Superdrug Sales Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Superdrug Sales Advisor Reviews

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug CEO Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
39 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time

    Pros

    2x 30 min breaks besides that there is no other pros

    Cons

    Bad hours Management were bullies Rate of pay was terrible compared to competitors

    Advice to Management

    I honestly think to stop being so nasty to their staff and really need to start changing because the amount of people that wants to leave their job because of them is unreal

    Superdrug2019-08-20
  2. "Friends for life - Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, amazing fellow colleagues, overtime always available

    Cons

    Poor management that get overwhelmed and take it out on the staff, unfair shift patterns, unreasonable shifts over contracted hours

    Advice to Management

    Don’t expect people to be able to work they hours you’ve given them when it’s beyond what they’re contracted to do, too many people trying to manage at once leads to very confusing work environment

    Superdrug2019-07-24
  3. "Amazing workplace and people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    10% off branded products and 30% off the Superdug ones. Very friendly collegues and managers. They understand your needs.

    Cons

    Really busy store especially if it is central.

    Superdrug2019-06-17
  4. "Decent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good staff discount - easy work

    Cons

    - won’t give extra hours - pay not great

    Superdrug2019-06-23
  5. "It’s a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great way to develop communication skills

    Cons

    The perks that come with the job are limited

    Superdrug2019-05-28
  6. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good starter job, and it is very flexible.

    Cons

    Treated like child, and lack of communication.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a bridge between the gap of employees and leadership

    Superdrug2019-05-07
  7. "Friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    team work is encouraged great discount

    Cons

    stressful shifts contracts are often few hours

    Superdrug2019-03-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    30% discount on own brand products, 10% other.

    Cons

    Extreme pressure to sell Star Buys, Beauty Cards and Sim Cards with next to no training. I had to hunt down my staff discount card or this wasn't going to be issued to me. I was not given access to the online 'Hub' called 'The Edge' for further training and development. This meant that my product knowledge was limited due to lack of proper training. I had quite a few issues with the management in the store I worked... at and because I had no access to their 'Hub', I had to locate the number for HR and Head Office myself. This ended up costing me, £16+ in phone call charges because their offices are 0843 numbers which are not included in most phone plans. Management do not care about staff or customers for that matter. I have never worked anywhere where the customer was not the sole focus and service was not a priority. Some of the interactions I had witnessed between management and customers often made me cringe. I experienced a very clicky environment as a new staff member and also bullying. I loved shopping at Superdrug as a customer and was full of enthusiasm to start the role, this was shot down in flames at every opportunity and no encouragement or praise was offered. Management have no idea what they are doing and are very incompetent in all aspects of the job. Some of the offers are confusing to customers because of how they are worded. I was left on my own on the shop floor multiple times, while other staff members chatted in the back. You are required to stop and conduct a full body search for any suspected thieves, all for minimum wage. I have never worked anywhere so bad in my life and if you don't thrive in a negative, high pressure and competitive environment, with a poor wage packet and employee benefits then you will thrive. However, if you do actually care about people and customers, then this is not the place for you. Staff facilities are awful, filthy staff room and toilets that never get cleaned. Not allowed out on 15 minute break. Can't write notes on receipt paper due to 'shrinkage'. Expected to work 10 minutes prior to shift, without being paid, to act as a witness to 'count the safe'. Never taken off the shop floor when your shift is finished, left to serve customers while other staff members stand around talking and doing nothing. No consideration for the fact you're not getting paid and you might actually have a life outside of Superdrug. Management visibly disgruntled when they are summoned out of the office to actually do their job and issue a refund or exchange to customers. As a Sales Advisor you are not able to void anything over £5 or given any responsibility, resulting in queues and unhappy customers etc. Continuously searched after every shift, no trust is put in you as an employee. The list goes on...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who actually care about their staff and customers. Create a positive environment where staff feel supported and encouraged to do well. Allow employees access to benefits and facilities they should have access to. Stop being so money hungry and focus on service, the sales with follow. Stop putting so much pressure on staff to sell sell sell, they are already trying their best, you offer no commission and... unfortunately you can't force people to buy things. By constantly pressuring staff to sell to customers, the customers become annoyed and it builds mistrust. Have trust in your staff and stop making them feel like thieves. Give staff adequate sales training and stop setting unachievable goals.

    Show More
    Superdrug2019-04-24
  9. "Decent for students and first time workers but not as much everyone else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Ilford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usually a good team that supports you Even paced work flow Just pleasant to work at Good hours and my manager is nice so far.

    Cons

    Low wage - especially for areas like London where everything costs more and the living wage is £10.20 (approx) You have to up-sell to every customer at the tills whether you want to or not and it makes interactions tense and uncomfortable. It also makes customers not want to come back because such blatant clunky up-selling makes the company seem untrustworthy and desperate. My job should be to help customers and... occasionally show them some offers and up-sell when relevant. Not many people want the sim cards, truthfully. The perfume offers do work however, but there should be some kind of commission for the workers, considering the pay is low. The tills are problematic and you can't do anything without needing a manager to sign it off, e.g. even for cancelling a single item in transaction, problems arise, a manager is needed and they can only cancel the entire transaction list. There are always deals on and it's hard to keep track of, so much so that the customers often pick something thinking it is on sale because the label suggests so to find out the label is old and the deal was last month. It's clean there's too much going on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow sales advisors to upsell only thewhen they feel it would help the customers and not just fit a quota. This constant"do you want our aim? Do you want out star buys" makes superdrug look untrustworthy.

    Superdrug2019-03-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wage isn't bad for a 16-year-old Lovely colleagues Good discount Only 4 hour shifts

    Cons

    High expectations (expected me to keep an eye on the till whilst sorting out stock and not being allowed to help customers if they asked... but not allowed to 'pass the buck' either Sometimes quite boring shifts

    Superdrug2019-03-05
Found 121 reviews