Sunstates Security Reviews | Glassdoor

Sunstates Security Reviews

Updated February 20, 2017
76 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Kathryn Burrell
36 Ratings

76 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Easy work, Decent Pay, New Patrol Management (in 4 reviews)

  • Sunstates is a great company to work for (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • There are no cons that I can think of (in 6 reviews)

  • not so great pay no pay raise at all (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great work environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunstates Security full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, great locations

    Cons

    No raises no matter how long in business

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees

    Sunstates Security Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Sales & Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for providing Sunstates Security with your review. We strive to offer competitive career opportunities and competitive wages to employees.


  2. "Site Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Supervisor in Breinigsville, PA
    Former Employee - Site Supervisor in Breinigsville, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunstates Security full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay on time, good upper management, company seemed to care about their employees

    Cons

    This was for a new contract, new site, so things were difficult getting started. Growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Keep treating employees like people and things will be good.


  3. "No "Glass Ceiling""

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Supervisor in Raleigh, NC
    Current Employee - Site Supervisor in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunstates Security (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I worked for another large security company in the past and since I've been with Sunstates I've been granted opportunities that I was not offered with the previous company. Within the seven years I've worked for Sunstates I've observed individuals being promoted based on hard work and drive. The company genuinely cares about it's employees, you're not just a number.

    Cons

    There used to be a manager that did not response to their employees and dropped the ball with payroll quite often. This issue has been corrected.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on the officers and show appreciation when you can. The officers really appreciate being recognized in the company newsletter.

    Sunstates Security Response

    Jan 23, 2017 – Sales & Marketing Coordinator

    Sunstates Security values the time you took to provide a review. We do provide many opportunities for advancement. We genuinely care about our employees and want the best for them. The Lancer ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Training/raises/Advancement/None!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunstates Security full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Aaron Anderson works for them.

    Cons

    Someone needs to remind the clients, they gave a job because there are guards to work at their sites, not the other way round, who keeps the sites Safe? Not the clients, not the Managers at SUNSTATES, the guards do, no respect no raises, no advancement, no training, someone has to stand by the guards really:( insurance is not really good, it's just what we get, good enough, like the pay, and raises, just barely enough.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more Aaron Anderson's, hopefully all your guards won't quit, till you do. Your 1-800 hit line don't call back :( what's the point?


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very enjoyable company to work for!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunstates Security full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This company appears to work very hard at keeping current contracts instead of the numbers game of acquiring more contracts than you lose. This concept keeps customers happy as well as increases employee retention. All of that makes for a more enjoyable and stable work place.

    Cons

    There aren't any cons that are Sunstates related but the industry has difficulties that are challenging. Pay is always going to be an issue. There is too much competition in the security industry so to win a bid includes paying employees a low wage.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to pay attention to the details. Follow through on ideas other than pay to make your employees feel appreciated.

    Sunstates Security Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – Sales & Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. Your comments provide us with valuable feedback we share with our management team. We strive to provide a positive and rewarding work environment.


  7. "Fantastic Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunstates Security full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company is always looking for ways to set us apart from other security companies.

    Cons

    Pay rates need to increase.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the trend to separate us from the other guys.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Supervisor in Raleigh, NC
    Former Employee - Security Supervisor in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunstates Security full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Customer oriented, and growing as a company.

    Cons

    Low pay, poor management, and doesn't put security first.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better Managers, and put more focus on security.

    Sunstates Security Response

    Dec 12, 2016 – Sales & Marketing Coordinator

    Sunstates Security values your feedback. We share each and every review with our management team so that we can improve.


  9. "First Security Job I've Ever Had"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunstates Security full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I've only been with this company a short while but it has been really great ever since I joined. I've had no problem fitting in and getting to know my coworkers and higher ups. My Account Manager, Curtis Degree hired me regardless of the fact that I had no prior security experience because he said he saw potential in me. The company promotes people from within so there is always plenty of room for advancement however, the pay is dependent on the client, but the minimum I've seen was $10.25 which I think is still great. My Operations Manager, Arielle Kinney, stops by from time to time to make sure everything is okay and always makes sure the Officers on site and I have everything we need and if we have any if questions or concerns. I recently spoke to a site captain from another site who told me he admires all the help I give to him and ensured me that whenever an opportunity for overtime comes up I will always be the first time he calls because he knows even though I work full time I'm always willing to help my other Officers in need. This company has really shown me that hard work really pays off and and showing some real initiative goes a long way.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons about SunStates Security considering the pay is determined by our clients but the pay is always competitive with other security companies anyways

    Advice to Management

    The only thing I can say to Management is thank you for the opportunity you have given me and allowing me to feel so comfortable and proud working for this company. So long as you continue to treat your employees and clients the way I have seen you treat them I am sure Sunstates as a company while strive for many years to come.

    Sunstates Security Response

    Nov 28, 2016 – Sales & Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for providing Sunstates Security with your review. We value the feedback of our employees. We strive to hire the best candidates who are looking for a bright future. Your feedback will be ... More


  10. "Pretty good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Officer
    Current Employee - Unarmed Security Officer
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunstates Security full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent money, Not to many patrols where I'm at but not like that everywhere, Health benefits.

    Cons

    Hard to take time off, Mangers are a pest sometimes, 1st is only available for supervisors.

    Advice to Management

    If someone call out don't chew up the supervisor if they cant find someone to cover its not there fault.

    Sunstates Security Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – Sales & Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for providing us with a review. Your comments will be shared with our management team.


  11. "A great place to start a security career!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Supervisor in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Site Supervisor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    During my time with Sunstates Security, I've noticed that management does an excellent job of finding the best candidates and providing a positive and professional atmosphere for the officers. Sunstates is a great company to start and finish a security career. The level of training that this company provides is top notch compared to other security companies I have worked for. There are ample opportunities for promotions and your hard work does not go unnoticed. Sunstates Security believes in their officers and wants to promote internally so that the business can grow organically. I admire the honesty and Integrity that this company shows it's employees and clients and I aspire to go far within this organization as it continues it's vision of success.

    Cons

    I have no cons for sunstates security

    Advice to Management

    Thank you to Ms. Arielle Kinney and Mr. Robert Boyd for always supporting our team and for providing us with opportunities to advance within a growing company.

    Sunstates Security Response

    Nov 15, 2016 – Sales & Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your genuine feedback. We value the time you took to provide us with a review. Our management team will receive your feedback. Thanks again!



Showing 76 of 77 reviews
Reset Filters