KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sunrise Senior Living

Engaged Employer

Sunrise Senior Living

Add a Review

Sunrise Senior Living Employee Reviews about "coordinators"

Updated Sep 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 of over 1,764 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Jack R. Callison, Jr.
Jack R. Callison, Jr.
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "They truly care about the team and want to see team members grow in their careers(in 53 reviews)

  • "Benefits, work environment, staff, training, Compensation plan(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "too many new programs rolling out at once adding high expectations for coordinators to take on extra roles(in 64 reviews)

  • "Sometimes short staffed and in need of people to fill in on short notice(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sunrise Senior Living and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "coordinators"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sunrise has great technology and great systems for tracking resident care. Great training for team members.

      Feb 12, 2018 - Executive Director in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cutting edge technology, care analytics to continually improve ways to improve resident care, CEO Chris Winkle visits the communities and is very down to earth and truly cares about what the teams thoughts, feelings and ideas are. Great systems for providing care to residents. Great team member training, in person, job coaches, leads and department coordinator.

      Cons

      Lots and lots of paperwork which takes away from the ED being able to be more productive in other areas. Such as being able to work along side mentoring a struggling coordinator. Make a difference in the marketing efforts or calling family members. The list goes on and on of all the ways a ED could be more productive delegating or automating a lot of the paperwork.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      My experience working at sunrise senior living

      Sep 19, 2020 - Lead Care Manager in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents are always a pleasure to work with always so nice . All you have to do is learn about them and you begin to understand there needs .

      Cons

      I worked at sunrise for 3 years my 2 first years weren’t that bad it just all came down to the management not being able to control the staff when there was problems between team members . We didn’t really have a stable management . Every time a problem would come up about something not being done right the recent ED would just listín and not do anything about it I’ve told everyone and even HR nothing was ever done and I wasn’t happy working there I was always stress and getting sick . I just wanted to do my job right but management mad it hard to do that . You would think with a new Ed it would change but it didn’t I know I’m not the only one feeling this way . It’s very disappointing how there no control if they fix the problem if there was better management sunrise of Tustin can be a better place. There’s no team between the nurses,care managers and Coordinators. Sunrise needs to make some changes . Because so many people working there are unhappy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      UNETHICAL

      Mar 27, 2020 - Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents are great, good team members...

      Cons

      This company does NOT CARE ABOUT YOU and i would not recommend JOINING it. In the start of the COVID-19 crisis, the company promised many things on their national calls. They promised they would replenish staff's sick pay if effected by the virus so that staff members would not need to take unpaid time & stated they would not hold it against employees if they chose coming to work at this time would not be safe for them. guess what is going on now? If you are out and do not have sick time, you have to beg team members to donate time to you, use your vacation (if you have any accrued), or not get paid. Also if you choose it's too unsafe to come to work, they now cannot guarantee your job will still be available. LIES, LIES, LIES. Coordinators are expected to work 7 days a week, 12 hours a day doing EVERYTHING while getting yelled at. The company does not care if you are in danger, tired, and sick. They love salary employees because they are free labor on their days off and can't receive overtime. ABUSIVE COMPANY. VERY UNETHICAL AND FULL OF LIES.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team             

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company to work for

      Sep 11, 2020 - Director of Sales in Frederick, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good company. good practices and support in place

      Cons

      too many new programs rolling out at once adding high expectations for coordinators to take on extra roles

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Be cautious

      Apr 21, 2020 - Community Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company values, they truly care for their residents. Great training for community leadership

