Superdrug "good discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Superdrug Employee Reviews about "good discount"

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 612 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug CEO Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
216 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "have to upsell "star buys" at the till constantly- get no reward or recognition for doing so(in 34 reviews)

  • "Long hours, hard to maintain work/life balance(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Superdrug is a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Apprentice in Gainsborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours friendly staff and good discount

    Cons

    can get a bit repetitive

    Superdrug2019-09-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Low Hour Contracts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    Working with a lot of brands and gaining a lot of knowledge. Good discount. You can progress quickly

    Cons

    Low Hour Contracts 12 hrs per week for a Team Lead. Much too much work to get done in the 12 hours so extra unpaid hours are usually required to get duties finished. Management expect you to stay after your shift if they are busy, which is all unpaid time which adds up.

    Advice to Management

    Don't expect people to work for free

    Superdrug2019-09-01
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Friends for life - Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, amazing fellow colleagues, overtime always available

    Cons

    Poor management that get overwhelmed and take it out on the staff, unfair shift patterns, unreasonable shifts over contracted hours

    Advice to Management

    Don’t expect people to be able to work they hours you’ve given them when it’s beyond what they’re contracted to do, too many people trying to manage at once leads to very confusing work environment

    Superdrug2019-07-24
  5. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    -good discount - is a nice very easy job for students or people who it's their first job

    Cons

    - like to brainwash their staff into thinking they're part of something great -was poor pay -have to upsell "star buys" at the till constantly- get no reward or recognition for doing so - targets of beauty cards to register not always easy to do -cutting hours to the extreme- nothing ever gets done

    Advice to Management

    More hours and a small incentive for beautycards/starbuys Superdrug always try and make you push people to sign up to the 'beautycard' for customer loyalty, but when will they realise its only when they make the beautycard as good as boots people will want it

    Superdrug2019-04-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wage isn't bad for a 16-year-old Lovely colleagues Good discount Only 4 hour shifts

    Cons

    High expectations (expected me to keep an eye on the till whilst sorting out stock and not being allowed to help customers if they asked... but not allowed to 'pass the buck' either Sometimes quite boring shifts

    Superdrug2019-03-05
  7. "Okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    Good discount Friendly staff

    Cons

    Constantly on your feet Put under a lot of pressure from management to achieve targets

    Superdrug2018-11-08
  8. "Superdrug"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Shepherds Bush, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount for own brand and exclusive products, 30% off only 10% on regular branded relatively flexible

    Cons

    High demanding tasks, ask a lot of the staff have to meet daily sales and task targets and expect a lot from staff on low wages 20 y/o sales advisor wage £6.42 20 y/o team leader wage £8.60

    Superdrug2018-10-17
  9. "Good at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can choose your own shifts Employees were lovely and inviting Good discount

    Cons

    Poor pay Some members of management do not care Lack of overtime Frequently understaffed Put you down for shifts you didn’t agree to

    Superdrug2018-09-22
  10. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work! Good fun, good discount. Accommodated my move to and from Scotland.

    Cons

    I was unable to get a full-time contract and the store manager refused flexibility to allow me to get a second part time job.

    Advice to Management

    Utilise productive and loyal staff, recognise by increasing pay regularly and provide full time contracts to middle management!

    Superdrug2018-08-15
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Okay for a part time job but not the nicest atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount. The product range, Superdrug's own brand is cruelty free. Get to know regular customers. Decent pay and as a part time job whilst at university.

    Cons

    Discount for branded items same and sometimes less than student discount. The unrealistic push for beautycard and starbuy sales to a small store with regular customers and tourists, the regulars either have them already or don't want them and unless it is treat Thursday there is no benefit for tourists with beautycards. Often the ridiculous amount of questions you have to ask at the till will get in the way of... you providing good customer service, many times customers think you are stupid (and some have verbalised that exactly) because you are offering a bag when they are packing one already but you have to because you get marked down on your mystery shop. It is uncomfortable to be on the shop floor as even when doing nothing wrong you are watched the entire time, out of nowhere a team leader will pop up to tell you where you could have sold a star buy in a transaction etc which was quite stressful for an anxious person. Although sometimes nice, the managers and team leaders would be very catty, often talking about colleagues to other staff members. On a few occasions my manager would make inappropriate remarks about my weight, hobbies, and styles passed off as banter but was not his place to say. High turnover of staff, by the end of my two years at Superdrug I was the longest remaining member including managers etc. Staff would randomly leave with no notice and no chance to say goodbye even managers. Short 4 hour contracts meaning some weeks you work 24 hours or so and the next you're down to your minimum 4 hours so you cannot guarantee how much you will make each month. The 28 hour weeks would often mean working 4/6 hours a day so it will take up most of your week but also not be a lot of hours at the same time. Between your 4 hour shifts changes would be made to the shop or procedures and you would not be told about them before you made a mistake and told off for it. Customers rude about the employees at Superdrug being thick despite the majority at my store were working whilst studying for degrees or masters. Inappropriate comments or gestures meaning that no skirts no matter the length could be worn and nothing tight fitting even though they were not inappropriate for work. Although this was not the company, it was the employees that had to change their outfits instead of the company dealing with the customers. I understand that retail has moments like these and it is just part of the job but 'the customer is always right' has been used against us so many times with customers being incredibly rude and personal to a member of staff but you have to grin and bear it, you cannot even politely refuse what they are saying. Staff search every time you leave the building. Although I get the company want to limit shrinkage, every single time you leave the store your shoes, pockets, and bag would be searched, it was almost as if they were accusing you. Any item sold at Superdrug including ladies' sanitary items would need to be individulally signed meaning many awkward moments with my male manager. It feels like the senior team members do not have trust in their employees. Dual control things like banking and safe checks had to be done by two people, often though the managers had access to the safe etc and would do these alone anyway. Many times I had issues taking my holiday, I gave plenty of weeks notice and filled in the correct form but would not be given holiday due to staff shortage or any other reason. Managers would make you feel very guilty for even asking for the time off even though you were using your holiday hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on good customer service instead of ramming beautycards and starbuys down people's throats. If a customer wants an item they will buy it and with friendly staff sales will come naturally. There is the addition of SIM cards now too meaning you have to ask for 5p bag, points card, starbuys, and SIM card during a transaction where many customers have simply come in for some cough sweets or pack of tissues, want... to leave the store quickly and smoothly but become stressed out from all the questions.

    Show More
    Superdrug2018-08-17
Found 612 reviews