Supercuts "stylist" Reviews | Glassdoor

Supercuts Employee Reviews about "stylist"

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Supercuts CEO Hugh Sawyer
Hugh Sawyer
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "I started as a Stylist and was put through training to become more efficient(in 49 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule when fully staffed(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not every stylist want to live up to expectations(in 91 reviews)

  • "It is the sweatpants and an old tee shirt of haircuts(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "stylist"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like environment and plenty of room for growth.

    Cons

    Large Shortage of stylists everywhere.

    Supercuts2020-01-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Hair stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Supercuts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Consistent pay, no booth rent. Good to get your foot in the door after you graduate school.

    Cons

    Corporate needs to get it together. Aside from completing the process the second time around and alerting management I could not attend the classes. Never heard from management again. I did work for the first time around. It was okay. Just okay. I did have a mishap where my manager over scheduled me and I had to pay the state back. That was nice. Other than that the company is okay to work for but you were constantly stressed about corporate watching your every move and receiving calls or emails about work comps that day. I did end up working when I was in labor - didn’t know it. Lol. Corporate had send every stylist home but me and we just happened to get slammed the last FIVE HOURS OF WORK! So, no, unless you needed a job right then and there I would take it to get you by. But remember you have to stay 6 months with the company so as to not pay back the PAUL Mitchell classes.

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2019-12-17
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "They don’t care if your good, just fill shifts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I Can’t think Of any

    Cons

    You will be lied to manipulated have Disparaging comments made to stylist. Other workers are thief’s and drug addicts.

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2019-12-29
  5. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Aloha, OR

    I worked at Supercuts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to get commissions and was a job

    Cons

    Poor management who blamed stylists for slow business

    Supercuts2019-11-24
  6. "A good position for new stylists, depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supercuts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good start for new stylists, they teach you a lot of what you need to know for cuts, tips can be really good depending on the area and your skill level, if you get good managers and coworkers it can be very fun and a positive work environment, closed on some holidays

    Cons

    Not nearly enough training for color services, late nights (usually 9pm, you'll get out significantly later on busy nights), usually will have to work on the holidays that the store is open on because those are busy, some clients can be rude or impatient, little to no benefits, if store is understaffed you will be overworked (8-10 hour shifts, 6-7 days/week)

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2019-11-06
  7. "Chop shop haircuts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in Modesto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Supercuts part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tips, employee discounts on hair products, training.

    Cons

    Micromanaging, Have to cut at a fast speed leaving no room for detailed quality cuts, no room for stylist creativity, no chance to build self clientele.

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2019-09-13
  8. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercuts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, if you're trying to go back to school

    Cons

    High turn around, pay for stylist to be a little low

    Supercuts2019-08-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Always understaffed, min. $40 a day tips for evening shift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supercuts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Average 3-5 tips per person, good relationship w/ most co-workers, certain management would work with schedule, clients able to make same day appointment for specific times, guaranteed walk ins, had Christmas bonus ($25) and parties (employees came out of pocket for each other, not corporate), corporate sends anniversary cards with celebratory pins, extra training for supercuts way(must pass in order to work there)

    Cons

    Colors able to be booked even when no time or last minute including color corrections, highlights, etc. And you can't turn down any service until after closing time, working very late 9:00pm+, close by yourself, fast paced, hard on back, legs, and feet overtime, asks to work on days scheduled off constantly, worked 10+ days in a row while manager multiple times, understaffed, people calling off and not following protocol, pointless call conferences about salon # that were already established while working or days off, have to meet goals does not matter if salon is slow, retail sales, obvious favoritism, start is $8 for stylist $9 for assistant manager and $10 for salon manager. They do not give raises at all unless your position changes no matter how long you've been there. Only certain people get more money but your not supposed to talk about it amongst your coworkers.

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2019-09-11
  10. "STAY AWAY HAIRSTYLISTS !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sandy Springs, Fulton, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supercuts part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Haircutting gets better. Also they have great education.

    Cons

    The management leans toward favoritism of its own.If you're a stylist you get 0 support from upper level management. The pay sucks .The tips are decent to mediocre at best. If you want to be successful as a stylist ,go learn or assist a successful, talented, and fully booked artist .Usually they need assistance.You then can learn to develop a full book ,do beautiful hair ,and develop a business. Supercuts will use you,then burn you out to the point you'll want to leave the business without fulfilling your potential in this wonderful industry.DO NOT be sold on their commission structure.Even if you are busy ,by the time taxes hit,you'll be making PENNIES on the HOUR. If you do a color and great haircut,then you need to make a substantial amount off YOUR WORK! Just remember one plus one is two ALL DAY.Don't work for these MONEY hungry jerks . They LIE on practically EVERYTHING they tell you. School owners need to NOT ALLOW their students to be lured by these vultures !

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2019-08-27
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Mindless and demanding at the same time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Los Angeles, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Supercuts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid education, great practice for getting your cuts done quickly and efficiently.

    Cons

    Supercuts clients tend to be people that barely care about what's on their heads. It is the sweatpants and an old tee shirt of haircuts. People come to Supercuts for a bargain and those bargain-hunting people don't usually tip well. Supercuts more than any other place gave me clients who were demanding yet didn't tip AT ALL. Even when they are priced the same as all surrounding shops, that element is still drawn to Supercuts like flies to you-know-what. Haircuts must be done in about 20 minutes and if your average time is anything over that, you will be reprimanded. Spending 30 minutes per client is a no-no. Monthly reviews bring up your timing and it doesn't matter how good a stylist you are- if you are taking more than the alotted 20 minutes to perform a cut, you are getting spoken to. Also, they have a very specific way that they expect you to cut hair. Interestingly, it is not the most efficient way to cut nor the best way to get attractive results, yet, this inefficient, clunky method is how you are expected to cut quickly and smoothly. This may or not be important to you, but the music there is ABYSMAL and is the number one motivation I HAD to get up and to get a change in salon jobs as I became convinced that the music they played was meant to make you stupid. If music is in any way important to you, DO NOT WORK AT SUPERCUTS. Trust me.

    Continue reading
    Supercuts2019-05-18
Found 123 reviews