Supplemental Health Care Reviews | Glassdoor

Supplemental Health Care Reviews

Updated December 7, 2017
231 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Lesa Francis
37 Ratings

231 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • I've always been encouraged to keep a work/life balance and never pressured to not take time off or anything (in 8 reviews)

  • Great company to work with as a Traveling PT (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management can be incredibly immature (in 13 reviews)

  • Would like more work/life balance (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Market Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supplemental Health Care full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Interview process was thorough and thoughtful. They took the time to not only review my skills but to get to know me as a person. Making a culture fit was just as important to the hiring team as it was for me.

    Cons

    So far there has been no cons to speak of. The training, welcoming and in place team have been wonderful. Several people from corporate have reached out to introduce themselves and see how they can support me.


  2. "Software Team review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Park City, UT
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Park City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supplemental Health Care full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great IT Vice President to work under, Rod Ekstrom. Most of the upper management team is solid, and they like to let developers be directly involved with some if the decision making processes.

    Cons

    Massively understaffed/overworked on the Dev team for the amount of requests coming in. Expectation is to do 60 hours weeks regularly, not the exception.

    Advice to Management

    Spend the money to hire additional developers to fit the workload. For what is being spent in Overtime, they could easily hire 4 more people.

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Dec 6, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your hard work. The entire organization appreciates all that Rod and the IT team have done to help us better serve our healthcare professionals. I’m sorry to hear... More

  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supplemental Health Care full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    They do promote from within

    Cons

    You work very hard for low pay


  4. "Great environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supplemental Health Care full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, quality training, ability to move up, decent pay

    Cons

    Benefits are better than they were but still not great.

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your assessment of Supplemental Health Care. I'm glad you were happy with the training you received, the atmosphere, and the career opportunities available. If you would like to... More


  5. "SHC - amazing on many levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Supplemental Health Care full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunities. You control your own paycheck. Amazing people to work with and a very collaborative atmosphere

    Cons

    not much from where I'm sitting

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for the amazing review!


  6. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supplemental Health Care full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere for recruiters and marketing!

    Cons

    None at this exact time

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for the great review!


  7. "SHC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supplemental Health Care full-time

    Pros

    good people and nice kitchen

    Cons

    many people were handed accounts and live off them and walk around like they are a star - they barely did anything for themselves but get praised for basically taking over a huge part of someone elses book i mean cmon we can do some digging and see what accounts you actually got yourself and see that is was closed because of 1 nurse they wanted wouldnt even call it a real close - most associates are all about money money money but look a little deeper and many of them are divorced and dating someone in the office was a little incestuous in my opinion with so many inter office relationships hard to see the line of where a conflict of interest would begin here money is greeat but it isnt everything having money being divorced and in debt isnt a great life to lead

    Advice to Management

    the c suite could use a changeover numbers been flat for months and been a long time since new leaders were brought in every once in awhile need a fresh leader who doesnt kill morale to be brought in - even the leaders talk about money money money - money isnt life especally when your ife is a train wreck - and by the way have the placements well not half are made just to hit the net number for the week so we can wait for it ... wear jeans cmon what is this high school - when time comes for nurse to actually go to work they are bailing and that great number we hit a few weeks ago just got massively reduced - other agencies that are more family oriented and more ethical in the way they do things

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your opinions and insights with us. It is important that we understand how our team members feel, good and bad. I'm glad you feel like you worked with good people. It's... More

  8. "Love the Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supplemental Health Care full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Upon entering the company I could tell that this was going to be the best culture that I've worked in. Everyone has been extremely helpful .

    Cons

    I haven't come across any real cons yet. I'm just anxious to make money.

    Advice to Management

    The hiring process is perfect. 1st interview was easy going. The second interview was very challenging. You already feel a sense of accomplishment by successfully completing the interview process.

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for the encouraging review! It's great to hear that your journey through our hiring process was enjoyable. Welcome to the Supplemental Health Care team. Best of luck to you!


  9. "I'm new to the company but so far I've never been happier!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supplemental Health Care full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone is so helpful. It's easy to talk to everyone and ask questions it's a very competitive environment but everyone is happy to assist you in anyway they can.

    Cons

    None at the moment check back in a few months.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the opportunity to be a part of something great!

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I'm happy to hear that you're enjoying being part of our team and that you're receiving all the help you need. I look forward to hearing more about your... More


  10. "Politics abound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Former Employee - Recruiting Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Supplemental Health Care full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Relaxed work schedule
    Fun co-workers
    Company parties (well, used to be)
    Direct supervisor was great.
    Meeting individuals from across the country.

    Cons

    If you aren't a "top producer" you are unimportant and constantly expendable.

    Micromanagement is the overwhelming theme here

    Losing the old president was the moment this company took a turn for the worse. She was loved by everyone and cared about everyone. New management and one of the VPs turned the company into something it never was. Family feel was lost for a corporate disaster.

    Everything is about the bottom line now. Even nurses are not paid as well, or treated with nice gifts, as well as other travel nursing companies. It became increasingly difficult to sell nurses on a company that offered less and less.

    If nurse recruiting is your "thing" look elsewhere. Plenty of options, many that are far easier to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Of the two individuals in charge of the Buffalo office, you should probably pick one and let the other go. You know which one.... one is nothing but helpful and busts hump to help anyone and everyone throughout the company, the other likes to intimidate and manipulate employees in the office and police trivial issues as though they are the end of the world. Pretty evident which one actually helps better the company.

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time with Supplemental Health Care. We really appreciate receiving feedback as we’re always looking for ways to improve. It’s disappointing to learn... More


Showing 231 of 266 reviews
Reset Filters