Supermedia Reviews | Glassdoor

Supermedia Reviews

Updated May 20, 2017
81 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
31 Ratings

81 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Benefits are good, although they used to be better (in 45 reviews)

  • Employee pay and benefits are industry average (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • Yellow pages is a thing of the past (in 43 reviews)

  • Insurance benefits are on the decline, i (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Internet Operations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Comfortable working environment for employees.

    Cons

    Insurance benefits are on the decline, i.e. higher deductibles.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees.


  2. "Great before Dex"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA
    Former Employee - Digital Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great money if you work

    Cons

    Was notified I was being let go in a reduction in force while out on disability for a surgery.

    Advice to Management

    PIP kills moral

    Supermedia Response

    Apr 5, 2017 – Employee

    We hope your recovery went well. Thank you for providing your feedback.


  3. "Supermedia"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are good. It was great 10 yeas a go but times had changed. It is a good way to gain business to business sales experience.

    Cons

    The business model had changed over the years. Once it was an easy sale. Yellow pages is a thing of the past.

    Advice to Management

    Close the doors. Managing a sinking ship is not possible. Look at some of the sales to see how legit they are.

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 15, 2016 – Employee

    Thank you for 10+ years of service to Dex Media. We appreciate your feedback.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits
    Camaraderie
    Lunch options
    Flex/Family Life Balance
    Potential for growth

    Cons

    Products and services offered were not efficient
    Turnover

    Advice to Management

    Push upper management to push their bosses to create a better vision for the company as far as better products and services to offer clients.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Employee

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.


  6. "Supermedia now DEX, could better"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant, Sales Manager in Raynham, MA
    Former Employee - Media Consultant, Sales Manager in Raynham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good training staff, benefits, commission structure, product mix to sell gave you options for success

    Cons

    Internet backend insufficient in proving value to client. Senior management not in touch with the client needs or sales executives support issues to efficiently execute sales programs.

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 27, 2015 – Employee

    Thank you for 8+ years of committed service to Dex. We appreciate your feedback.


  7. "Account Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, Good incentive awards, love the co-workers

    Cons

    Yellow Pages used to be a great job, industry changes and SuperPages did not keep up with the aggressive internet search industry. The attitude of always owning the market share, hurt their edge in a competitive world.

    Advice to Management

    get engaged and involved

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Employee

    Hi - We can't thank you enough for your 10+ years of dedicated service. We appreciate your feedback. -Ed


  8. "Change is Good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Under long overdue and hopefully capable new management. The firm has jettisoned unnecessary and overpaid personnel, which should allow improved cash flows and a renewed focus on client-centered activity.

    Cons

    Centralized sales offices have been paired down to a few telephone call centers located, in many cases, far away from the SMBs the company intends to serve. Most local sales offices have been closed with sales reps working from home. Ongoing coaching and training will be minimal, moving forward.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to streamline the operation, focus on the client and their measurable results, and look for opportunities to exploit the growth the growth of mobile technologies.

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015 – Employee

    Hi- We greatly appreciate your 10+ years of service and for taking the time to provide your feedback. -Ed


  9. "Offshoring, Bankruptcy, down-sizing, limits employee potential"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Teammates were good to work with

    Cons

    Career growth/advancement opportunities were few and far between

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 6, 2015 – Dex Media Corporate

    Hi- Thank you greatly for your 8 + years of service and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed


  10. "I've been with the company almost 14 years the first 8 years were wonderful we worked hard but were paid well ."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you are a hunter and are good at finding new business this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    working from home now not going to an office is very different lonely and very hard

    Advice to Management

    too late to go back to print now

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 2, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We can't thank you enough for your 10 + years of dedicated service. Keep up the great work and we look forward to a brighter future together. -Ed


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Constant Change"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot there. Lots of good people have worked there over the years.

    Cons

    Priorities change there multiple times a year. Too bureaucratic for a company looking to transform. Highly Inefficient.

    Advice to Management

    Get one plan and stick to it before you change to another.

    Supermedia Response

    Jan 13, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Change and evolution of a company can be difficult for all involved. We greatly appreciate your service and for taking the time to post your feedback. -Ed


Showing 81 of 345 reviews
Reset Filters