Supermacs Reviews | Glassdoor

Supermacs Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Supermacs CEO Pat McDonagh
Pat McDonagh
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good atmosphere, flexible hours in my case(in 10 reviews)

  • "(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Night shifts are always awful, dealing with drunks and the strange people out at that time(in 7 reviews)

  • "Unsociable hours - Often finish at 5/6am on busy times in late-opening stores(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship in Galway
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs for less than a year

    Pros

    Just completed my college placement with Supermacs where I worked alongside their marketing team! I could not have asked for a better experience working alongside the most talented team! Throughout my time working here i was given countless opportunities to experience all areas of the business ! I learned numerous lifelong skills whilst meeting some of the most knowledgeable, friendly people along the way ! If you are...

    Show More

    Cons

    Having to go back to college and having to say goodbye after an amazing couple of months can be a big shock and adjustment however there is always the opportunity to further your career with Supermacs which is what makes this company an excellent place providing the opportunity to continuously grow and further advance in your career !

    Supermacs2019-08-21
  2. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time

    Pros

    Good team, good food

    Cons

    Long hours, pressures on managers

    Supermacs2019-08-12
  3. "Great Place & Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked here for 4 years during college. It has kept me in funds and flexible attitude. Couldn’t say anything bad about the place, I have learned a lot and made good friends

    Cons

    The odd idiot in from time to time

    Advice to Management

    all good

    Supermacs2019-07-14
  4. "Enjoyable but physically demanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Member in Limerick, Limerick
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Simple procedures with good chance of promotion

    Cons

    Physically draining and constant heat

    Advice to Management

    Closer involvement in staff development

    Supermacs2019-07-12
  5. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always have lots of hours because always busy Pay rise the longer you work for the company

    Cons

    Not many cons thank goodness

    Supermacs2019-06-11
  6. "lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Staff in Portlaoise
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great working environment staff very helpful

    Cons

    short breaks for long shifts

    Supermacs2019-05-29
  7. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good teamwork Food at work (not free but almost) Flexible hours Good opportunity to advance Very supportive head office

    Cons

    Long shifts, a lot of shifts are 10 hours, way too long during very busy stressful times. Late finnishes. Too many sections open late at night

    Advice to Management

    Great place to work, however it can be very stressful during busy times. 10 hour shifts where there can be ques and full restaraunts for 5 or 6 hours continous is not healthy and will lead to higher staff turnover. Too many sections open when staff numbers are lower, 7 staff on during the day but 4 at night with the same offerings is not possible.

    Supermacs2019-06-12
  8. "Delivery driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supermacs full-time

    Pros

    Sustainable money for work required

    Cons

    Co-workers believe in minimum wage minimum effort.....owner is a bit odd

    Supermacs2019-05-28
  9. "Bad for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Supermacs full-time

    Pros

    There is lots of hours

    Cons

    Over worked(way more than my previous 5 jobs) Charged for staff food Under payed

    Supermacs2019-06-11
  10. "In charge of cooking all chicken/beef/ fish products, and maintaining a clean kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Supermacs full-time

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, flexible hours in my case

    Cons

    Some members of the public can be quite abrasive.

    Supermacs2019-06-10
Found 89 reviews