Sunrise Senior Living Wellness Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Sunrise Senior Living Wellness Nurse Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
63%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "You really get to use lots of skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Nurse in Huntington, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get to really know your residents while providing the best care. Home is staffed 24 hours a day so lots of different shifts. Management is ready to jump in and get their hands dirty when they need to. Everyone helps out with every department. The facility is well staffed.

    Cons

    Management is constantly rolling out new programs as the adult population is coming in more sick and towards end of life but staffing patterns and team member allocation hasn't changed with the changes.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-05-01
  2. "A Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Nurse in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love the management style

    Cons

    Some facility may pay less than par

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-04-15
  3. "Smoke and Mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wellness Nurse in Gahanna, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents make the job worthwhile

    Cons

    Extremely high caregiver to patient and nurse to patient ratio. They continually admit higher and higher acuity residents without the proper staffing to care for them. They use guilt tactics to get people to work overtime, and then the overtime pay is delayed several pay periods. They refused to plan properly for predicted weather emergencies. Executive director and upper management care more about their bonuses than safe staffing.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-04-30

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    May 2, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, - The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  4. "It's a friendly community to work for, the residents and their families are especially nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Nurse in Saddle River, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The residents are very kind and like to joke around quite often. The Lpns and CM work very hard and are very sweet when they like you.

    Cons

    There is some difficulty when trying to institute change or ensure regularity. Its hard to ensure certain tasks are completed either in the CM side, or management.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-07-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "I would not recommend this place for employment . Very unsafe place for elderly. And not a good working environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wellness Nurse in Blue Bell, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents are nice . Good pay . Many activities through out the day for residents. Great benefits. So many facilities so easy to find one near by .

    Cons

    No job security . Compassion doesn't count . So many hospitalizations due to fall and medication administration program is very unsafe. No compliance.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2017-01-15
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hectic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Wellness Nurse in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    Very nice building, residents are very friendly, staff works well together and seem to all get along pretty well despite management communication issues.

    Cons

    Management does not communicate well, scheduled is very hectic, overtime is discouraged but seems to be expected, communication between doctors and pharmacy is lacking.

    Sunrise Senior Living2016-12-06
  7. "Wellness nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Wellness Nurse in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of education, processes for resident move ins are perfect, team work at its finest

    Cons

    Management, no growth in the company

    Sunrise Senior Living2016-09-08
  8. "Wellness Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wellness Nurse in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with senior population, they appreciate your work and care.

    Cons

    Wellness nurse ends up with most of the workload, but get paid much lower than coordinators, some of which were previously CNA's and promote up and make more than the nurse who spent at least 2 years in school to get become a nurse! The location I worked at had an arrogant ED who was constantly rude and cocky and a lazy RCD who took credit for everything the wellness nurses did. Luckily they both finally left the company and staff are much happier and actually want to be at work and do what they love!

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-08-22
  9. "Wellness Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Nurse in Palos Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers & some of the residents.

    Cons

    High turnover for care managers. Unpaid time off denied if requested. Job security/position threatened if you need to use sick time.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-07-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wellness Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Nurse in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time

    Pros

    I am utilizing my nursing experience, learning, and am able to provide services to a wonderful group of residents within the facility. I feel that I am a part of a team effort to ensure that all the residents' health needs and concerns are addressed and cared for on a daily basis.

    Cons

    The back stairways need more attention as to cleaning detail and there is not enough parking spaces for all the staffj. It is difficult when it is rainng because the staff must park so far away from the facility.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-06-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews