Sunrise Senior Living "elderly" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sunrise Senior Living Employee Reviews about "elderly"

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
392 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a very good working environment and have excellent team members(in 45 reviews)

  • "Strong culture and work environment(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Coordinators think your job is your life like you have to work overtime whether you want to or not(in 60 reviews)

  • "Hours are based on how much care is needed and that often leaves us short staffed(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "elderly"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "I’ve been working at the west Bloomfield location for over 8yrs and I absolutely love it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Care Manager in West Bloomfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    everyone works well together, a lot of team work. If there is anything we need to help with taking care of the residents our coordinators will try to provide it. There is a lot of opportunities to rise in the company.I really love that Sunrise understands that we have personal lives and helps the best way possible

    Cons

    Hiring process takes too long they need more incentives

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-09-03
  2. "Sunrise has the right structure and brand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sunrise takes care of their brand well, it's good. I believe that they have a phenomenal vision and on their way to continue to make things happen. I love working for this organization.

    Cons

    Chain of command and communication tend to fall off the crack. The corporate sense and being such a big organization, the flow of messages and communication needs to be looked closer. Maybe review tasks and responsibilities to get a more organized process. Otherwise - all is well.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-11-26
  3. "Enjoying Seniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Mn Cluster Dining Service Coordinator 

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mission, Core Values, Training, Relationships,

    Cons

    Confusion from top to bottom, regarding new programs

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-13
  4. "summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    chill and some good food

    Cons

    no tips and busy sometimes

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-11
  5. "Not all caregivers are good at giving care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Residents are sweet and appreciative. AL Coordinator is hard working and amazing. She will jump in to work as a Care Manager when short staffed.

    Cons

    Short staffed too often. Pay for amount of work responsibilities could be a lot better.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to resident‘s complaints about the bad CMs. Weed out the employees who don’t do their work and are not kind to the residents.

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-21
  6. "Families, count the staff & do the math"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely building Serves residents good food Residents have nice rooms Tried to take residents on nice trips

    Cons

    Too few staff, with 8 you have less then 15 min to get each person ready by breakfast CNA had to many other tasks besides caring for residents like entertainment, clothing/laundry, and all food serving/clean up. Staff were stressed and had very fast turn over Staff constantly complained to manager about each other Small parking

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-21
  7. "Fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the residents, they become a family to you somehow. The staff are really nice, and our reminiscence coordinator supports the care managers.

    Cons

    The load gets heavy and sometimes we are short-staffed, and you go beyond what you are paid for

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-03
  8. "Housekeeping at Sunrise Senior Living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I get to work independently, my opinion is valued. At Sunrise, there are no big I or little u.

    Cons

    More training for the Housekeepers that relates to housekeeping responsibilities. The latest techniques and tools, in order to further sharpen or skills.

    Advice to Management

    Setup more training modules for Housekeepers.

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-02
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Short staff at times long hours and low pay

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-16
  10. "Residents are great, however management is not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caregiver, CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Residents are outgoing, fun, and always loves to communicate

    Cons

    I've worked there for almost 4 years and the management was getting worse. There was favorites, did not really work with your schedule, lack of communication

    Sunrise Senior Living2020-01-01
Found 1286 reviews