffing. Corporate is only interested in dollars and cents

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-06-18

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    June 19, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  5. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse Med Care Manager in New City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff, good training. I worked part time so didn't have benefits. Got 65% off at JC Penny.

    Cons

    None. I was only there part time.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-04-30
  6. "Great benefits and opportunity for advancement!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has great benefits.

    Cons

    Barely any diversity in management.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-04-01
  7. "Greatness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome staff and very understanding as well as help full.

    Cons

    No real big cons here.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-03-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Underpaid and inappropriately utilized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Edina, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    International company, opportunities for career advancement

    Cons

    Do not assign tasks so that employees are working to the highest ability of their training. RNs mainly do paperwork, LPNs mainly pass meds and do ADL cares, Care Managers are more PCAs proving for ADL cares. They advertise that they have a nurse on site 24 hours a day but that is not the case, it is usually an unlicensed medication passer with an RN on call and off site. The pay is lower than the market rate, and the work is heavy. An LPN is responsible for passing meds and providing treatments to an average of 30-40 residents during a shift. It is categorized as an Assisted Living but they do not turn people away due to high acuity, only if they are not able to provide care under their license.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-09-06

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    September 6, 2018

    Please know that we take all feedback seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse/Medication Aide in East Meadow, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easier than nursing home, residents are nice. A lot of overtime available so you can rack up your money that way. It’s routine so you learn quickly

    Cons

    Pay sucks for an experienced LPN. Go back to school for your RN, so you can support your family .

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-08-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Sunrise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the residents, very rewarding

    Cons

    Very little effort is given to keeping the environment clean

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-07-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews