KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sunrise Senior Living

Engaged Employer

Sunrise Senior Living

Add a Review

Sunrise Senior Living Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,097 of over 2K reviews
3.3
51% Recommend to a Friend
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Jack R. Callison, Jr.
59% Approve of CEO

Found 2,101 of over 2K reviews

3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Jack R. Callison, Jr.
Jack R. Callison, Jr.
140 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sunrise Senior Living and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Care Manager

    Aug 11, 2022 - Care Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ones of the best places to work during college. Flexible hours

    Cons

    No downside. I enjoyed working at with company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    RCD

    Aug 11, 2022 - Resident Care Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Residents are great to work with

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Aug 10, 2022 - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team was great to work with,

    Cons

    Pay was very very low

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your team member experience. It is wonderful to know that you had such a positive experience as a team member of Sunrise. If you have additional questions, you are welcome to contact info@sunriseseniorliving.com. Thank you! – The Sunrise Team

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good place

    Aug 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits and culture are great

    Cons

    Staffing challenges can be very difficult

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    It is wonderful to know that you had such a positive experience as a team member of Sunrise. If you have additional questions, you are welcome to contact info@sunriseseniorliving.com. Thank you! – The Sunrise Team

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    hit or miss

    Aug 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    shifts available. one of the best in town

    Cons

    policies change and are tough to navigate

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    We value all feedback and take it into consideration. Feel free to email info@sunriseseniorliving.com, or simply provide your contact information, with further details so we may follow up. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    The Best Training in the World

    Aug 10, 2022 - Executive Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have an extensive training program.

    Cons

    Work life balance can sometimes be at risk

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your team member experience. We are pleased to hear that your experience has been positive. Please feel free to reach out to us at information@sunriseseniorliving.com if you have any additional questions regarding team member experience at Sunrise!

  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Wonderful job

    Aug 6, 2022 - Activities Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with the elderly population

    Cons

    Hours spent at work can be long

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    It is wonderful to know that you had such a positive experience as a team member of Sunrise. If you have additional questions, you are welcome to contact info@sunriseseniorliving.com. Thank you! – The Sunrise Team

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    First CNA job

    Aug 4, 2022 - Caregiver, CNA in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice coworker and familial environment

    Cons

    Little connection with the management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your team member experience. We are pleased to hear that your experience has been positive. Please feel free to reach out to us at information@sunriseseniorliving.com if you have any additional questions regarding team member experience at Sunrise!

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Unrealistic expectations

    Aug 4, 2022 - Front Desk Receptionist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The residents are wonderful and like family

    Cons

    More staff needed. Most are overworked and spread thin and vent on each other. Jobs blend over to each other. Often times you need to leave the front desk unattended because you need to return a confused resident to their room when care managers will not answer your call. Everyone is afraid of the ED

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    We strive to maintain a supportive and productive work environment at our community. We take all feedback and concerns seriously and would like to hear more about this situation. Please email info@sunriseseniorliving.com, so that we may obtain further details from you so we may review this matter more closely. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    You'll find out

    Aug 4, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None nada zip zilch nothing

    Cons

    All, everything, the whole shebang

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    Employer Branding

    We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. At Sunrise, we strive for a supportive and productive work environment for our valued team members. Please share more information about your experience via email at information@sunriseseniorliving.com, or simply provide your contact information, so we may follow up. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,101 Reviews
</>Embed

Sunrise Senior Living Reviews FAQs

Sunrise Senior Living has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 2,154 reviews left anonymously by employees. 51% of employees would recommend working at Sunrise Senior Living to a friend and 42% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Sunrise Senior Living employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Sunrise Senior Living. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

51% of Sunrise Senior Living employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Sunrise Senior Living 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Sunrise Senior Living to be workplace, career development, coworkers and the cons to be benefits, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Sunrise Senior Living Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sunrise Senior Living? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Sunrise Senior Living

353 days ago

Company News
Sunrise Senior Living was again named as one of the Best Workplaces in Aging Services™ by Fortune and certified as a Great Place to Work® by Activated Insights. The top 10 ranking is the 3rd time Sunrise has received this top culture and workplace designation, showcasing the special place Sunrise is to be a part of. Want to join the Sunrise family? See a full list of available opportunities
Shared image - Sunrise Senior Living is a great place to work
Sunrise Senior Living is a great place to work
sunriseseniorliving.lpages.co
Logo

Sunrise Senior Living

429 days ago

Culture
From CEO Jack R. Callison, Jr. As we recognize the LGBTQ+ community during Pride Month, I want to highlight the important role that diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIB) have in Sunrise’s culture. Our foundational values have always centered on preserving dignity, celebrating diversity, and showing respect for all. Yet, as we reflect on world events, we find there is room to improve on our journey to make sure that everyone throughout Sunrise is accepted and feels welcome. We need to continue having honest conversations about societal injustices impacting our team members, residents, and families as well as integrating programming that educates about and celebrates the diversity of humanity. In addition, this year we will more closely assess our practices to ensure we foster an inclusive home for our residents, their family members, and our cherished team members. We will continue to stand beside our LGBTQ+ families, residents, team members, and allies. We have pride in you, and it’s my honor to lead this incredible organization into the future.
Shared image - PROUD to be Sunrise
PROUD to be Sunrise
www.sunriseseniorliving.com
See all

Sunrise Senior Living Photos

+ Add Photo
Sunrise Senior Living photo of: Gracewell of Ascot
Sunrise Senior Living photo of: The Brighton Gardens of Columbia, MD, team brings mental and physical strength to work every day!
Sunrise Senior Living photo of: Sunrise of Alexandria, VA, held a special celebration of the many diverse cultures represented on their team!
Sunrise Senior Living photo of: Sunrise of Wayne, NJ, held a Rainbow Day to brighten residents' spirits. They wore colorful clothes, played fun music, and held a dance party going down residents’ hallways!
Sunrise Senior Living photo of: Sunrise of Troy, MI, turned into the happiest place on Earth during "Disney Day!" Team members surprised residents by dressing up as characters and serving themed drinks and snacks.
Sunrise Senior Living photo of: Check out the Sunrise of Minnetonka, MN, team showing off their orange pride!
Sunrise Senior Living photo of: Rachael, a team member at Sunrise of Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, created a rocket-themed cart for suite stops to celebrate the SpaceX/NASA astronaut launch!
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 2,154 Sunrise Senior Living reviews submitted anonymously by Sunrise Senior Living employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Sunrise Senior Living is right for you.