Sunrise Senior Living Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Jack R. Callison, Jr.
Jack R. Callison, Jr.
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "They truly care about the team and want to see team members grow in their careers(in 53 reviews)

  • "Benefits, work environment, staff, training, Compensation plan(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "too many new programs rolling out at once adding high expectations for coordinators to take on extra roles(in 64 reviews)

  • "Sometimes short staffed and in need of people to fill in on short notice(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sunrise Senior Living and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It's a GREAT place to work!

      Oct 11, 2020 - Concierge in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Concierge is a good administrative position that you can clock a lot of work hours for and it's not difficult work. I have a great supervisor and it's a genuinely pleasant work atmosphere. The staff and seniors are good to get to know and work with on a daily basis.

      Cons

      There is a lack of benefits for part-time employees until becoming eligible for them after working for six consecutive months. Otherwise, pay is compatible with the work and is good supplemental income if you have another job, but it's enough to make it even if you don't have another job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Rewarding

      Feb 10, 2021 - Concierge in Jackson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've only been working for Sunrise for a little over a year, but I see a lot of room here for me to grow. I love that twice a year, Sunrise gives their team members the opportunity to interview for their coordinator/director training programs. Most of the staff here have been very kind and supportive and the help I provide for the residents have been very rewarding. I enjoy also learning about where the residents have been and what they've done. There can be a lot of down time, but if you use your free time wisely, you can use it to learn more about the company and where you'd like to go from where you're at.

      Cons

      The day shift can be overwhelming. A trickle of tasks can quickly turn into an avalanche and become a three-person job. For instance, just a few days ago, I had five calls on hold while COVID-screening team members coming in for their shift and hospice visitors all while running six rapid COVID tests. You'll need to be very organized and have your priorities straight. Be prepared to carry the scout phone with you to the restroom to answer calls while you're in there. I've actually answered a few calls in there before and have had to cover the mouthpiece before I flush. I'm pretty comfortable with this and I am constantly sanitizing everything, but I get that this can be weird, gross, or uncomfortable.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Place on Earth to work

      Apr 25, 2021 - Lead Care Manager/Medication Care Manager in Issaquah, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nurses are super helpful, trained and skill to do their jobs. Our nurses are approachable and always willing to help you if you have any questions. Our coordinators in Al/TC and Rem are helpful, they do all the things and they stay late to help the floor if we are short . Our care managers they are experts, they know their resident and provide the best quality care in timely manners.

      Cons

      It is helpful if there is a short meeting every shift for 5-10minutes, it helps care managers and other staff to stay on top of their duties. Well informed team is the best team.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Company needs to start from scratch

      Mar 19, 2021 - DOS 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The founders of senior living

      Cons

      Once COVID hit I believe the true colors of the company came to light. The entire industry was challenged by census struggles, but once COVID hit, the entire team of Sales Directors were under fire and given the expectation to move in even more residents during COVID than before... totally unrealistic! Especially when there were months that we weren’t allowed to take move ins until we were cleared from the health department. All of those factors did NOT matter. It’s quite challenging to sell ethically and promote that there is an amazing ratio of care workers to residents when they had to cut MAJOR hours to the point that there may only be two or three to provide care for the entire building because they were more concerned with having to pay the necessary amount of staff vs making sure the resident’s care didn’t alter. How can it stay the same when staffing was cut by 50% or more? The amount of turnover for the Sales Directors in the last six months alone was about 80%...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Employer Branding

      We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team                                                         

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 23, 2021 - Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for Sunrise for many years, and love the culture. Sunrise main focus is on the resident while taking great care of the team members. I would recommend Sunrise to anyone looking for a career in senior care.

      Cons

      High expectations of team members resulting in long hours. However, the residents also have high expectations and to deliver the best service, Sunrise must expect excellence. If your just looking for a job, not ideal but if you are looking for a carreer where you can bring your passion, it's a great place.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent Work Environment

      Apr 24, 2021 - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Carmel, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work load isn’t overwhelming, even when you are short. They will work with your schedule if you communicate with them.

      Cons

      They are extremely pushy about picking up extra shifts, never calling off, and when you try to quit, you have to put your foot down or they will attempt to talk you into a smaller schedule or going PRN.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Employer Branding

      Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team                           

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sunrise is a great place to work and hone your caregiving skills.

      Dec 7, 2020 - Caregiver in Johns Creek, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sunrise has a great team of workers dedicated to the well being of the residents and it is such an honor to hear the life stories of the elderly and be there to help them in their old age. The elderly are essential to our society both because of their gathered wisdom and experiences but also what they continue to contribute to our culture and sense of self as a society.

      Cons

      Working at Sunrise is a joy, however because we are understaffed, caregivers are required to do house-keeping tasks like taking out the garbages and helping clean the kitchen during our shifts. These tasks are important to the wellbeing of our residents, however they subtract from our time helping residents with their daily activities. We must do all the garbages before we leave at the end of the shift - that's over 30 resident rooms to get to, in which time we are not available to assist in emergencies or help residents during this time.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A lot of positive aspects

      Mar 4, 2021 - Concierge 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The location that I'm employed with at least half, if not more than half of the staff is black, and it's in a heavily white socioeconomic population. 10 miles west of the location is a heavily black socioeconomic population which could be part of the reason. The hiring of team members is on management, and one of the observations I can make from my standpoint is any issue of race doesn't stem from corporate. I think the employees should be paid more (below management staff). Caregiving in general is an essential job for seniors, and for the amount of revenue the company earns, every employee should get a $1 raise minimum. At least the environment of my location, it feels that the employees are appreciated by management, and management makes an effort to make sure the team members know that.

      Cons

      Pay & management could be a little more diverse

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      okay place to work

      May 3, 2021 - Staff Accountant in Tysons Corner, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility with work life balance and concern for employee health and safety.

      Cons

      The Insurance is not great.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Care Giver

      May 10, 2021 - Care Giver in Metairie, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the residents. Great experience and great pay

      Cons

      Gossip among coworkers making environment unwelcoming

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,638 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sunrise Senior Living Job Seekers

    Assisted Living Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Activity and Volunteer Coordinator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sunrise Senior Living? Share Your Experiences

    or