      Cons

      I truly believed this would be the last company I would work for. I fell in love with the mission and values of the company and found them to be very ethical. My problem was not with the company itself but rather the community I worked in. I worked as a department leader in one of the Sunrise communities. I worked very hard for my bachelor's degree and the job applied for stated that a college degree was necessary. First of all, I am all for companies promoting from within and growing leaders in their staff. However, when I find that my peers (all with jobs that require college degrees per sunrise's job postings) don't even have a high school degree, I am left in a bit of shock. I am not trying to sound pretentious but it truly made me feel lied to and that my degree was not seen as a priority. Having care managers being promoted to Coordinators and eventually ED is GREAT but what about those job requirements? Be honest when positing jobs! Now to the actually issues I faced. My ED and I had very different leadership styles (again, TOTALLY FINE) however, I always felt like she never considered me a good leader due to being completely different than she was. She would always tell me to go to her for help but then when I did she would shrug her shoulders at me as if i should know how to deal with the issue without her guidance. This definitely left me feeling unsupported throughout the majority of my time with Sunrise. I reported abuse allegations a couple of times and felt like I was bothering her. She once said to me "Oh this will take hours of my time to deal with". Im sorry? Should I not tell you about abuse allegations then? If she was upset, WE ALL KNEW IT. She would not say good morning or hello or even smile at you. It left the entire building feeling scared and uncomfortable. She had no problem yelling at you during meetings even to the point of grown men crying! Imagine going to work everyday afraid if you were the next person to get yelled at in front of everyone! The hours worked are absolutely ridiculous for leaders in the community especially those who are salaried. The expectation is that all salary employees are on call 24/7. Will you get paid as if you are important enough to be on call 24/7? Absolutely not. Wellness nurses and the RCD are compensated for being on call, other employees are not. Is this fair? No and it should be illegal. You would receive calls at 3am and be expected to come in on your day off. They honestly took all hands on deck to A WHOLE NEW LEVEL that sounded a lot more like "we are too cheap to hire enough workers so we will ask the coordinators to do it and give them no other option". It's very clear. Anybody that has worked for reputable companies would know this is NOT okay. Again, I don't think this is a Sunrise issue as much as it was a community issue. I could be wrong -- but I'm doubtful. After all that I did at my job (I hate when people say this for a job that pays them but I really went above and beyond) I received such a low pay raise and a bonus that was HALF of what other community leaders received that I was just done. At that point, I felt very taken advantage of and unappreciated. I already felt uncomfortable in the community that this just set me off. To overwork and expect so much from your employees and then show them 0 appreciation is the reason people have no problem walking right out that door. My overall health and wellness has improved so much since I have left the company. Again, I really wanted to like this company and I know I had so much to offer but this whole experience left me feeling very turned off from the whole field. I loved the residents and the staff members but the expectation is just way too high that it is almost impossible. You can never do good enough and you are always expected to do everything. Horrible.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team  

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked and Underpaid

      Jul 29, 2019 - Care Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a daily effort and regular reminder to uphold the founding mission, values, and principles of service, which are good.

      Cons

      The coordinators, especially the head nurse (resident care director or RCC) and care coordinators (assisted living coordinator (ALC) and reminiscence coordinator (RC)), are some of the most overworked and underpaid positions I've come across in any company, and I was both The company's compensation, including the bonus and commissions structure, is geared towards the executive director (ED) and above and to the sales department...despite the fact that the care coordinators and RCC have every bit as much to do with customer retention and the daily running of the business. (I was both an ALC and RC in multiple communities.) In a business that has a constant onslaught of competing priorities, more support and personnel should be given to sustaining the people in these positions. Instead, I experienced mistrust from the ED to all levels of regional above. Staff on all levels drew incorrect conclusions, were backbiting, and vindictive.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Office Services Assistant

      We care deeply about each Sunrise team member and take concerns about their wellbeing seriously. We have escalated your concern to the regional compliance team to investigate. You may also report any compliance concerns anonymously through Sunrise’s third-party ethics hotline by calling 1-888-310-6744. Thank you.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wouldn’t recommend

      Jun 13, 2019 - Dining Services Director in Mission Viejo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents were the only thing.

      Cons

      Training was only 3 days for Coordinators. The next position was Dining Service Director which your position became just salary. Staffing issues- it would take a month to hire an employee then they have training which included all the care giver training. So you are going to learn how to take a dicatheter out even if your applying to a dishwashing position. Pay is low when other Senior Livings pay way more for less work. Benefits are terrible. You Pay so much for the worst benefits. Being a DSC/DSD your position is on call when it’s described as a 9-5:30pm 5 day week you have 1 server then the rest are care givers who don’t have any knowledge of how to work in a restaurant. But the expectation is for the kitchen staff to just clean up after them. No structure also, only allowed a lead cook. When you should have payroll for Sous chef. The company only cares about investors not the employees or residents. You will work your hardest for a company that can easily push you out.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Run while you can

      Dec 12, 2019 - Licensed Practical Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents are amazing, and put a smile on your face. Some of the other employees make the shift go by faster

      Cons

      No communication. Low pay. Greedy. Worried about numbers more than quality of care. Harassment is okay in the work setting. Coordinators are not willing to help team members due to being above us. Constant changes. High turnover rate with employees.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It was too much,had me thinking one thing and they did another.

      Dec 27, 2019 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents are so nice,Enjoyed working for them.The best conversations

      Cons

      Coordinators are the worst,favoritism is at highest in this building.I overheard I was terminated.They told another young lady in an another department before they informed me.Thank god I was on the call.They never reimbursed me for monies due to transportation but others received.Scheduling you would have to wait on a phone call.So I guess your to sit by the phone call.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst place ever

      Nov 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the residents made my day when i wasn’t doing to well.

      Cons

      They have the worst coordinators ever. So unprofessional with scheduling and with dealing with people overall. And if you want to get cheated out of hours because of incompetently this is the place to work

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 64 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sunrise Senior Living Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sunrise Senior Living? Share Your Experiences

    or