Superdrug Reviews | Glassdoor

Superdrug Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 600 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug CEO Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
207 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "have to upsell "star buys" at the till constantly- get no reward or recognition for doing so(in 32 reviews)

  • "It was minimum wage, selling tampons(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in North Wales, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time

    Pros

    Seeing familiar faces of customers who regularly come in. Some members of staff are really nice to work with there

    Cons

    BULLY tactics from all angles. No support whatsoever. Absolutely no thank you for hard work, the praise seems to go to the ones who are work shy but can talk the talk when challenged. Unfair expectations. Managers have an AWFUL and unfair attitude towards their staff, beyond unprofessional. Going home in tears , VERY degrading and uncomfortable place to work. Made to feel at fault for everything that goes wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Stop bullying and harassing your staff. When seeking advice from HR even they don’t help you. You literally have no support. Train your management how to treat people better rather than use bullying and intimidating behaviour!!

    Superdrug2017-12-10
  2. "Ok for part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Generally a friendly place to work -Decent staff discount and also for family/friends -Shifts were short (4hrs) which suited me as a student -Perks like staff competitions/prize draws (I won a few vouchers and hampers) -Was fun around Christmas time when employees would dress up etc. -Some overtime available if needed -I enjoyed serving regular customers who would recognise me and have a... chat -Opportunities to work your way up if that's what you wanted -Recognition for hitting sales targets/selling lots of Star Buys etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    -I was always the youngest employee in the store during my two years at Superdrug (started when I was 16) so I was often treated differently because of my age even though I felt more mature than half of the people I worked with - Working on New Year's Day (not every Superdrug is open but mine was) - we were the only shop on the street that was open so there were little to no customers all day - Managers changing... my shifts without informing me then wondering why I wasn't at work -Pay is low and there are no bonuses, even when working bank holidays -Could get quite boring, particularly on Sundays when the shop was quiet -Managers definitely had their favourites and would let them get away with things like not wearing the correct uniform etc. - something I would get told off for if I did the same -Had to ask customers an excessive amount of questions at the till which did not always go down well

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees equally and advise employees as soon as possible about changes to shifts.

    Superdrug2019-09-18
  3. "Great organisation to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Supply Chain in Croydon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Forward thinking; strong people team with focus on engagement; part of a group with Global reach; solid but lean structure allows for fast and efficient communication

    Cons

    Its tough on the High Street!

    Superdrug2019-09-13
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Epsom, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment with the people I worked with, I really liked the products I was selling.

    Cons

    Can be difficult because of the requirements to sell loyalty cards and starbuys. It sometimes gets stressful.

    Superdrug2019-09-12
  5. "Good job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fragrance Adviser in Woking, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Started off with a good manager Easy interview Fun place to work 10% discount on everything 30% off own brand products

    Cons

    Low pay rate Customers Got a new manager who picked on me so i ended up leaving

    Superdrug2019-09-10
  6. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive energy during working hours.

    Cons

    Difficult customers at the tills.

    Advice to Management

    Care better for well-being of workers.

    Superdrug2019-09-07
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very positive place to work

    Cons

    Very demanding from a manager point of view

    Superdrug2019-09-08
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    Fun, easy, good music played in the background

    Cons

    could get really stressful at points

    Superdrug2019-09-07
  9. "Good for Part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short shifts for a student with friendly management.

    Cons

    A lot of importance on selling the loyalty card and star buys can get tiring.

    Superdrug2019-09-19
  10. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    Overtime , colleagues, shift , basic pay, recognition

    Cons

    Management , pay rise, lack of growth

    Superdrug2019-08-29
Found 600 reviews