KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sunrise Senior Living

Engaged Employer

Sunrise Senior Living

Add a Review

Sunrise Senior Living Employee Reviews about "short staffed"

Updated Dec 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 of over 1,757 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Jack R. Callison, Jr.
Jack R. Callison, Jr.
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "They truly care about the team and want to see team members grow in their careers(in 53 reviews)

  • "Benefits, work environment, staff, training, Compensation plan(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "too many new programs rolling out at once adding high expectations for coordinators to take on extra roles(in 64 reviews)

  • "Sometimes short staffed and in need of people to fill in on short notice(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sunrise Senior Living and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "short staffed"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Spot Bonuses

      Nov 20, 2018 - Care Manager in Holladay, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      $50 spot bonus to cover a full shift, not that bad.

      Cons

      Short Staffed for weekend shifts

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      N/a

      Dec 26, 2020 - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Philadelphia, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment to work in

      Cons

      Sometimes working short staffed can be overwhelming

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to start as a nurse aide

      Oct 8, 2020 - Designated Care Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the supervisors and faculty. Many of the coworkers were great to work with.

      Cons

      Sometimes short staffed and in need of people to fill in on short notice.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Enjoyable

      Jun 8, 2020 - CNA/Care Giver in Murray, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked in their memory care in their Murray, UT location. Coworkers and residents vary wildly from place to place, but overall the location was well-run and staffed as adequately as they could manage. Worked hard to promote teamwork with positive results.

      Cons

      For my location, we were a bit short-staffed and some employees quit while I was there, so that made it a bit more difficult to manage, especially when trying to care for ADLs and provide activities to the residents. Pay was decent but not amazing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Never Enough Staff

      Mar 10, 2020 - Lead Care Manager in Broomfield, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Team, Wonderful Residents

      Cons

      No Work-Life Balance, Short Staffed

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Job Ive Had

      Mar 28, 2020 - Medication Care Manager in Hermosa Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very easy to grow within the company.

      Cons

      More often than not short staffed, and managment could be better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fulfilling

      Jan 2, 2020 - Care Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with the residents, they become a family to you somehow. The staff are really nice, and our reminiscence coordinator supports the care managers.

      Cons

      The load gets heavy and sometimes we are short-staffed, and you go beyond what you are paid for

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not all caregivers are good at giving care

      Jan 21, 2020 - Care Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents are sweet and appreciative. AL Coordinator is hard working and amazing. She will jump in to work as a Care Manager when short staffed.

      Cons

      Short staffed too often. Pay for amount of work responsibilities could be a lot better.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Overall good. But upper management is horrible

      Jan 17, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the workers love their job so their willing to help.

      Cons

      Always short staffed. The sunrise I worked at (Wheaton IL) would over work you. You’d work overnights 5 mins before it’s time to go they want you to stay. I worked over a year on a unit alone because of “budgets”. They never hired anybody to help me on the floor with 15 plus residents with dementia. Upper management doesn’t care when you have personal problems going on. And my vacation request always got denied or I had to find my own coverage but others got to go to Vegas etc. they treat the overnight workers like crap. Provide Christmas gifts and food to all shifts but nights. I can go on and on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a good place to work

      Mar 5, 2020 - Care Manager in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The bonds with the residents, the coworkers that aren’t selfish and help everyone

      Cons

      Horrible management, low pay, raises are rare, everyday is stressful, some coworkers are rude and argue, almost always short staffed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sunrise Senior Living Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sunrise Senior Living? Share Your Experiences

    or