Cover image for Superdrug
Logo

Superdrug

Engaged Employer

Superdrug

Add a Review

Superdrug Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Dec 2, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,791 of over 2K reviews
3.2
49% Recommend to a Friend
Superdrug Managing Director Peter Macnab
61% Approve of CEO

Found 108 of over 2K reviews

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug Managing Director Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
639 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Some friendly staff that share the exact same views because the issues are so bad!(in 125 reviews)
  • "Great people and lots of fun to be had.(in 83 reviews)
  • "The team are friendly and that helps your shift go quicker and the discount is ok I guess.(in 63 reviews)
  • "Good training and office.(in 31 reviews)
  • "Discount and benefits are good(in 25 reviews)
Cons
  • "Pay is low in comparison to many other companies in London (20% less than average unless you are at a senior level)(in 148 reviews)
  • "management is poor(in 136 reviews)
  • "Long hours and sometimes long(in 80 reviews)
  • "Lieing and rude managers(in 80 reviews)
  • "The management are under so much pressure that they take this out on staff members under them.(in 39 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Store manager

    Apr 12, 2022 - Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff discount Good training opportunities Chance to progress

    Cons

    Very long hours of working High demands from Store managers to meet targets etc unfortunately this means the demands filter through to the staff which I personally believe means the expectations from staff are too high.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Amazing

    Feb 9, 2022 - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    loved working there with an amazing team

    Cons

    long hours required to get the job done

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Superdrug team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Superdrug review

    May 4, 2021 - Fragrance Advisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some good benefits, opportunities for commissions and progression too

    Cons

    Long and demanding hours sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Dec 2, 2021 - Retail Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Enjoyed it & the people

    Cons

    Long hours and sometimes long

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Good

    May 30, 2019 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount is very good and staff

    Cons

    Long hours in Christmas period

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    avoid this company at all costs

    Apr 27, 2016 - Retail Store Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lovely people, okay discount with a twist of some good days

    Cons

    -long hours contracted to 39 and not paid any overtime -racist managers -workplace bullying -lack of training for new managers -high staff turnover -favoritism

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Underpaid v Market Rate

    Apr 23, 2022 - Assistant Marketing Manager in Croydon, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My team’s I worked in were great and the head office nice. Social and friendly people on the whole. Everyone left at 5.30pm everyday when we were in the office so it’s not long hours.

    Cons

    You are massively underpaid v market rate. They only pay 10% pay increase when you get promoted up a band which means your even more underpaid. Since leaving I’ve realised how much more you earn at other companies in comparison which is actually in line with the market. Also very little room for progression unless someone leaves.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Don’t recommend

    Oct 14, 2020 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people that I worked with

    Cons

    Long hours unpaid No respect from higher managers No trust from the company Bad pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good and friendly place to work. Gain customer service experience

    Oct 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    discount salary general job customers fun place

    Cons

    tiring and long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to work

    Aug 21, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company morale, fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Poor management. Long hours and underappreciated

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 108 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Superdrug Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Superdrug? Share Your Experiences

Superdrug logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Superdrug Photos

+ Add Photo
Superdrug photo of: Ready to serve customers!
Superdrug photo of: We love our suppliers!
Superdrug photo of: One of our Nail Technicians giving that Superdrug Feeling!
Superdrug photo of: Life at Head Office Croydon
Superdrug photo of: One of our apprentices at the Apprenticeship Awards
Superdrug photo of: We support Marie Curie as our charity partner
Superdrug photo of: Our new Wellbeing stores
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Savers Health and BeautyThe Perfume Shop

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Superdrug Job Seekers Also Viewed

Boots Logo
Boots

3.5

6,404 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,801 Superdrug reviews submitted anonymously by Superdrug employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Superdrug is right for you.