Supermedia Reviews | Glassdoor

Supermedia Reviews

Updated May 20, 2017
340 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

340 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Benefits are good, although they used to be better (in 45 reviews)

  • Employee pay and benefits are industry average (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • Yellow pages is a thing of the past (in 43 reviews)

  • Insurance benefits are on the decline, i (in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Former Employee's View"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You get to talk to lots of people, see how their industry can be positively impacted by our advertising and we have ways to track our advertising's effectiveness.

    Cons

    The company was financially unstable my entire time at the company. I saw the stock price go lower and lower during my training. We eventually went through bankruptcy and had to close several offices and stop selling some of our products.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with your bundle packages. They have value and are your best hope of keeping the company financially viable.

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 27, 2015 – Employee

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.


  2. "Account Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, Good incentive awards, love the co-workers

    Cons

    Yellow Pages used to be a great job, industry changes and SuperPages did not keep up with the aggressive internet search industry. The attitude of always owning the market share, hurt their edge in a competitive world.

    Advice to Management

    get engaged and involved

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 24, 2015 – Employee

    Hi - We can't thank you enough for your 10+ years of dedicated service. We appreciate your feedback. -Ed


  3. "Site tech"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lakewood Ranch, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Decent benefits, the employees are the only thing that makes it tolerable to go to work

    Cons

    too many mergers - they lost track of the original company value and vision. more of a selling out or being bought out.

    Advice to Management

    they are now DexMedia. Even worse.

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 23, 2015 – Employee

    Hi- Thank you for your 10+ years of service to the company. We appreciate your feedback. -Ed


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Media Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits with good opportunity to grow if you played their game. I liked working with customers in presenting solutions that helped their business grow.

    Cons

    The company didn't care about it customers or employees. Upper Management only cared if you sold print products to companies that weren't savvy enough to demand more internet products. Upper Management also created a hostile environment forcing meetings after 5 and on Saturday mornings if you didn't sell the right products.

    Advice to Management

    You have a better chance of success if you focus your efforts on providing better customer service treat your employees with sincere respect.

    Supermedia Response

    Jun 2, 2015 – Employee

    Thank you for your service and feedback. -Ed


  6. "Change is Good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Under long overdue and hopefully capable new management. The firm has jettisoned unnecessary and overpaid personnel, which should allow improved cash flows and a renewed focus on client-centered activity.

    Cons

    Centralized sales offices have been paired down to a few telephone call centers located, in many cases, far away from the SMBs the company intends to serve. Most local sales offices have been closed with sales reps working from home. Ongoing coaching and training will be minimal, moving forward.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to streamline the operation, focus on the client and their measurable results, and look for opportunities to exploit the growth the growth of mobile technologies.

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015 – Employee

    Hi- We greatly appreciate your 10+ years of service and for taking the time to provide your feedback. -Ed


  7. "Offshoring, Bankruptcy, down-sizing, limits employee potential"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Former Employee - Internet Operations in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Teammates were good to work with

    Cons

    Career growth/advancement opportunities were few and far between

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 6, 2015 – Dex Media Corporate

    Hi- Thank you greatly for your 8 + years of service and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed


  8. "I've been with the company almost 14 years the first 8 years were wonderful we worked hard but were paid well ."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Marketing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you are a hunter and are good at finding new business this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    working from home now not going to an office is very different lonely and very hard

    Advice to Management

    too late to go back to print now

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 2, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We can't thank you enough for your 10 + years of dedicated service. Keep up the great work and we look forward to a brighter future together. -Ed


  9. "Good time management space"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Pros

    Good time management space. Good benefits

    Cons

    No real leadership and direction is all over the place

    Supermedia Response

    Mar 13, 2015 – Employee

    Hi- Thank you very much for your time and service provided to Dex Media and for taking the time to post your review. -Ed


  10. "Multi year top 5% ......use to be a good company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA
    Current Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    If you have experience, not hard to be a top producer.

    Cons

    Not interested in building relationships with business owners. Force accounts to certain "key" reps. Constant turnover. Mgmt has hard time motivating sales reps and resorts to threats and intimidation to force sales activity.

    Advice to Management

    Get out while you can.

    Supermedia Response

    Feb 18, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We hate to hear about the dissatisfaction you've outlined. We certainly want our employees to have faith in the company and products that we offer. If you'd like to discuss some of your concerns ... More


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Constant Change"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA
    Former Employee - Marketing Sales in Los Alamitos, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot there. Lots of good people have worked there over the years.

    Cons

    Priorities change there multiple times a year. Too bureaucratic for a company looking to transform. Highly Inefficient.

    Advice to Management

    Get one plan and stick to it before you change to another.

    Supermedia Response

    Jan 13, 2015 – Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Change and evolution of a company can be difficult for all involved. We greatly appreciate your service and for taking the time to post your feedback. -Ed


Showing 340 of 345 reviews
Reset Filters