Superdrug "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Superdrug Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug CEO Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
216 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "have to upsell "star buys" at the till constantly- get no reward or recognition for doing so(in 34 reviews)

  • "Long hours, hard to maintain work/life balance(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ok for part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Generally a friendly place to work -Decent staff discount and also for family/friends -Shifts were short (4hrs) which suited me as a student -Perks like staff competitions/prize draws (I won a few vouchers and hampers) -Was fun around Christmas time when employees would dress up etc. -Some overtime available if needed -I enjoyed serving regular customers who would recognise me and have a... chat -Opportunities to work your way up if that's what you wanted -Recognition for hitting sales targets/selling lots of Star Buys etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    -I was always the youngest employee in the store during my two years at Superdrug (started when I was 16) so I was often treated differently because of my age even though I felt more mature than half of the people I worked with - Working on New Year's Day (not every Superdrug is open but mine was) - we were the only shop on the street that was open so there were little to no customers all day - Managers changing... my shifts without informing me then wondering why I wasn't at work -Pay is low and there are no bonuses, even when working bank holidays -Could get quite boring, particularly on Sundays when the shop was quiet -Managers definitely had their favourites and would let them get away with things like not wearing the correct uniform etc. - something I would get told off for if I did the same -Had to ask customers an excessive amount of questions at the till which did not always go down well

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees equally and advise employees as soon as possible about changes to shifts.

    Superdrug2019-09-18
  2. "Great student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate 

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly team. Sense of belonging. Staff discount.

    Cons

    All earnings can be easily spent in store.

    Superdrug2019-08-30
  3. "An average retail experience, wouldn't recommend to for a long-term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    30% staff discount off super drug exclusives

    Cons

    management do not care about their staff, underpaid

    Superdrug2019-09-05
  4. "Low salary, no sick pay, fair staff discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Adviser in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule (if previously agreed with manager) and 10% staff discount on branded products

    Cons

    If you sign-up for an 8 hrs contract and end up working 35 hrs a week you will get the pension contribution only for 8 hrs. Low salary, no sick pay, air-con/ heating frequently not working so you end up working in a freezer or in hell. Entrance door is always open even when snowing, which cause staff to gest ill and significant waste of energy when the heating is on (really bad for the environment). You are forced... to stress the customer by asking them repeatedly "can I help you?" and then you have to deal with the complaint because the customer doesn't want you to help them, they just want to do their shopping without anyone stressing them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should be ashamed!

    Superdrug2019-09-18
  5. "Rubbish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Stratford, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only thing is the staff discount

    Cons

    Workplace politics, irregular shift rotas

    Superdrug2019-09-15
  6. "Well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount and competition opportunities

    Cons

    Made to push beautycards & starbuys too much

    Superdrug2019-08-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Just don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Superdrug full-time

    Pros

    10% staff discount or 30% on Superdrug brand

    Cons

    You will be forced by your area manager to work at least 55 hours per week with no extra pay and no lieu time. Also 12 hours shifts with half an hour break and if you try to argue that they will laugh at you as most managers don't even take this half an hour. You will have no life and be constantly exhausted and depressed Area managers also bullying and if you haven't been in the company for decades you will be... discriminated

    Show More
    Superdrug2019-08-16
  8. "Decent workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good staff discount - easy work

    Cons

    - won’t give extra hours - pay not great

    Superdrug2019-06-23
  9. "Don’t bother."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant in Harlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount card Flexible hours

    Cons

    Everything else. Especially pay rate

    Advice to Management

    Don’t blame staff for things they haven’t done. Pay your staff more.

    Superdrug2019-07-02
  10. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    Work as part of a friendly team, good staff discount and benefits, flexible hours, recognition for achievements

    Cons

    No cons that really stand out, was disappointed to leave the company when I had to move back to University and was unable to transfer stores

    Superdrug2019-05-15
Found 614 reviews