KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sunrise Senior Living

Engaged Employer

Sunrise Senior Living

Add a Review

Sunrise Senior Living Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Nov 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 1,764 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Jack R. Callison, Jr.
Jack R. Callison, Jr.
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "They truly care about the team and want to see team members grow in their careers(in 53 reviews)

  • "Benefits, work environment, staff, training, Compensation plan(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "too many new programs rolling out at once adding high expectations for coordinators to take on extra roles(in 64 reviews)

  • "Sometimes short staffed and in need of people to fill in on short notice(in 48 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sunrise Senior Living and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "team members"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to work

      Nov 6, 2020 - Recruiter in Malvern, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Understanding to team members work life balance

      Cons

      I don't have any cons at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      My experience working at sunrise senior living

      Sep 19, 2020 - Lead Care Manager in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The residents are always a pleasure to work with always so nice . All you have to do is learn about them and you begin to understand there needs .

      Cons

      I worked at sunrise for 3 years my 2 first years weren’t that bad it just all came down to the management not being able to control the staff when there was problems between team members . We didn’t really have a stable management . Every time a problem would come up about something not being done right the recent ED would just listín and not do anything about it I’ve told everyone and even HR nothing was ever done and I wasn’t happy working there I was always stress and getting sick . I just wanted to do my job right but management mad it hard to do that . You would think with a new Ed it would change but it didn’t I know I’m not the only one feeling this way . It’s very disappointing how there no control if they fix the problem if there was better management sunrise of Tustin can be a better place. There’s no team between the nurses,care managers and Coordinators. Sunrise needs to make some changes . Because so many people working there are unhappy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      UNETHICAL

      Mar 27, 2020 - Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Residents are great, good team members...

      Cons

      This company does NOT CARE ABOUT YOU and i would not recommend JOINING it. In the start of the COVID-19 crisis, the company promised many things on their national calls. They promised they would replenish staff's sick pay if effected by the virus so that staff members would not need to take unpaid time & stated they would not hold it against employees if they chose coming to work at this time would not be safe for them. guess what is going on now? If you are out and do not have sick time, you have to beg team members to donate time to you, use your vacation (if you have any accrued), or not get paid. Also if you choose it's too unsafe to come to work, they now cannot guarantee your job will still be available. LIES, LIES, LIES. Coordinators are expected to work 7 days a week, 12 hours a day doing EVERYTHING while getting yelled at. The company does not care if you are in danger, tired, and sick. They love salary employees because they are free labor on their days off and can't receive overtime. ABUSIVE COMPANY. VERY UNETHICAL AND FULL OF LIES.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience in our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team             

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful place to work overall

      Feb 5, 2020 - Assisted Living Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -They truly care about the team and want to see team members grow in their careers -very resident centered -clean, beautiful buildings -happy residents for the most part -

      Cons

      -work life balance -insurance is expensive and not very good

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Resident care is no longer on the priority list

      Oct 21, 2020 - Assisted Living Coordinator in Jackson, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Frequent training for team members.

      Cons

      Company values and priorities have shifted

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Employer Branding

      We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. We care deeply about the safety and well-being of our residents and staff. Please contact us at Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com so that we can learn more. –The Sunrise Team                             

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Nov 11, 2020 - Activities Assistant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the team members here

      Cons

      Some residents could be aggressive

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      DIning Services and Residential Hospitality

      Jul 1, 2020 - Food Service Worker in Dunwoody, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team Members work hard and go above beyond. Team work all the time!

      Cons

      Management issues in Dining Department and at the top

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Overall great company

      Aug 19, 2020 - Resident Care Coordinator in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoy working with residents and frontline team members

      Cons

      More regional and corporate management support needed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      They are a business, all about making money, not about the residents or team members

      Apr 21, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed some of the people I worked with but you had to be careful of who you trusted.

      Cons

      They care about making money and not about the care of the residents or the team members who work in the communities. It is a very different company than what it was when Paul and Terry started it.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team               

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great peers and residents.

      Apr 30, 2020 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team members I work with for the most part are great.

      Cons

      The management is all over the place

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sunrise Senior Living Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team                           

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sunrise Senior Living Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sunrise Senior Living? Share Your Experiences

    or