Sunrise Senior Living "short staffed" Reviews | Glassdoor

Sunrise Senior Living Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
398 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wellness nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    Great training with senior nurses

    Cons

    Short staffed limited amt of nurses

    Sunrise Senior Living2016-10-05
  2. "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    welcoming staff, good food, overtime opportunities

    Cons

    unorganized, always short staffed, stressful environment

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-09-09
  3. "Assisted Living Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Caregiver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    Med Tech License, Great Health Insurance

    Cons

    Constantly Short Staffed, Low wages

    Sunrise Senior Living2016-07-08
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Co-workers, Lame Supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Manager in Golden Valley, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get close to your patients and co-workers. You quickly start routines and have great bonding moments.

    Cons

    The management at my location was less enthusiastic about their work than the care managers. My particular boss refused to work the floor if we were short staffed, and frequently had to make shift changes due to high vacencies/ low needs patients. Supervisors

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2016-02-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sunrise offers good benefits. It is a first class environment. A truly rewarding job helping seniors with living life to the fullest.

    Cons

    Poor management. Short staffed. Too many responsibilities making it hard to give residents a personalized care. Team members are not really team players

    Sunrise Senior Living2015-10-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hateful workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reminiscence Supervisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents, families of residents, and frontline staff. Dedicated employees who actually uphold the mission statement and principles of service.

    Cons

    Sunrise looks beautiful; however as the saying goes looks can be deceiving. The community I work in uses bullying as a method to push employees out or make the ones who stay work under stressful conditions without the resources or support they need. Residents pay thousands of dollars to live there and there's hardly decent snacks or food for them. Sunrise claims to be an assisted living however they take in skilled nursing residents who belong in a nursing home. They take in residents who are extremely violent or aggressive and then refuse to medicate them because they "don't believe in using medicine to manage behaviors." The staff there lack knowledge of psychopharmacology and the nurses are ignorant and rude; they're lazy too ! Care managers always work short staffed and sunrise pays minimum wages for nursing home like work. Most staff get burnt out quickly and quit within a few months. HR is a joke and if you make a complaint they'll make sure your life is miserable and that you lose your job. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone to work there or live there!

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2015-11-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Baton Rouge, LA

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living

    Pros

    Great friendly and family oriented atmosphere.

    Cons

    Not all staff members are willing to be team players. Short staffed and frequent call ins from the same employees.

    Sunrise Senior Living2015-10-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Care Manager in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Residents and families are terrific.

    Cons

    Short staffed. Can't keep good people. High turnover. In the past year they have lost, either through firing or quit, over 10 key management people, most of which had been with the company for 8 or more years. They do not treat people well, especially the managers, nothing gets done. The residents are not being cared for properly

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2015-09-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "mr."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dining Service Coordinator in Siler City, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living for less than a year

    Pros

    Would not recommend sunrise as an employer.

    Cons

    short staffed very often, management needs training

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2015-08-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Care Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best thing about this job is the great relationships created between team members and the residents.

    Cons

    This is a large company that doesn't value their employees. Their main goal is sales. When they first hire you they tell you their is plenty room for advancement which is a lie. Always short staffed and employees are over worked.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2014-12-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 42 reviews