Superdrug Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Superdrug Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug CEO Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
19 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customer interaction responsibility Communication skills friendly interact with different people

    Cons

    Long hours need more training better contracts support for staff better management

    Advice to Management

    More training for staff

    Superdrug2019-09-21
  2. "Poor organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with

    Cons

    The pay is not worth the amount of work that needs to be done. We get so much pressure to register beautycards and we have to sell sims everyday. We also had to do questionnaires on a regular about health/safety, customer service and how to keep the shop clean and tidy. They were fairly easy but they could take a while to do. This is the least paying job I've had with the most responsibility. Our manager would... also pressure us to do a lot over time.

    Show More
    Superdrug2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Loved my colleagues but hated managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    made good friends. nothing else.

    Cons

    might as well of not bothered with the discount and unrealistic targets, which added unwanted pressure. I dreaded going to work everyday!

    Superdrug2019-08-27
  4. "Not so bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff where I was at, wasn’t bad

    Cons

    Long hours. So less pay. Always talking about star buys

    Superdrug2019-08-09
  5. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great hours, friendly staff and nice place to work

    Cons

    Sometimes can be overwhelmed with the amount of work

    Superdrug2019-07-27
  6. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Leicester, England

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Filled with nice people

    Cons

    Sometimes gets tooo busy where we don’t have enough staff in

    Superdrug2019-06-22
  7. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    amazing face to face customer experience great staff and team helps improve confidence

    Cons

    Better pay and better management regarding breaks

    Superdrug2019-06-18
  8. "Was alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good discounts 10% of most things 30% off others

    Cons

    Long hours short brakes, boring at times

    Superdrug2019-06-12
  9. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed the discount and the other weekend girls I worked with were lovely

    Cons

    Both managers had little to no empathy, especially as a student full time at college, they’d get very frustrated if I ever couldn’t work overtime or particular dates outside of my contract, and would put me in for shifts anyway despite having exams. Expected me to put my education after work. They never listened to others who would specifically ask for holiday and give them shifts anyway. Worse of all I was never... late, never off sick, I missed 1 shift by mistake since i wrote the wrong date down, and got dismissed immediately, without any warning, and with literally no attempt to understand. The managers were completely unsupportive and yet expected their young employees especially to be at their beckoned call. Hire an abundance of young people and yet expect them to never make any mistakes. If you want a team of students and teenagers, at least gain a bit of empathy instead of treating them as if they are tools. They are human beings. Completely backwards approach.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your young employees like human beings. You can’t hire students and expect to them to dedicate everything they have to the company, as well as be faultless employees. Everyone makes mistakes. Have a bit of empathy. And perhaps if you actually try to connect to your employees, they’ll actually have some kind of trust in you if they’re struggling and run into an issue.

    Superdrug2019-06-22
  10. "Can be good can be bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Rugby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely sales assistant colleagues. Some what relaxed uniforms. Okay pay. Good discounts.

    Cons

    Consistency of management varies. Lack of support when starting out with minimal training. Breaks are too short for a job where you are on your feet constantly. Minimal rewarding for delivery shift workers. Some managers ignore personal issues such as social anxiety and can be exceedingly dismissive of such things. Harsh attendance policies.

    Superdrug2019-05-14
Found 74 reviews