Superdrug Sales Adviser Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Adviser

Superdrug Sales Adviser Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug CEO Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
10 Ratings
  1. "October"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisers 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People I work with weekly

    Cons

    Pay as would like more

    Superdrug2019-09-15
  2. "Low salary, no sick pay, fair staff discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule (if previously agreed with manager) and 10% staff discount on branded products

    Cons

    If you sign-up for an 8 hrs contract and end up working 35 hrs a week you will get the pension contribution only for 8 hrs. Low salary, no sick pay, air-con/ heating frequently not working so you end up working in a freezer or in hell. Entrance door is always open even when snowing, which cause staff to gest ill and significant waste of energy when the heating is on (really bad for the environment). You are forced... to stress the customer by asking them repeatedly "can I help you?" and then you have to deal with the complaint because the customer doesn't want you to help them, they just want to do their shopping without anyone stressing them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should be ashamed!

    Superdrug2019-09-18
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales Adviser 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug

    Pros

    Staff are nice depending on store, make true friends, not a hard job. Discount good

    Cons

    Too much to sell, customers getting annoyed for us having to sell things to them, threatened if we don’t

    Superdrug2019-08-22
  5. "Absolute pishflaps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug for more than a year

    Pros

    Great first job Staff discount is pretty good (30% off own brand, 10% off branded products) Get on well with current staff

    Cons

    Can be incredibly stressful Given 100 jobs at a time and expected to complete them all in an unmanageable time Made to push star buy sales and superdrug cards and sim cards (everybodys on a contract nowadays stop tryna be like tesco sis)

    Superdrug2019-04-29
  6. "You need to have a good physical conditioning..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - nice enviroment... I made friends there - the manager was supportive and always tried to make everyone happy with the job (unfortunately he left) - If you are a hard worker and reliable person, you probably can grow in the company - the shifts were flexible

    Cons

    - long hours standing, short breaks, physically exhausting - most of the work is to ensure that customers do not steal products - I could not leave my aisle unless someone came to cover me (not even to go to the toilet). The problem is that there were never enough people to coveryou. -You have to approach people who are stealing and calling management, which I consider not safe. They should hire trained security... guards. - The new manager was very rude.

    Show More
    Superdrug2018-10-29
  7. "Don’t work here if you value your sanity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    Average discount Flexible hours Alright pay - nothing amazing but it’s okay

    Cons

    Too many unrealistic goals for sales advisers who effectively have no power. We are expected to be the ones to push starbuys, SIM cards and perfumes and are the ones to blame when the goal is not met. I’m terms of starbuys all stores are compared to each other without consideration of store size, location, proximity to customers etc.

    Advice to Management

    Realise that sales advisers aren’t the reason why you aren’t selling perfumes and in fact no one wants to buy it. For example, if some comes in to spend £2 on deodorant they’re not going to want to spend an additional £30 unexpectedly at the till for perfume. LOGIC!! SIM cards- biggest waste of an investment that the company will never get back when most are already on contract also you’re not going to get... customers who are going to change their entire phone plan on the spot! Bare in mind we expected to sell 1 per shift. Health and beauty cards- don’t be so arsey about registering so many when you claim it to be the 4th biggest loyalty scheme in the uk and most people who I serve either have one or are extremely disinterested. Overall, sort it out huns x

    Show More
    Superdrug2018-09-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Okay for a part time job but not the nicest atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount. The product range, Superdrug's own brand is cruelty free. Get to know regular customers. Decent pay and as a part time job whilst at university.

    Cons

    Discount for branded items same and sometimes less than student discount. The unrealistic push for beautycard and starbuy sales to a small store with regular customers and tourists, the regulars either have them already or don't want them and unless it is treat Thursday there is no benefit for tourists with beautycards. Often the ridiculous amount of questions you have to ask at the till will get in the way of... you providing good customer service, many times customers think you are stupid (and some have verbalised that exactly) because you are offering a bag when they are packing one already but you have to because you get marked down on your mystery shop. It is uncomfortable to be on the shop floor as even when doing nothing wrong you are watched the entire time, out of nowhere a team leader will pop up to tell you where you could have sold a star buy in a transaction etc which was quite stressful for an anxious person. Although sometimes nice, the managers and team leaders would be very catty, often talking about colleagues to other staff members. On a few occasions my manager would make inappropriate remarks about my weight, hobbies, and styles passed off as banter but was not his place to say. High turnover of staff, by the end of my two years at Superdrug I was the longest remaining member including managers etc. Staff would randomly leave with no notice and no chance to say goodbye even managers. Short 4 hour contracts meaning some weeks you work 24 hours or so and the next you're down to your minimum 4 hours so you cannot guarantee how much you will make each month. The 28 hour weeks would often mean working 4/6 hours a day so it will take up most of your week but also not be a lot of hours at the same time. Between your 4 hour shifts changes would be made to the shop or procedures and you would not be told about them before you made a mistake and told off for it. Customers rude about the employees at Superdrug being thick despite the majority at my store were working whilst studying for degrees or masters. Inappropriate comments or gestures meaning that no skirts no matter the length could be worn and nothing tight fitting even though they were not inappropriate for work. Although this was not the company, it was the employees that had to change their outfits instead of the company dealing with the customers. I understand that retail has moments like these and it is just part of the job but 'the customer is always right' has been used against us so many times with customers being incredibly rude and personal to a member of staff but you have to grin and bear it, you cannot even politely refuse what they are saying. Staff search every time you leave the building. Although I get the company want to limit shrinkage, every single time you leave the store your shoes, pockets, and bag would be searched, it was almost as if they were accusing you. Any item sold at Superdrug including ladies' sanitary items would need to be individulally signed meaning many awkward moments with my male manager. It feels like the senior team members do not have trust in their employees. Dual control things like banking and safe checks had to be done by two people, often though the managers had access to the safe etc and would do these alone anyway. Many times I had issues taking my holiday, I gave plenty of weeks notice and filled in the correct form but would not be given holiday due to staff shortage or any other reason. Managers would make you feel very guilty for even asking for the time off even though you were using your holiday hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on good customer service instead of ramming beautycards and starbuys down people's throats. If a customer wants an item they will buy it and with friendly staff sales will come naturally. There is the addition of SIM cards now too meaning you have to ask for 5p bag, points card, starbuys, and SIM card during a transaction where many customers have simply come in for some cough sweets or pack of tissues, want... to leave the store quickly and smoothly but become stressed out from all the questions.

    Show More
    Superdrug2018-08-17
  9. "Sales adviser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Adviser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and manager, Good money and benefits. Superdrug always smells nice and looks nice.

    Cons

    You basically do the same thing everytime you have a shift which can get really repetitive for a year

    Superdrug2018-06-21
  10. "Great fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in Rochdale, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Made some fantastic friends over the years,good teams .

    Cons

    All the active selling

    Advice to Management

    Store managers brill . Arear managers (well one )need people skills and speak to staff themselves instead of taking managers word.

    Superdrug2018-03-07
  11. "Cashier at Victoria Station in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    30% discount on Superdrug label products and 10% discount on brands, even if that product is already discounted. Nothing else.

    Cons

    Very repetitive job. All day scanning items, pushing fidelity cards and perfumes on sale (without any rewards, just the glory). 8 hours with included 30 min of paid break, but too often was asked me to stay longer or to work on a day I was supposed to be off. Very small stockroom where having the break sit on a dirty stair

    Advice to Management

    Better working conditions and more rewards in order to stimulate the employees

    Superdrug2017-10-28
Found 17 reviews