Supercell Reviews | Glassdoor

Supercell Reviews

Updated May 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ilkka Paananen
11 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "It sounds too good to be true. (but it is)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independence can be very empowering. What would you do if you could affect anything? Colleagues feel authentically motivated by the company culture, because it affects their day to day operations and they're continually empowered by it. I feel like my colleagues genuinely care for my well being, like we're in it together. With 5 offices, and the ability to travel to and meet colleagues of very different cultural...

    Show More

    Cons

    Independence can feel very scary. When nobody is telling you what to do, what would you do? The culture is so unlike most corporate structures that it can feel like you're in a foreign country for the first time. It requires a lot of reprogramming and buying into the mindset, which takes a lot of adjusting to the cultures that had influenced and incentivized previous behavior (at previous companies). Diversity...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue asking us for feedback in the many ways you already do. Stay transparent in your process. Remain unwavering promotion of this culture of ours and its day to day applications to our decision making process.

    Supercell2018-10-09

    Supercell Response

    January 23, 2019Recruitment Content

    Thank you for the elaborate text!

  2. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Programmer in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been here only for a few months, but it's just amazing. The company and it's culture and people are all amazing. One nice surprise for me was that all this positive reputation and PR Supercell has had is actually true.

    Cons

    Haven't found any cons yet. I guess there is a risk with that the bar for game quality is so high, that many of the projects you work on might get killed and never see daylight. But I find that positive myself.

    Supercell2019-05-02
  3. "Best Company for the proactive person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Game Artist in Helsinki, Southern Finland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time

    Pros

    Best care, best people, and a lot of interesting projects. And you can travel all over the world and meet so many fascinating people if you want.

    Cons

    Not about the company but Finland. The weather is ok, that's endurable. But the tax and living cost in Helsinki is really high. Your actual income will be much smaller than your expectation even though you receive a big bonus. That's my only one and very serious concern.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are doing super well!! But our company is getting bigger and bigger. We should prepare new culture and policy for the future.

    Supercell2019-04-09
  4. "Best one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shared Services in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supercell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work and get employed

    Cons

    Really sorry I don't know

    Advice to Management

    People will share when they are getting some thing like in clash of clans you provide gems then they will share the app

    Supercell2019-02-22
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Nothing comparable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Illustrator, Art Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can nitpick any professional situation, but in balance there’s no place like supercell for letting you succeed on your merits under your own initiative. In that sense it’s a dream opportunity. And in most other senses the company is just the best there is.

    Cons

    The difficulty with stunning success is trying to repeat and preserve it. It’s not a “con” really, but it is a lot to live up to.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to your principles. They work

    Supercell2018-11-05
  6. "Best place to work. Period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing: people, games, culture, offices, benefits, food, travel, offsites, challenges, lack of management and opportunities to make an impact.

    Cons

    The biggest downside is that the center of gravity of Supercell is in Helsinki (the headquarters and where most people are) and Helsinki is really far from San Francisco. The difference in time zones further complicates communication. The upside is that you can go to Helsinki as often as you want and could even stay for several months, but for people with families/kids/other obligations that's not always easy to do. ...

    Show More
    Supercell2018-10-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Best company and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company culture and management.. Supercell does a great job hiring humble, talented folks. This is a company where your ideas are valued and your hard work is recognized. Anything is possible!

    Cons

    If you ever leave the company, anywhere else would be a downgrade.

    Supercell2018-09-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Independence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly free to do the best work possible Tons of independence available CEO is very hands off...very rare and outstanding Small company feel

    Cons

    Independence comes with responsibility. Not a place for people who want a ton . of direction

    Advice to Management

    Keep the small company culture

    Supercell2018-09-25
  9. "Worked in the Arab Technical Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Algiers
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Supercell part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best Developer Games in Play Store

    Cons

    Delay in reply to the Conversation

    Advice to Management

    Keep the games clean and keep the magic on them as we used to

    Supercell2018-04-12
  10. "Mega Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell

    Pros

    Es ist Cool , und geil

    Cons

    Der Support dauert zu lange

    Advice to Management

    Das Support bearbeiten

    Supercell2017-11-01
Found 25 reviews